Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Channel 9 disgrace

Haynzy

The Problem with the Channel 9 system is that they are playing to two different demographics and indeed two separate arms of the 9 network.

The Brisbane station kicks in money and pays for the live coverage into Brisbane (and IMPARJA Satellite so NT, Adelaide and most of central Australia, norfolk island and even PNG)

That game rates it socks of in Brisbane at 7:30 always has always will.

The problem for Sydney people is that we would like to see it live as well. I guess the only way that is going to happen is if you put your own satellite dish up and get IMPARJA.

Kinda like what we in Sydney used to have to do to watch the cricket all year even the Sydney games that only showed the opening of play of the full day if it was a sell out. Get an Antenna that got WIN TV.

I was in Adelaide last year during the Footy Season and was at a Leagues club down there, they were watching the Sydney game on GEM and the Brisbane game on IMPARJA live on two different TV's.

Where we're you MITS? We don't have Leagues Clubs here.
Last year we were getting the Sydney game live on Gem and the Bris game straight after.
Now we get nothing before midnight unless you get a satellite aerial and pick up Imparja
From Alice Springs.

I was at the Cougurs "Leagues Club" which is a hall with a bar some tables and two TV's in Port Adelaide. They were playing the games on a Friday night, and the friends that I stay with down there are League followers, and members, so I got to watch the game.

Shit that Gem aren't showing the game live.

I was at the Cougurs "Leagues Club" which is a hall with a bar some tables and two TV's in Port Adelaide. They were playing the games on a Friday night, and the friends that I stay with down there are League followers, and members, so I got to watch the game.

that wasn't a leagues club mate ... its a club for old women who think they are hot 20 year olds

Haynzy

Ahh cool.
Cougars have disbanded this year and Woodville have taken up their spot.
Some stupid internal crap.

Port Adelaide is the Five Dock of Adelaide but with a bit of Mt Druitt thrown in as well.
Lovely spot.

I was at Five Dock the other day - i thought it was kinda nice :lol: .... very Italian!

If you're an NRL fan living in the rugby league third world you need to get Foxtel. It's only about $100 a month.

Sacrifice something else.

Haynzy

Thanks for your help mate.

According to the person I spoke to at Channel 9, heaps of people have been ringing for the last two weeks, since they dropped it.

If televising NRL live or close to live throughout Australia was part of the TV detail and one of the reasons the NRL went with 9 over 10 then I would expect them to honour it.