Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching preference for 2024

What are you hoping for in our next coaching appointment?

• Rookie Coach

Votes: 21 14.5%
  • Premiership Winning Coach

Votes: 105 72.4%
  • NRL Experience coach with no Premiership wins

Votes: 6 4.1%
  • Coach from Overseas

Votes: 5 3.4%
  • Extend Current coach

Votes: 8 5.5%

What happens if Carr turns round our season and we push for a finals spot. A huge ask but what if. Carr has then proven he can coach and under intense pressure. Surely that will then put us in a dilemma if we have already signed Ryles or another candidate. Point being Carr will have earned his candidacy yet will be over looked. Hey FO our next head coach may well be here under your noses..

Outlaw Pete

If there is not an overhaul of the football department there is really no point just sacking coaches.
If person(s) other than Griffin were responsible for recruitment they need to go. Recruitment for 2023 was a bloody joke. Furthermore why there hasn’t been a successful attempt to get some speed into the team is appalling.
If Ryles is insisting on a football department overall good on him. He is showing some brains.
If a new coach comes in and accepts the status quo. He is destined for failure.

steerlerbab

What happens if Carr turns round our season and we push for a finals spot. A huge ask but what if. Carr has then proven he can coach and under intense pressure. Surely that will then put us in a dilemma if we have already signed Ryles or another candidate. Point I'm making is Carr will have earned his candidacy yet will be over looked. Hey FO our next head coach may well be here under our noses..
Apparently Ryles is getting cold feet!

So who knows we may end up with Carr. Hope he performs well regardless of what happens.

Slippery Morris

If Carr does well Saints will keep him at the club surely as an assistant until a HC job comes up. He is playing for his job and a possible future as a HC. Josh Hannay did a great job at the Sharks winning 8 games before getting replaced by Fitzy. Ciraldo was an Interim at Penrith and is now one of the highest paid at a different club. This will be great for Carrs' resume but can also be bad depending on the end result. The guy has a heap of pressure on him as well.

If he does well, I will be surprised if Saints do not retain him, unless there is a very good replacement on the way or he chooses to leave. Saints will find a spot for him regardless and a nice pay increase.

Dragon David

If there is not an overall of the football department there is really no point just sacking coaches.
If person(s) other than Griffin were responsible for recruitment they need to go. Recruitment for 2023 was a bloody joke. Furthermore why there hasn’t been a successful attempt to get some speed into the team is appalling.
If Ryles is insisting on a football department overall good on him. He is showing some brains.
If a new coach comes in and accepts the status quo. He is destined for failure.
I guess you mean overhaul Outlaw Pete and I agree!

Dragon David

Apparently Ryles is getting cold feet!

So who knows we may end up with Carr. Hope he performs well regardless of what happens.
I do hope that Ryan Carr can get us some wins in the remaining games in 2023 so that the undesirable wooden spoon won't be in one of our trophy cabinets at either Wollongong or Kogarah. He certainly was able to get the guys playing what was in front of them and able to get them to play the full 80 minutes. His enthusiasm with his body language in the coaches box showed that he didn't want to hold back on his emotions with a few expletives at the end when we scored that winning converted try - much to the amazement of Shaun Timmins who was in the box with him. He showed more emotion than Hook had that's for sure.

I am anxious to see how we go in the next 3 games before I can make some further judgement of Carr. If we can win 2 of those 3 games, and if neither Ryles etc have been officially made the new coach then, maybe Carr might be the man. I doubt it though.

Mojo

Yeh because our Board are dragging theirs.
DEAD SET THIS IS LIKE RE ARRANGING THE DECK CHAIRS ON THE TITANIC.
Why? The previous coach took us to the bottom of the table. He's been sacked (sure, he should have been sacked a lot earlier). Now, we need to take care in selecting his replacement.

I respect the club for not just bending over and being rogered. Management shouldn't simply agree to sack a bunch of people just because they want to close a deal with a new guy. They may well come to some agreement but it's just not right to just kick people in the arse as they go out the door after arranging their replacements to come in the side entrance.

