Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield 2018 - Rabbitohs vs Dragons

Souths Till I Die

I don’t know, a near full strength Dragons almost done by Hull last week, or should I say almost got done by Albert Kelly. Wasn’t an impressive effort. I’d be disappointed if we got done by that side.

I think they were very underwhelming last week but if they play to their potential they’re a dangerous side. I think we have them covered in the back 5 but if their front row gets a role on through the middle we could be in trouble. If we do play expansive footy relying on our speed and footwork then we could escape with a win.

Travitoh

12 months ago we weren't concerned about the Dragons and I don't feel we should be now. I expect they'll be in the middle of the pack like us fighting it out for a finals appearance.

Warm up mate.

I don't expect to win either.

The first 40 minutes of this game should be a good indication of where we’re at I think. I don’t expect to beat the dragons but it would be great to do so. They’ve got a great roster with a lot of go forward. It’ll be interesting to see how our forwards deal with it. Hopefully Cook can stand his ground too.

I don’t know, a near full strength Dragons almost done by Hull last week, or should I say almost got done by Albert Kelly. Wasn’t an impressive effort. I’d be disappointed if we got done by that side.
That are tipped for big things though this year the Merge...

Their pack is very good.

Souths Till I Die

12 months ago we weren't concerned about the Dragons and I don't feel we should be now. I expect they'll be in the middle of the pack like us fighting it out for a finals appearance.

12 months ago they had Mccrone steering them around the park now they have a QLD rep. That alone is a massive addition in my opinion. With Graham and Vaughan up front there’s a lot to be scared of.

callmack1

I'm not actually expecting a win either as I reckon they'll be massive improvement in the Dragons.

Just wanna see the boys have a decent performance and a good go so that we can rip into the season.

A win tonight would be fantastic.

themacemaceman

Every day I drive around the streets of Brissie and see Rabbitohs stickers in cars. One of the 9 year olds in my class is a mad Bunnies supporter. Its brilliant!
It seems like every second car has a Bunnies sticker on it up here in Newcastle.
There's more Bunnies stickers than Knights stickers!

ThingFish

Well we got through that with GI intact and the injury to AJ doesn't look to serious, Farah made little impact and looks destined for norths.
For me The main take away from our trial games is that Cook has to be our 80min dummy half. As soon as he left the field our momentum stopped and our flow went from seamless to clunky.

I think you’re right Southsport Farah is a $600k Bear.

callmack1

Yea the boys!! We retain the Charity Shield again, for the sixth time in a row. That's now tied for the longest run of wins in the Charity Shield isn't it?

Anyway, what a game that was, a really good performance from the lads. I though both sides were pretty strong actually and the Dragons threw a hell of a lot at us but we managed to hold on which is really pleasing.

How good was it to see some blistering attack tonight?! It was a real breath of fresh air and was great to watch. Really positive signs.

Defensively, we looked a little shaky at times but I guess that's to be expected at this time of year. We did do really well to hold them out at times though and I was impressed with that, however, there were far too many missed tackles tonight which again is probably due to the time of the year.

GI made a very solid return in a short stint and Gags had very a successful Souths debut.

My only real gripe tonight is that we let the Dragons into our half with poor discipline too many times and that's an area which must be fixed but thankfully, we were good enough to hold on.

I won't do a full match review like normal but here were my stand outs:

Cook: Absolutely outstanding. The hooker debate has been well and truly put to bed. He was blistering out of dummy half and created heaps of opportunities. Was a work horse in defence too. A fantastic performance.

Sutton: I thought Sutto was really good tonight and on that form, he deserves to be starting. Ran hard and poked his nose through many times and his assist for Cody's try was first class. He play around sixty minutes without rest too and he looks fit.

S.Burgess: Just went hard all night, amazing in the heat.

Doueihi/Walker: Grouping these two together as they were both really good. Creating plenty of opportunities and looked slick. The kicking game was decent and I'm happy to report that Doueihi wasn't kick-happy like last week. Nice boys.

Still heaps to work on but I'm pretty stoked and it's a good leaping pad into Round 1.