Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

David Gallop stands down as CEO

dogslife

ROFLMAO.

I want to know if News Limited knew he'd get turfed when they finally stopped stuffing around on the Independent commission. Part of me feels like they knew. The other part of me hopes its just a sign they're losing their mojo.

As far as Patsy's go, I feel he did as good a job as someone with a clearly massive conflict of interest between the competition and our media overlords could have. His reign wasn't disastrous, and it was generally stable. We don't have half the competition on the verge of folding like we did in 2001, which is a blessing.

But frankly, his time was up. We've been stuck in neutral when we should have been going at full throttle for the past five years.

Thanks Gallop, you made a decent fist of a pretty situation but your time was up half a decade ago. Don't let the door hit you on the way out mate!

This. And from a Manly fan! Fugg me

applesauce

FSN and the media at the press conference kept on going on about the 4year deal!

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't Gallops new contract a part of the stipulation of NEW Ltd handing the game over?

forward pass

As much as I cant stand him - Andrew Demetriou would be an brilliant appointment !!!

Obviously - will never happen !

whall15

FSN and the media at the press conference kept on going on about the 4year deal!

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't Gallops new contract a part of the stipulation of NEW Ltd handing the game over?

From what John Grant was saying there must have been some kind of get out clause anyway.

Oh? And how would you handle questions at a press conference when there were things you couldn't comment on to the fullest extent?
I don't get paid 500k a year, he has been running the game for over 10 years and he still sounds like a clueless twit. Did you hear what Grant had to say??? He was all class even after all the media Stoodges having a dig at him. Chalk and cheese in fact.

saint pebba

Those going on about not being harder on Channel 9 for the times the games are shown etc need to let it go. Unless you are a lawyer and have an actual copy of the contract, you cannot determine if he was soft or not.

Was he reactive - Yes, but so would you when for the first 5-6 years on the job all you did was keep putting out fires.

Could he have done better - Yes, but the same could be said for others in positions of greater power.

BunniesMan

Firstly, he strikes me as a decent human on a personal level.

But I thought overall he was poor on a professional level.

Pros:
Storm salary cap breaches
Some relatively minor things like the all stars game

Cons:
Failed in the last tv rights negotiations to get the right amount of money, fixtures and fta coverage

Handled the Brett Stewart saga horribly. I hate Manly as much as anyone but he f**ked Stewart over and showed himself to believe in "guilty till proven innocent".

Failed at expansion both in 2007 and currently. Hindsight has shown he let in a mess of an organisation when he chose the Titans. And it's a fundamental error to not get in two teams from day 1 of the new contract. Every year there isn't a 9th game in the new contract is more money left on the table.

Still hasn't invested in proper media training which should be given to every single rookie NRL player. Too many sound like 8 year olds on camera and it is not a good look.

Overall, I think it's the right decision to get rid of this News Limited stooge, but how they've done it is amateurish and embarrassing to rugby league. Not the what but the how in this situation is the first major problem I've had with the ARLC.

Giving a man a 4 year contract then getting rid of him 4 months later looks amateurish and like the ARLC board has no idea what it wants. Then when they finally get rid of him, to get rid of him in the middle of tv negotiations is hopeless. They should have either got rid of him at the end of his last contract or waited till next year.

dogslife

I'd rather a good administrator than a good public speaker running the game. I hope they take that into consideration when choosing a replacement. Someone mooted Gus, f**k I hope that's not the case

Canard

There would be nothing more decisive for the fans than a current club CEO being given this role.

The perception of bias when dealing with matters relating to his old club would continue for years.

It needs to be someone who has a good knowledge of the game, but isn't tied to any one club.

IanG

Came out of the blue.

Stood on a few toes perhaps.

Maybe he should stand for parleament. He's shown he's good at grandstanding

1 Eyed TEZZA

From the way News Ltd are reacting, it seems they were banking on Gallop helping them with the TV deal. This just threw a spanner in their plans.

Well done ARLC.

How long will take for the John Quayle fan base to be reactivated?

Ross Livermore's name may been thrown up & will have strong support Nth of the tweed.

pitchfork-mob.jpg

applesauce

Nail

there would be nothing more decisive for the fans than a current club ceo being given this role.

The perception of bias when dealing with matters relating to his old club would continue for years.

It needs to be someone who has a good knowledge of the game, but isn't tied to any one club.

Head

bottle

I'd rather a good administrator than a good public speaker running the game. I hope they take that into consideration when choosing a replacement. Someone mooted Gus, f**k I hope that's not the case

Need to avoid vested interests and baggage. Gus comes with heaps. As do many others already in the game.
A professional administrator is needed who can see beyond self interest.

BunniesMan

As much as I cant stand him - Andrew Demetriou would be an brilliant appointment !!!

Obviously - will never happen !
Demetriou is a first class businessman. He has consistently delivered overs for the AFL in every department from memberships to crowds to two consecutive excellent TV deals to negotiations with governments all over the country.

Even if he didn't have an AFL background I reckon he'd have done great things as a CEO for any normal business. Meanwhile, the NRL had a lawyer pretending to be a businessman. Hopeless in comparison.

I like the looks of Todd Greenberg. I'd be all for him being the next CEO. An actual businessman who knows how to get things done.