Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dear Stagger and MITS

The solution is not to merge. The solution is to rid ourselves of the chook raffle mentality that people like Steve Edge have in the marketing and promotion of our club.

Interesting. So you would say things need to become more professional. Sounds a lot like a rebel league competition.

fish eel

Interesting Point.

Lets examine that shall we.

Super League, played for the Telstra Cup, the NRL Plays for the Telstra Premiership

Super League sold it's Pay TV rights to Foxtel Exclusively. The NRL is exclusively on Foxtel in Australia.

During the War there were 22 teams. Now 16, which is a reduction, to keep clubs viable.

If anyone thinks that Super league didn't win. They are kidding themselves.

Their vision of a national and global game died in the arse.

Their, rather News Ltd money, needed the tribalism that sydney clubs provide to have a product worth following

Mate I don't care if CNN run the game, as long as my Eels are alive.

We merge with nobody. We just need a spring clean from the top down. For f*ck sake we have a CEO who hates our logo. That says it all.

They won financially, but their vision died in the arse.

They wanted 12. We had 20, we settled for 16 and will have 2 more soon. It was never about the amount of teams. It was just about pay tv rights.

I don't think we will. I know the whole expansion of the comp is up for grabs a year before the next pay tv contract in 2010. But I am not sure the league has the players at a depth level to support it.

Interesting. So you would say things need to become more professional. Sounds a lot like a rebel league competition.

The board, the CEO, the marketing guru who did his degree when Darren did architecture in Bewitched need to go.

A revolution maybe, not a rebel league.

Mate I don't care if CNN run the game, as long as my Eels are alive.

We merge with nobody. We just need a spring clean from the top down. For f*ck sake we have a CEO who hates our logo. That says it all.

Interestingly the Logo was Changed in 1999 or 2000 ish and Denis hated that more, he also hated the fact that he didn't get a final sign off on the logo. As soon as we could change back we did. To something Denis Likes.

fact is, league isn't a very popular widespread sport .... should just concentrate on where its good

I don't think we will. I know the whole expansion of the comp is up for grabs a year before the next pay tv contract in 2010. But I am not sure the league has the players at a depth level to support it.

In my opinion you must start with your strengths and that is the Central Coast and possibly another QLD team.

Again where would you put this 4th Queensland Team.

Also I have friends at the Bears, I would love to see them back actually Cartwrights "POV" as I stated before, Included them back.

Don't worry with interest rates, pokie tax and smoking bans in clubs there will be mergers or some clubs will fold. Don't worry about forced mergers that grant from the NRL to move to Gosford is looking very intising for some sydney clubs and others wil fold or merge to stay alive.

fact is, league isn't a very popular widespread sport .... should just concentrate on where its good

That is an diminishing resource unfortunately. Sydney doesn't have the spirit to support 10 sporting team in one league unless we have pokie revenue.

carson

Maybe we could have a genuine second division full of independent teams and a relegation system, could even involve some of the stronger country teams.

Interestingly the Logo was Changed in 1999 or 2000 ish and Denis hated that more, he also hated the fact that he didn't get a final sign off on the logo. As soon as we could change back we did. To something Denis Likes.

MITS I am a traditionalist. The logo should be the one in my avatar. That is when we were great. The home jersey should also be the 81 yellow or 82/83 blue one for all home games. That is what I like the current one, because it is most like those jerseys. Away jerseys can however be changed every 3 years.

I admire Saints for having the Red V. Some stuff just should not change.

MITS

The Libs will reduce the tax when they get back in. I hope its not too late.

I know you have been away and you hate the Labor Party and that is fine, But the Liberals over here are Governing by Sound Bite. They are the key stone cops of Aussie Politics.

Waiting for them to get back in to reduce the Pokies tax is a bit like pissing in the wind.

I know you have been away and you hate the Labor Party and that is fine, But the Liberals over here are Governing by Sound Bite. They are the key stone cops of Aussie Politics.

Waiting for them to get back in to reduce the Pokies tax is a bit like pissing in the wind.

The Libs are a disgrace in NSW, especially when you see how inept the Labor Party is in NSW.

They will however return. Its inevitable.