Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darius Boyd at it again

oikee

The real embarrassment is the NRL for allowing media to consistently ask players all the wrong questions.
Boyd is a champion player. That is without question.
In the meantime we have other players simply making the game look even ugly than how it looks to the public, with players flicking the bird and allowed to mock champion players without question.
No wonder league is left out of football promotions even on the gold coast.
Sydney, the media, the ex-players dont seem to understand the damage caused by your smug arrogant behaviour.
It is really effecting promotion of the code. The constant smartarse remarks from ex-blues players is wearing thin as well.

Again the marketing and timing of not only games, but events(blues lame tape parade which nobody attended, all this is making league the mud runner.

I think Queensland needs it own footy show. The biase from Sydney is damaging the brand beyond repair.
As i said, the steeden is a no show at alot of kids functions here in Queensland, it is noticeable.
This derives from the image that Sydney gives to league players in all their papers, the constant backhanded remarks about Queensland players is cringe-worthy.

papabear

The real embarrassment is the NRL for allowing media to consistently ask players all the wrong questions.
In the meantime we have other players simply making the game look even ugly than how it looks to the public, with players flicking the bird and allowed to mock champion players without question.
Sydney, the media, the ex-players dont seem to understand the damage caused by your smug arrogant behaviour.
It is really effecting promotion of the code. The constant smartarse remarks from ex-blues players is wearing thin as well.

Again the marketing and timing of not only games, but events(blues lame tape parade which nobody attended, all this is making league the mud runner.

I think Queensland needs it own footy show. The biase from Sydney is damaging the brand beyond repair.
As i said, the steeden is a no show at alot of kids functions here in Queensland, it is noticeable.
This derives from the image that Sydney gives to league players in all their papers, the constant backhanded remarks about Queensland players is cringe-worthy.
What did you think of Hodges push in the back to Reynolds when he was walking back towards his defensive line?

IMO it was pretty poor character and you wouldn't want to see it in your local league match let alone SOO.

Not defending Boyd here but interested in why he behaves the way he does. I wonder if his attitude is because he's painfully shy and acting like a belligerent knob is a way of covering it up. I worked with a bloke who was like that. Nobody liked him except for the few of us who worked him out.

Knightmare

Get over it. Don't like it? Go follow the QRL...

MrAnonymous

Mate, f**k you on about.
Get of the pips you f**king dribbler.

Darius Boyd is how old and been playing at NRL level for how long again?

I ask as by now he should at least know how to answer questions from the media, even if it is to fob off bothersome questions. Some in the media will do it the way they do as they are looking for a reaction from the player which can be sensationalised, and Boyd having the poor reputation he does make himself easy fodder for those people in the media.

He could have handled it professionally or unprofessionally. What did he choose to do? The unprofessional route is what he choose which does no one any good except the media organisation as they now know they can get a rise out of him.

Radical Rat

Not defending Boyd here but interested in why he behaves the way he does. I wonder if his attitude is because he's painfully shy and acting like a belligerent knob is a way of covering it up. I worked with a bloke who was like that. Nobody liked him except for the few of us who worked him out.

I reckon this could be spot on. I reckon even through his act he looks like really awkward and shy.

Chook

As if that reporter didn't leap at the chance to grab a headline by trying to interview a bloke she knows' doesn't interview well.

f**king media more interested in shit than substance.

Chook.

yobbo84

The journo was piss poor with her questioning but how hard is it for Darius to say:
"No comment, I'm just trying to enjoy the origin win. No more questions please." And then ignore her if she keeps going.
The media are always going to be there and are a major reason why Darius is getting the amount of money he gets.
They question him the way they do because they know he will act like a tool and he delivers.

This.

MrAnonymous

Wish i had sexy bishes following me around asking question.

Come back to mine and ill give you all the answers you want.

Tom Shines

Darbs is going to quit the Knights at the end of the season. :lol:

This merkin really needs to be weaned off Bennett's teat FFS

Darius Boyd is set to quit the Newcastle Knights at the end of the season

QUEENSLAND Origin star Darius Boyd is poised to follow coach Wayne Bennett’s lead and quit the Newcastle Knights at the end of the season.

Bennett stunned the club on Thursday by announcing that after three years at the helm, this season will be his last in Newcastle.

But he won’t be the only big-name departure.

While there will be no official confirmation just yet, The Daily Telegraph has learned Boyd has privately made it known he won’t be at the club in 2015 despite having a year to run on his $600,000 a season contract and is ready to activate a get-out clause.

“Darius made it known he was going even before Bennett decided his own future,” one source revealed.

Asked about his fullback’s future on Thursday, Bennett said: “That’s up to him.”

“I think he has a lot of flexibility in his contract to kind of do what he wants to do.”

Pushed on whether he will take Boyd with him to a rival club as he has done in the past, Bennett replied: “Look, I’ve got to take myself somewhere first so let’s worry about that.”

Bennett’s decision caught many people off guard with most predicting he would take up the challenge of rebuilding the Knights and sign a new long-term deal with the club after Nathan Tinkler’s tumultuous ownership reign ended.

But after breaking the news to stunned staff and players prior to Thursday’s training session, Bennett revealed his side’s dismal performances this season were “embarrassing” and left him no option than to quit.

“The NRL and those that are running the club at the moment were keen for me to stay but I’ve been here three years and I don’t think our performances, particularly this year, have been satisfactory,” he said.

“So in view of that, I take a bit of responsibility and ownership of that — I always have.

“The overall performance was the catalyst for me. I’m extremely disappointed. I’m embarrassed by it and it’s time to move on.”

Experienced Knights forward Jeremy Smith said last night none of the players saw it coming.

“I’m pretty shocked. I think we all are,” Smith said.

“It left a pretty empty feeling when he told us because none of us saw it coming and I’m still a bit rattled to be honest.

“I thought after the season we’ve had, he would have been like us and looking for redemption next year but it’s not to be I guess. What can you do?”

Bennett claimed the Knights’ well-documented off-field dramas this season had impacted on the team but there are were excuses for where the club finds itself on the NRL ladder with just four wins leaving them in a battle to avoid the wooden spoon.

“Everything had its part but the end result is we haven’t played what I think we are capable of playing and the buck stops with me,” he said.

“You can’t keep passing the buck and blaming other people. It does stop with me. I’ve always accepted that as a coach. I’ve been responsible in that area.”

Asked was he walking away from unfinished business, he said:

“No I don’t feel that. I’ve done as good as I can do.

“I wouldn’t have lasted 28 years in the NRL if I’d have had seasons like I’ve had here. So for me, it’s about the high standards that I set for myself and I don’t feel like the team has come to those standards and it’s an opportunity for someone else.”

Knights CEO Matt Gidley admitted the club hadn’t started the process of replacing Bennett.

“We’ll start a formal process now that Wayne’s made his decision and I’m sure there will a number of candidates come forward but it’s important for us we get the right coach that fits our club,” he said.

elyod138

Could be spot on, explains why he follows Wayne around too.

Boyd would have been better off not saying a word. Or give them nonsensical answers

"Darius, how do you feel about Wayne Bennett's decision to step down at the end of the year"
"Monkeys"

ceagle

The NRL need to pull this guys head in and any other player who gives piss poor media interviews. The NRL is hopeless when dealing with its image.

Watching how professional American sports and even the AFL and how they conduct themselves in the media is light years ahead of the NRL.

We can't keep burying our heads in the sand about how shit the NRL's image is.

Cammo

I really couldn't give a shit what he says to the media. My interest in the game comes from what I see on the field, not what I see in the media

Pretty much everyone I know is the same, including the mums who decide what sport their child should play