Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowds for the World Cup

bazza

That's not bad at all and considering the only real advertising for this comp has been the comp itself the ranking matches should be growing slightly as well.
Makes me excited for all future Cups if we can build on this tournament by tournament. Actually, it makes me excited for the last few games of this tournament...

I agree.
It is what I expected really.
Decent crowds for the Australia games
10 - 15k for England and NZ games not involving Australia and about 8k for the other matches.
The next RLWC won't be in Australia again till 2017 so that is 9 years of rose tinted galsses for the next one

yakstorm

So far we've had 147,286 attend matches in 2008.

To beat the past few tournaments we need:

2000: 116,635 (Aggregate - 263,921)
1995: 118,323 (Aggregate - 265,609)
1992: 152,773 (Aggregate - 300,059)
1988: 70,960 (Aggregate - 218,246)
1977: Already ahead (Aggregate - 109,688)
1975: 57,190 (Aggregate - 204,476)
1972: Already ahead (Aggregate - 62,456)
1970: Already ahead (Aggregate - 68,710)
1968: 73,397 (Aggregate - 220,683)
1960: Already ahead (Aggregate - 110,200)
1957: 67,632 (Aggregate - 214,918)
1954: Already ahead (Aggregate - 138,329)

So we have 8 games left... Ideally if we could average 19096 for those games we could have the most attended Rugby League World Cup ever...

I guess what's realistic...

Rockhampton Ranking Game - 5,500
Penrith Ranking Game - 6,000
Gold Coast Qualifier - 10,000
NZ v England at Newcastle - 10,000
Australia v PNG at Townsville - 20,000
Brisbane Semi Final - 30,000
Sydney Semi Final - 20,000
Tournament Final - 48,000

That would give us 149,500 so enough to beat 2000 and 1995, but not 1992.

Brownie.Kougari

So far we've had 147,286 attend matches in 2008.

To beat the past few tournaments we need:

2000: 116,635 (Aggregate - 263,921)
1995: 118,323 (Aggregate - 265,609)
1992: 152,773 (Aggregate - 300,059)
1988: 70,960 (Aggregate - 218,246)
1977: Already ahead (Aggregate - 109,688)
1975: 57,190 (Aggregate - 204,476)
1972: Already ahead (Aggregate - 62,456)
1970: Already ahead (Aggregate - 68,710)
1968: 73,397 (Aggregate - 220,683)
1960: Already ahead (Aggregate - 110,200)
1957: 67,632 (Aggregate - 214,918)
1954: Already ahead (Aggregate - 138,329)

So we have 8 games left... Ideally if we could average 19096 for those games we could have the most attended Rugby League World Cup ever...

I guess what's realistic...

Rockhampton Ranking Game - 5,500
Penrith Ranking Game - 6,000
Gold Coast Qualifier - 10,000
NZ v England at Newcastle - 10,000
Australia v PNG at Townsville - 20,000
Brisbane Semi Final - 30,000
Sydney Semi Final - 20,000
Tournament Final - 48,000

That would give us 149,500 so enough to beat 2000 and 1995, but not 1992.

I think add 5-10k to the Newcastle game and maybe 2k to the Final, otherwise I think that's spot on

Coastbloke

How does a sold out Suncorp for the final get 48,000..??

I have to reiterate, and I'm not knocking the footy, except for the 2 Australian games (in terms of opposition - I still loved being at the SFS game) the footy has been bloody unreal...

But the crowds have been crap. I know I'll get a beating for this, but the SFS should have been sold out a month ago. So should have Telstra Dome. I went to Bluetongue and they said 8700 and it looked 12,000, but it should have been at least 18,000...

They had enough time and quite frankly enough advertising...

To be happy with what we have got is to be happy for complacency...

But the crowds have been crap. I know I'll get a beating for this, but the SFS should have been sold out a month ago. So should have Telstra Dome. I went to Bluetongue and they said 8700 and it looked 12,000, but it should have been at least 18,000...

