Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Channel 9 not keen on going live for Melbourne Storm's blockbusters or any NRL finals

Should 9 be sold the rights to Rugby League again?

• Yes

Votes: 7 5.3%
  • No

Votes: 124 94.7%

CC_Roosters

Is that chick blind or just stupid? The amount of female spectators at NRL games has always caught my attention, i would hazard a guess at 30-40% for most games from my observations

she just went to the game with the intention of writing a negative article for her Victorian audience

Sgt. Kabukiman

The WWoS facebook page is closed to new messages and they've deleted most of the messages that were on the page. Sick of getting owned by people who didn't buy their crap, I guess :lol:

I hope Seven are better when they get the rights.

Feej

How many times did Rabbs say "Live on channel 9" tonight? I counted at least 3 or 4. Wonder if they will make it into the replay going into Melbourne??

westie

I've been stunned by the response the the article at nospam12.com. I knew the Victorians were passionate and knowledgable supporters from the chats I've had, and even just listening to the crowd at games... they seem to have a better understanding of the game than most... But I've been completely blind sided by just how many of them there are.

The stats show that Melbourne visitors to the site have outranked everywhere else except Sydney. Completely hammered Brisbane and the northern UK footy cities.

The article ended up being re-blogged and posted through heaps of Melbourne sport and tv entertainment sites.

Masters has done an article on AFL forgetting to defend the Melbourne fortress, and I think he might just be right. 24k in attendance was it last week? They're doing better than half the Sydney clubs. Juniors are starting to appear.

I think Melbourne is about to explode.

http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2011/08/week-35-4.html

Rnk Description Stn Network Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth
1 Seven News Seven 1,185,000 256,000 345,000 251,000 153,000 180,000
2 Nine News Nine 1,013,000 309,000 301,000 234,000 101,000 69,000
3 Today Tonight Seven 1,009,000 221,000 259,000 215,000 142,000 172,000
4 Better Homes And Gardens Seven 983,000 272,000 371,000 192,000 149,000 ***
5 A Current Affair Nine 931,000 256,000 290,000 234,000 86,000 65,000
6 Home And Away Seven 891,000 223,000 235,000 201,000 114,000 117,000
7 Silent Witness ABC1 862,000 241,000 236,000 172,000 92,000 121,000
8 ABC News ABC1 848,000 242,000 297,000 95,000 94,000 120,000
9 Nine’s Live Friday Night Football Nine 797,000 528,000 *** 269,000 *** ***
10 The Big Bang Theory -Rpt Nine 688,000 206,000 217,000 147,000 59,000 57,000
11 The 7pm Project Ten 664,000 191,000 221,000 134,000 56,000 63,000
12 Seven’s AFL: Rnd 23: Fremantle Vs Collingwood Seven 642,000 11,000 410,000 7,000 99,000 115,000
13 Collectors ABC1 603,000 166,000 203,000 88,000 66,000 79,000
14 7.30 ABC1 587,000 176,000 192,000 80,000 50,000 89,000
15 Hot Seat Nine 586,000 138,000 182,000 157,000 58,000 50,000
16 Case Sensitive: The Point Of Rescue ABC1 583,000 167,000 151,000 120,000 65,000 79,000
17 Deal Or No Deal Seven 573,000 148,000 180,000 97,000 78,000 70,000
18 Ten News At Five Ten 541,000 170,000 160,000 80,000 55,000 76,000
19 The Renovators – How To Ten 469,000 91,000 157,000 99,000 40,000 82,000
20 6.30 With George Negus Ten 440,000 123,000 141,000 98,000 45,000 32,000
21 Nine’s Friday Night Football Nine 412,000 292,000 *** 120,000 *** ***
22 Sunrise Seven 383,000 99,000 98,000 86,000 43,000 57,000
23 The Bold And The Beautiful Ten 370,000 118,000 115,000 68,000 26,000 42,000
24 Today Nine 332,000 104,000 120,000 70,000 24,000 15,000
25 Australia Rpt Ten 327,000 85,000 86,000 66,000 41,000 49,000

Number one rating show in both Brisbane and Sydney last night = Manly v Melbourne.

I reckon the game would have rated around the 150-180k mark in Melbourne up against the flogball which was one-sided. I know the league was one-way traffic, but it wasn't a blow-out and of course the brawl kept you watching.