Personally, I want to see how Carr goes. If we're going to recruit a rookie ... well, we've already got one, haven't we?
If we're playing that strategy then, as the Yanks would say, we're in a crap shoot anyway.

BLM01

So Riccio conjure up the cold feet story because nothing is signed yet
He is worried !!Why? Because they have not discussed with him first?
Almost like Jason and our BOD must have to check in and tell him update information of what there thoughts are.is if on speed dial
It is not rocket science that any new coach would want to choose the staff and have input with those around him
Who knows he might get his way but David had not been made aware

Why? The previous coach took us to the bottom of the table. He's been sacked (sure, he should have been sacked a lot earlier). Now, we need to take care in selecting his replacement.
Agree . My deck chair reference is to our Board for not having a current Footy Manager and R&R man, two specifics from Ryles, in fact any prospective coach, as they have to approve their support staff before signing on the dotted line.

I say just go with Carr and see how he goes as he may nail it then he can ask for the support staff he wants and needs. If he does not come off then we can always go to back to the market for an experienced coach or back a rookie.

Mojo

Agree . My deck chair reference is to our Board for not having a current Footy manager and R&R man, two specifics from Ryles, in fact any prospective coach, as they have to approve their support mechanism before signing on the dotted line.
No worries. Sure, if there are vacant positions relevant to the coaching surely it would be very simple to agree to allow him to recruit who he wants.

Mojo

I say just go with Carr and see how he goes as he may nail it then he can ask for the support staff he wants and needs. If he does not come off then we can always go to back to the market for an experienced coach.
I reckon so too. A big money rookie is only marginally less trial and error than where we are right now. Let's see how the team performs tomorrow night. This is a very interesting set of circumstances.

justadragon

I say just go with Carr and see how he goes as he may nail it then he can ask for the support staff he wants and needs. If he does not come off then we can always go to back to the market for an experienced coach.
I would like that to Baggy, but we are closing the window on the player market for 2024, so a decision needs to be made soon, Carr not only needs to nail the coaching but also have the ability to attract players. If we had Richo and Brownie here that would have helped immensely without the total onus being on Carr.

Phantom V

I respect the club for not just bending over and being rogered. Management shouldn't simply agree to sack a bunch of people just because they want to close a deal with a new guy. They may well come to some agreement but it's just not right to just kick people in the arse as they go out the door after arranging their replacements to come in the side entrance.

Personally, I want to see how Carr goes. If we're going to recruit a rookie ... well, we've already got one, haven't we?
If we're playing that strategy then, as the Yanks would say, we're in a crap shoot anyway.
The way I see it, any coach that comes in is going to want to pick their own staff because when the shit hits the fan, it’s their job that’s on the line so you can’t blame them for that.

Too early to tell if Carr has any potential, we’ll have a better idea in a few weeks. I know Hook was in charge but our attack and defence weren’t that great under these 2 ACs so let’s see. In Carr’s defence, the timing would have been better 6 weeks ago when we had a better draw.

I agree, in that I don’t want the BOD making a bad decision, I just hope that they have the wherewithal to make a good one.

RedVee_8

Ryles gets ‘cold feet’ over switch as Dragons pursuit stalls amid top target’s ‘concerns’​

TBH that’s just running with the Gould comments, and probably smoke and mirrors from Mimis. I’m more concerned about the Footy boss and Recruitment jobs actually. Without them we can sign anyone as coach and struggle.

Spider said last year at the RedV meeting that WIN had been bailing out the Dragons in the past and helped them turn things around financially .
Please Spidey Webb, that sounds like bs. Remember WIN are co owners and yes they would have had to contribute before the last couple of years where we moved into the black. But I also remember that they wouldn’t put in a cent more than their co owner SGDRLFC put in.

Prior to being a co owner, yes they helped the Steelers out a few times which eventually led to their ownership position.