Today I did something considered heresy in my family. I told my two sons that they were free to pick another NRL side to support, and that they could continue to live with us. No ramifications, no payback from Dad. I donāt want my boys going through another 40 years of perennial disappointment like I have. My 12-year-old says he wants to support the AFL sides and said āDad, can I buy a Swans and a Giants jersey?ā. I said āno worries mateā.
My oldest son said (and wait for it)ā¦āDad, I am so glad I donāt have to follow The Dragons anymore. Itās embarrassing telling your mates who you followā.
Anything less and, while I could never get behind another team, I will go off again and try and like AFL a little more. My younger son is starting to get into AFL and IU can see a whole generation of Sydneysiders turning on OUR CODE!!! Formerly this would be unheard of.
At what stage are supporters going to start organizing properly to turn things around at this Club and demand change? There are enough decent, experienced and educated people on this forum who need to galvanize and to understand (with the support of the NRL) how we can affect change from the BOD down. If there is a will there is a way.
I feel like I've been sitting on a fork since Bennett took off. When you look at the catastrophic decisions since 2008 it is bewildering that the same idiots (Doust, Young etc) are still employed:
i. Wayne Bennett wants a 5 year deal but Doust is only prepared to offer the 6 time premiership winning coach a 3 year deal. Great decision.
ii. The BOD appoints Steve Price as Bennett's successor (and extend his contract on Anzac Day no less). Great decision.
iii. The BOD having seen the error of their ways in appointing a rookie/novice coach in Steve Price; sack Price and appoint the vastly experienced, vastly credentialed Paul McGregor. AND/AND/AND they extend his contract not once...but wait for it twice, thereby making McGregor the longest standing coach in Dragons history. That means McGregor coaches for 7 years v Bennett coaching for 3 years. Now that makes for great reading. Great decision(s).
Riding this one out means riding out the BOD who are responsible for the litany of appalling decisions that have diminished our Club to that of a laughing stock. And yet they remain ensconced on the BOD.
Here is the dilemma. The Club is private and therefore it is almost impossible to remove the idiots on the BOD; and yet they administer the Club on behalf of the supporters and yet we have no say in their appointment. That is like entering a boxing match with your hands tied behind your back? Not much chance of winning.
Ryan Webbās statement that there is not a culture problem at the club is clearly not correct and it needs to be met head on and addressed!
Their response in terms of the actions they have taken is entirely appropriate ā but they need to talk about club culture - about what that means and what is expected of players, employees and the fans too! Thatās how we will all start to change the ingrained acceptance of behaviours that are not appropriate!
Culturally we are shot. Complete absence of leadership. No respect for the law, community standards a global health crisis etc etc.
13 Players and we don't have a culture problem? WE all knew in advance that Hook had inherited a roster of self-absorbed players and this is sadly the proof.
That said, I'm concerned that even after they were told not to "party" due to the lock down restrictions (Hook involved in those directions), they did anyway. Itās been said on here before, would it have happened if Bellamy was coach? Further, two players that know Him from the past, Macguire and Beale, didn't show him much respect with their actions in this.
Either way, don't believe the sacking of Vaughn was enough....................the club supported de Belin for 2 and a half years against immense criticism, to be repaid by this, including initially lying to the club, same for Norman and the other guy not be 're upped' in Dufty.
Until and unless Gordon, Doust, Young and others are removed and a new constitution and governance regime is implemented we the supporters are going to be sitting on forks for years and years to come.
pretty tricky from a legal perspective. Note that the NRL didnāt cancel his contract, so if Iām his lawyer, I reckon Iād be confident of getting a contract registered.
What Vaughn did was monumentally stupid, but Rugby League does seem to attract stupid people and that's why my sons want OUT! Matt Lodge, Russell Packer, the various wife bashers, Carney, Pearce and the Australian captain speeding while DUI. Itās a long list when you get started.
In some ways the Sydney lockdown has been soft. Lockdown lite if you wish, we can still go down the beach and surf.
Many of us are grateful that we donāt have to endure what the Victorians did ā curfews, handcuffs, very limited time outdoors strictly policed etc.
My sister lives down here and reckons old "Bleak City" was hell on earth for those 110 days of lockdown. Cops beating up on people who didn't wear masks as well.
But, of course, being in a more humane lockdown like Sydney relies on people taking it seriously and doing the right thing ā in other words behaving like adults not brain-fading toddlers.
Obviously, as the lockdown is being extended for a week there are heaps of people out there doing what the footballers did who will not lose their jobs or reputations.
The driver bloke who kicked this all off by not being vaccinated, not wearing a mask or PPE is back at work, the public generally have no idea who he is and presumably never will. His future and reputation appear to be secure.