Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2014

14,397-Parramatta
14,200-Brookvale
11,369-Penrith
9,321-Cronulla

Sydney suburban grounds rock! I would have thought if you were going to play a Monday night game anywhere it would be at a suburban ground so fans just have to drive a couple of blocks?

georgesnmith

14,397-Parramatta
14,200-Brookvale
11,369-Penrith
9,321-Cronulla

Sydney suburban grounds rock! I would have thought if you were going to play a Monday night game anywhere it would be at a suburban ground so fans just have to drive a couple of blocks?

Hull KR, your club, barely got over 7000 for the visit of cas, a fellow yorkie club

maybe your club should give up its small suburban ground for the big city stadium a 10 minite walk away?

Maybe you should stick on thread, happy to discuss hull kr on the SL thread if you'd like to.

Maybe we are going about this all wrong. Maybe we should accept RL is a good tv product and not worry about crowd growth. Move clubs into modern 20k stadiums, if they sell out so be it, creates demand for memberships. Drop the 20k avg goal and we can celebrate success when we get regular sell outs. Works for arena ball in US and NBA stadiums aren't huge and they survive ok.

Jamberoo

Major sporting codes are aware that the $$$ comes from TV rights, not crowds.
It is a damn shame that sport has gone this way, but the NRL just needs to manage the PR around this better.
I also reckon Melbourne AFL crowds could fall this year. For the first time in ages they have increased prices. Now there are hardly any cheap tickets for the big games ($50 to sit anywhere on levels 1,2,3 @ MCG)
If NRL/Storm were smart the could capitalise as there has been some backlash - just make the good seats cheaper FFS (they just end up unsold and empty).

georgesnmith

Tries were up 16% from round 1 last year so perhaps with the new rules and more attacking footy the fans will come back as a result

beave

http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/nrl...writes-paul-kent/story-fndujljl-1226851831605

Round One has revealed the NRL’s advertising campaign as nothing more than a lie, writes Paul Kent
The Daily Telegraph
March 12, 2014 12:00AM

A poor crowd turned up to watch the Dragona and Tigers open their premiership campaign.
THIS is for you, in seat 17B ... For you in 36, 37 and 38J.

For the ones who make them feel stronger when you march into the stadium. Who make them hurt less after a defeat, because they know you share it with them.

This is for you ... for you ... for you ...

Because the clubs are really about me, me, me.

A week in and the NRL’s advertising campaign is in tatters.

Not just a failure, but revealed as a lie.

Despite a concerted campaign to drive membership figures and make it about the fans, NRL fans stayed away to record the worst opening round figures since 2004.

Dragons fans show their support during the round one match between the St George Illawarra Dragons and the Wests Tigers at ANZ Stadium.

The question is, why?

Why did the South Sydney-Sydney Roosters game draw just 27,000, when pre-game estimates had the crowd somewhere between 35,000 and 50,000?

The game’s two biggest names were Sonny Bill Williams and Sam Burgess, in a photo finish from Greg Inglis.

Yet I can’t remember seeing them promoting the game.

What did they do to make us aware that two heavyweights were coming together?

Burgess spoke to South Sydney’s website. The Rabbitohs knocked back a Channel Nine request for a Burgess interview on his behalf, even though Nine wanted to promote the game around Burgess v Williams.

And Williams did no interviews.

Not one.

This is despite his massively broad appeal, one of less than a dozen NRL players who can be recognised by non-NRL fans.

There are people all around the world famous for being famous. Kim Kardashian, Paris Hilton, the Real Housewives living next door to the Big Brothers.

The game’s two biggest names were Sonny Bill Williams and Sam Burgess did not promote the round one clash between their rival sides.
They flourish because we live in a celebrity driven culture, which bows to one absolute truth: fans want stars.

Sport and entertainment are competing for the same consumer. Sport’s advantage is the tremendous achievements of their athletes. At least they’ve done something.

So give us the names, like those on the NRL ad, asking for our money.

But no, the clubs treat us with contempt. They all say they’re happy to promote the game ... just so long as it’s someone else promoting it.

It didn’t get any better for the Rabbitohs after the game.

Inglis, scorer of three tries, emerged as the story of the night. But he declined to be interviewed. Sam played brilliantly, and happily walked out the front. But he did not stop for interviews.

So fans don’t know what Sam thought of the game, or Inglis or even SBW.

The following night, Bulldogs against Brisbane, the Bulldogs refused to let media in the dressing room after the game, a direct contravention of NRL media rules, so no players were interviewed.

The Bulldogs refused to let media in the dressing room after their game against the Broncos.
Finally, under club protest, Trent Hodkinson was brought out of the dressing room - at the same time Ben Barba was gladly facing the press conference. So all but a few media was there, anyway.

They’re too clever, the Dogs.

Clubs still behave as if they are talking to the media, when they are really talking to you.

Their fans.

But what sort of relationship is it, really, if it only ever goes one way?

The following night Brett Stewart failed to return from half-time and dressing room cameras showed him icing his hamstring.

Fox Sports asked Sea Eagles assistant Steve Georgallis for an update on Stewart.

“He’ll be back,.” Georgallis said.

He wasn’t.

Don’t you deserve the truth?

What was Georgallis trying to achieve by concealing the injury when the game was half over?

This weekend’s blockbuster is South Sydney against Manly on Friday night.

Manly’s Brett Stewart was injured during the clash against the Storm.
On Monday an email from the Telegraph’s director of sport Tim Morrissey to Rabbitohs media manager Jeremy Monaghan said: “Can we get an interview with George Burgess and set up photo for our League Central cover story.”

Monaghan’s response, the following day: “Doesn’t really work for us this week. We’d prefer to look at something like this down the track when we have a home game.”

In other words, we have nothing to sell fans this week. We’ll take their money when it goes into our pocket, not Manly.

By the way, this weekend is billed as Member’s Round. Promise to dig deep, the clubs would be hurt if you didn’t.

ROOSTERS UPSET OVER SBW

ANYBODY who bothered to compare Sonny Bill Williams’ hit on George Burgess with his shot on Willie Mason last year can see why the Rosters are upset.

There is hardly a difference, yet Williams faces a 350-point grading for shoulder charge against the 175 points he faced last year for dangerous contact.

The NRL has subtly changed its interpretation, so the Roosters have a reason to be upset.

For different reasons, we should be happy.

Sonny Bill Williams will miss three weeks for this shoulder charge on George Burgess.
On Sunday I said Williams should have been put out for longer, which you can imagine ruffled a few at the Roosters.

This was based on the fact he shoulder charged Ben Lowe earlier in the game despite clear warnings from the NRL to all players that, starting last year, the shoulder charge was banned.

As we fight to save concussions, players will begin to take notice only when their coach taps them on the shoulder and says “We can’t afford you sidelined for that long”.

----–----------------

On the first part of his story, what the hell does this fool expect from the very same clubs this so called newspaper loves to trash and tarnish whenever it pleases??? The guy must be living in a fantasy land or something.........

phantom eel

He's dribbling. If fans really want to know the thoughts of Inglis, Burgess, and $BW then they'll just follow them on twitter.

Or read their club's membership communications (emails, facebook, twitter). No fan that I know is sitting there disappointed the media isn't getting cosy access to stories in the way that it once did.

The players and clubs can now deliver their news directly to fans and members, which benefits the clubs (promotion) and the players themselves (personal branding, followers etc). The media is reduced to a bit player that has to make up stories to fill out it's printed pages and serve as click bait for ad revenue.

In time people will learn to ignore writers for News Ltd that don't make a positive contribution to the game, and Kent and his mates will be out of jobs (unless they become experts putting together Supercoach)

Tommy Smith

One thing is for certain ... when compared with the 24/7 all access philosophy of the NBA/NFL, the NRL is a disgrace.

An insular, archaic, "us vs them" media shambles. And it's largely because of grumpy merkins like Hasler.

The NRL should force clubs to be open to the media or face 100k fines. Every player should be available before and after the game ... and even at half time.

Just like LeBron.

Of course it would help if our NRL players were as eloquent as their NBA/NFL counterparts.

RWB

tumblr_muoyj7l28T1sp8qt3o1_500.gif

pHyR3

Tries were up 16% from round 1 last year so perhaps with the new rules and more attacking footy the fans will come back as a result

my hopes here too.

also, 127k total for round 1. You move dogs vs broncs to suncorp and that toal hits 150k without a hitch and boom, all this negativity disappears. 41k is pretty standard for a first game there.

ANZ is the future of RL in sydney. 22k average last year at the venue, up from 15k around 5 years before that. Although, it seems like maybe Dragons (and maybe Souths) should be at Allianz not ANZ.

Springs

One thing is for certain ... when compared with the 24/7 all access philosophy of the NBA/NFL, the NRL is a disgrace.

An insular, archaic, "us vs them" media shambles. And it's largely because of grumpy merkins like Hasler.

The NRL should force clubs to be open to the media or face 100k fines. Every player should be available before and after the game ... and even at half time.

Just like LeBron.

Of course it would help if our NRL players were as eloquent as their NBA/NFL counterparts.

Why? Frankly many people have had about enough of SBW interviews and I doubt many want to hear Burgess talk either. When the media is composed of f**kwits like Rothfield I don't blame them.
The NRL should be heading in the opposite direction of making players celebrities. The celebrity obsession is overboard enough as it is.

And who gives a shit about f**king American sports. Their obsession with celebrity is even worse than ours.

More importantly, how are all these media interviews at the game and half time going to get people to the ground? Won't celebrity-obsessed people stay home so they get to watch interviews with the media darlings? Some more promotion would be nice, but fans going to the game don't really give two shits about SBW being interviewed at halftime. Nor do they care about their team at fulltime being surrounded by cameras and journalists when they should be going over to the fans.

problem is the club can directly interact with the 15-20k who are members but what about the remainder of the milions sat at home who are not members but casual sports fans that we want to be interested in the game and hopefully get interested enough to go along? TkIgnore the merkin writing it and he has a point, we don't use our stars very well to market the game and drive interest and hype in matches.

Major sporting codes are aware that the $$$ comes from TV rights, not crowds.
It is a damn shame that sport has gone this way, but the NRL just needs to manage the PR around this better.

Mate this is a myth. A club with a large fanbase will make more money from that fanbase than they will receive from the NRL club grant. Sure the TV deal is very important for the league but for a club a larger fanbase is actually more valuable than the Tv deal.
Sure you need to grow that fanbase significantly but if you achieve it you can bring in well in excess of $10mill a year from memberships etc and that is before you start to consider what a stadium would be willing to pay you to host games to crowds that size.

I Bleed Maroon

A lot of old man shouting at cloud from Paul Merkin. As if the NRL need to be told they f**ked up by another Newscorp mouth piece.

fourplay

If they really want interviews with Sonny Bill Williams they probably should not have referrered to him as "$BW" and "Money Bill Williams" in the past.. let alone publish the photos of him and Falzon etc. It's easy to see why players from a personal stand point don't want to do interviews as they won't personally benefit from them.

DJShaksta

That's just what the game needs - more interviews with $BW and Tham Burgess.
Paul Kent is a moron.

Another day of media bashing the NRL for poor round 1 crowds.

Yawnnnnnn......

Bring on round 2!!! No doubt the Aye League will be selling out all their grounds again.