Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coach Flanno

Bellamy is one of the best coaches when it comes to Finals and only 4 coaches have beaten him in a GF. Cleary, Robbo, Flanno and Hasler. Saints have 1 of these coaches so we have every reason to be optimistic for the next couple of years. I don't care who Saints bring in all I hope is that in a few years time our best signing is Flanno. Last time Saints signed a Premiership winning coach we all know what happened. Lets hope history repeats. We finally have a coach who won't buckle under the big coaches and we can feel a bit more confident when we compete against them.

I hope Saints are top 8 next season and looking like a huge threat all year whilst the Gold Coast still flounder in the bottom half. Then Saints sack or release Hunt 1 year early to go to the GC whilst Saints prepare for 2025 finals with a halfback who wants to be part of the success. Keep an eye out for Lachlam Lam as he is killing it in the ESL? If he backs it up again next season in the ESL he may be the answer. He also kicked a field goal for Leigh in the final to win them silverware for the first time in many years. It would be funny as he was in the Chooks when Kyle was there and they picked him over Kyle and released Kyle Flanno.
Flanno will keep his cards close to his chest. I am hoping he turns things around and the team culture improves out of sight. I do believe Hunt will depart before the start of 2024 and tipping K Flannagan and Amone will prove to be a better-than-good halves combination.

I also believe there will be a shake-up within our team and players' attitudes will improve because of this.

Gardenia

Flanno will keep his cards close to his chest. I am hoping he turns things around and the team culture improves out of sight. I do believe Hunt will depart before the start of 2024 and tipping K Flannagan and Amone will prove to be a better-than-good halves combination.

I also believe there will be a shake-up within our team and players' attitudes will improve because of this.
I have heard rumours of the same but they are just rumours at this stage .

steerlerbab

Jackson Ford played 5 games in 2022 for us (mostly of the bench and final few minutes). Now at warriors, he has played 19 games already and is starter in 2023. There is a lot of unknown quality in our juniors. Flanno during his time at Sharks had shown that he can tap into unknown talent and turn them into regular first graders. Let's hope that this is what would happen next year.

Mojo

I'm probably wrong but my only recollection of Sloan, Sullivan and Amone playing together was in a trail game and their natural combination was very obvious - and that was it. Seems we never got to see it again.

Slippery Morris

I think we saw it in the Dolphins game when Hunt was on Origin duty which Saints lost 26-12. That is the Sloan/Hunt/Amone combo. It took a season or 2 or 3 but we did finally see it. Then there was a game where Hook started Hunt at hooker, Sloan, Sullivan and Amone and Sullivan got sin binned and never came back on. A Hook masterclass.

Dea

Gardenia

OK knew this may happen. So for the first time I disagree with Mr Flanagan.

IMO based on past performances of some players, we don't have all the talent needed to win semi finals. I fail to see X factor or enough speed to name just a few areas. Changes need to be made. He better get poaching. That is my opinion. Sick of mediocre signings and that's where I am at. Happy to be proven wrong naturally.

SEAT 1A

Jackson Ford played 5 games in 2022 for us (mostly of the bench and final few minutes). Now at warriors, he has played 19 games already and is starter in 2023. There is a lot of unknown quality in our juniors. Flanno during his time at Sharks had shown that he can tap into unknown talent and turn them into regular first graders. Let's hope that this is what would happen next year.

The signing front is grim at the moment however, with the off the field additions Flanno's made and what he's said about the club's future, we have turned a corner.

Flanno will improve all the players. You just have to listen to him on Fox and to be fair, coaching has been lacking over the last few years and I reckon the players have been screaming out for it.

The players didn't turn their toes up with Carr and Flanno at least will get the best out of the players from juniors, bench and run on so, I'm looking forward to seeing how we go regardless of who we land next year.

TruSaint

He does. But I want to see results as I'm still hurt from the burning of the last few years. Have heard McF Knuckle say similar. Happy to be cautiously optimistic.

Fair enough mate.

Im happy to give him a little time, as we gave Mary 7 years...

If we can compete and be on the fringe of the 8 playing nice footy, with some new talent coming through, then job done for 2024.

Its all about building a culture and pathway.

He knows this is a massive task.

SEAT 1A

Fair enough mate.

If we can compete and be on the fringe of the 8 playing nice footy, with some new talent coming through, then job done for 2024.

Will some coaching smarts, a huge improvement in fitness and the players seeing positive changes. Flanno is not Superman but we should see it.

Gardenia

Fair enough mate.

I am happy to as well but by crikey its been a hard slog since beginning 2019. Agree his other plans are great - we need something.

Clearly Flanno is much smarter than Mary and Hook.

He has brought with him top Physio and Fitness people.

He will continue to get rid of the dead wood.

Some of the juniors will end up in the 17 if they are good enough. That’s something we haven’t been able to say under the last 2 coaches.

I am cautiously optimistic we will be competitive in 2024.

Bennett had a habit of turning honest toilers into premiership winners. Crossing fingers Flanno can do the same.