To be happy with what w have got is to be happy for complacency...
People might decide that the opposition isn't good enough maybe?

yes the crowd haven't been great.. but i think they've been reasonable

i mean.. this is the same Rugby League World Cup that knockers said no one would go to

to have an average of what was it? 15k-ish or something? is decent to me.. considering the very average promotion.. having said that... crap promotion.. very crap

channel 9 makes everything worse too

Ari Gold

I have to reiterate, and I'm knocking the footy, except for the 2 Australian games (in terms of opposition - I still loved being at the SFS game) the footy has been bloody unreal...

To be happy with what w have got is to be happy for complacency...

It's something called reality.

ByRd

I think they said the crowd was 15, 145 at EAS, not sure if thats exact but its around that

IanG

I think they said the crowd was 15, 145 at EAS, not sure if thats exact but its around that

Yeah that was the official crowd. Most of them were in the grandstands. Not many on the hill. But baring in mind they're doing some construction at EAS at the moment.

roopy

They will make some money out of the game.
Ticket prices were higher than NRL games, and the food was all more expensive, plus they sold some merchandise - heaps of people wearing gear with tags still attached.
Not many went for the cheap seats.
I suppose you don't spend a few k to travel round the world for a game and then save 20 bucks by opting for a cheap seat.

mark2

Being an English fan is not a good feeling today but at least going off Yakstorms predictions we are on course to have the best ever aggregate attendance for the World Cup, with over 300,000 attending the games, following the better than predicted crowds at todays games.

yakstorm

PNG v England @ Townsville - 10,780
Scotland v France @ Canberra - 9,287
Australia v NZ @ Sydney - 34,157
Tonga v Ireland @ Parramatta - 6,165
Samoa v Tonga @ Penrith - 11,787
France v Fiji @ Wollongong - 9,213
PNG v NZ @ Gold Coast - 11,278
Australia v England @ Melbourne - 36,297
Ireland v Samoa @ Parramatta - 8,602
Scotland v Fiji @ Gosford - 9,720

Samoa v Scotland @ Rockhampton - 5,913
England v NZ @ Newcastle - 15,145

Total: 168,344
Average: 14,029

MsStorm

With regards to the Dome in Melb. I truely believe if the game was on a weekend where there was no other sport or event the Dome would have been very close to a sell-out.

Just remember it was Melbourne Cup week and we had that stupid International Rules game at MCG Fri. night,
derby Day Sat., Melb. Cup Tues, Snoop Dogg also played at Rod Laver Arena on Sunday night as well.....there was too much happening in Melbourne. It gets expensive for a lot of people to go to more than one event. Also being a late Sunday night game a lot of young families could not attend because of school and work the next day.

Having said all of the above, over 36,000 for a rugby league game in afl territory was excellent.

kiwileaguefan

PNG vs England - 10,780
Scotland vs France - 9,287
Australia vs NZ - 34,157
Tonga vs Ireland - 6,165
Samoa vs Tonga - 11,787
France vs Fiji - 9,213
PNG vs Kiwis - 11,278
Australia vs England - 36,297
Ireland v Samoa - 8,602
Scotland v Fiji - 9,720
Tonga vs Scotland - 5,913 (Sold Out)
NZ vs England - 15,145

Average: 14,021

Brownie.Kougari

Was expecting more from Newcastle tbh. I mean, they only had one game to go to!
What happened to Newcastle being the centre of the rugby league universe? As Chief would have us believe :lol:

As a bit of a hypothetical, if Browne Park had an unlimited seating capacity, how many do you think would've turned up? I reckon 8-10k.

roopy

Was expecting more from Newcastle tbh. I mean, they only had one game to go to!
What happened to Newcastle being the centre of the rugby league universe? As Chief would have us believe :lol:

As a bit of a hypothetical, if Browne Park had an unlimited seating capacity, how many do you think would've turned up? I reckon 8-10k.
It was a miserable day in Newcastle - light rain all day.
A nice day would have seen a bigger crowd.

brendothejet

I was at newcastle and there were very few locals about.

The majority of fans were english touring groups. I saw a fair few kiwis who had either travelled from sydney or the newcastle NZ community. Then there was a sprinkling of knights jerseys.

the 10k empty spaces should have easily been filled by Novacastrians, as the rest of the RL world did its bit.

mtngry

I was there.. I have to say, I love English Fans (except soccer). They really love their sport and get into the spirit.