I'm pretty sure Melbourne have now featured in two of the top three rating FTA NRL games in Sydney this year.

CC_Roosters

I honestly thought ratings for AFL in adelaide and perth were much higher than what i have seen in the figures on tvtonight this season. Which begs the question why is the AFL deal so lucrative?

docbrown

That football fan match was even more one sided. We would have eaten some of that Melbourne AFL audience and cracked 200k for sure.

We could have had two Friday NRL clubs games with 1,000,000+ metro ratings in a row - if it weren't for the stupidity of Channel 9.

Cletus

It definitely would have beaten the repeat of farmer wants a wide on Gem. The worst that could have happened to Nine was they might have lost 20,000 viewers on Gem. I'm sure that game would have rated higher than what they showed.

Billythekid

That football fan match was even more one sided. We would have eaten some of that Melbourne AFL audience and cracked 200k for sure.

We could have had two Friday NRL clubs games with 1,000,000+ metro ratings in a row - if it weren't for the stupidity of Channel 9.

Not to mention that our game starts at 7.30. So the games would only overlap for about half the telecast. I get the feeling that a lot of viewers in Melbourne would have just stuck around for the rest of the game after seeing it start.

Still there are some real promising signs for the NRL in the future. Once we can get coverage into Melbourne and Perth we are going to start seeing 1 million+ for regular season games just in the metro which is incredible.

Then the BS excuse of ignoring regionals won't even help the AFL any more.

docbrown

Not to mention that our game starts at 7.30. So the games would only overlap for about half the telecast. I get the feeling that a lot of viewers in Melbourne would have just stuck around for the rest of the game after seeing it start.

Still there are some real promising signs for the NRL in the future. Once we can get coverage into Melbourne and Perth we are going to start seeing 1 million+ for regular season games just in the metro which is incredible.

Then the BS excuse of ignoring regionals won't even help the AFL any more.

Rugby League is a soon-to-be television juggernaut.

Mark my words.

Desert Qlder

Mark my words.

You are so very tantalising aren't you Doc? It must be fascinating to be privy to all the goings on behind the scenes.

I assume this is in reference to the alluded to Ten/Fox deal?

Billythekid

Channel 10 must be getting a bit desperate. They are actually starting to run 4th sometimes in the ratings and they really need a regular program to help them out.

I think league could work out much better for them than AFL (and they won't get demolished in the Saturday ratings because of us).

Desert Qlder

There's no doubt in my mind Ten and Rugby League are a perfect match.

Although I'm not fond of the marketing methods employed by commercial TV networks, Ten would have fabulous success launching their programs from a base of RL coverage. What has confirmed this in my mind is RLs appeal to a younger generation (this was outlined in a recent report of which I can't quite recall the detail). Also, when Ten decide to promote something, they provide all possible resources at their disposal. We could envisage all types of cross-promotion involving Rugby League, aimed squarely at the demographics the game needs to target.

Furthermore, we would all be treated to quality, nationwide, high definition coverage of the game we love, and this is the most important aspect of all. We all should be hoping the Ten/Fox deal comes to fruition.

Mark my words.
I usually do Doc...never far off the money..
I just hope the speculation about the 10/fox partnership is true...
I will probably get drunk for a week if 9 loses the rights.
& i think most of the RL community would join me...especially those in non heartland states.

channel 9 are run by afl fans its as simple as that
i rang to complain a few years back and they told me to move to sydney they are idiots and they really dont care what people want

btw if the game was live ratings would be huge theres nothing on between 7:30 and 8:30 so who knows maybe a lot of people may have kept it onto the finish

SOO in Perth got as many as the Dockers team drew in that AFL game on Friday. To say there is no market for RL is a joke. lol at a grand total of 18,000 viewers for AFL in Brisbane and Sydney combined. NRL was getting more than that in Perth with a 3pm Sunday game last year.

docbrown

You are so very tantalising aren't you Doc? It must be fascinating to be privy to all the goings on behind the scenes.

I assume this is in reference to the alluded to Ten/Fox deal?

I only know snippets of snippets and I'm not involved in any way.

I can tell you though that the mantra at Ten at the moment is think like it's the 1980's :cool: