Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

much like Benny and/or Bellyache, yet you'd kill to have them at the club
I’ve met Wayne Bennett during a presentation that he conducted whilst he was coach of Newcastle. He was very impressive and articulate. My friend’s son played in the lower grades at the Storm prior to covid and he is also highly regarded with my mate and his son and was very approachable and an excellent communicator.

BA is nothing like them. I reckon he may be an effective man manager with his players but he is nowhere as articulate as the other two. It’s offensive to even compare him to them.

BA isn’t even second tier, he is mid tier at best. Adam O’Brien level.

We just don't have any backs who can create something out of nothing. Or even barely good enough to turn half chances into something. They are all capable of finishing backline movements that majority of NRL players would finish.
Look at Brisbanes backline. Staggs,Herbie,Cobbo,Oates. All can make a bust at anytime and give all bar Oates a half a chance or a sniff and most likely its points.

If anyone can find a side with a worse back 4. Some mentioned Dragons. I mean Suli,Lomax,Feagi,Ravalava. Do fans think Sivo,Russel,Simmonson,Penisini are seriously as good as those 4?
Defensive maybe but attack no chance.

It's not a popular opinion, but I think Penisini is just as dangerous as the guys you mentioned.

Problem is our genius tactics want to use Penisini to beat his man with power, rather than giving him some space to create something.

Much like our team as a whole, we are horribly misusing Penisini.

I don't understand where this arrogance comes from.

He never played First Grade.

He was a bush footy captain-coach - why does he think she's so good?

Is it because Bellamy picked him to be an assistant to him?
He was captain of every junior team he ever played in. I am/was also fairly close to someone who played President's Cup with Arthur's back in the day (and also played a couple of games of first grade with the Eels), and this guy told me almost 30 years ago that Brad Arthur's was the smartest footy brain he'd ever known. He said he was smarter than any coach he'd ever had. It seemed like a weird thing to say, about some under 21s player. Then Brad Arthur reappeared as our assistant coach years later and it all made sense.

I've never found him to be arrogant, unless asked stoopid questions.
I couldn’t give a f**k if he jacks off in the carpark before and after games, the fact is he is f**king done and I can’t wait to see the back of him and his one dimensional tactics.

I’ve met Wayne Bennett during a presentation that he conducted whilst he was coach of Newcastle. He was very impressive and articulate. My friend’s son played in the lower grades at the Storm prior to covid and he is also highly regarded with my mate and his son and was very approachable and an excellent communicator.

BA is nothing like them. I reckon he may be an effective man manager with his players but he is nowhere as articulate as the other two. It’s offensive to even compare him to them.

If he’s an effective man manager with his players why give a shit about whether he brushed you? His commitment is to his players, not fans.

Given the same situation Bennett and Bellamy would have had you roughed up.

If he’s an effective man manager with his players why give a shit about whether he brushed you? His commitment is to his players, not fans.

Given the same situation Bennett and Bellamy would have had you roughed up.
He didn’t brush me, he brushed my friend. It’s not my style to approach people I don’t know.

And his commitment should be to the fans. That’s why he earlier in the week apologised to the fans and why he has hidden from them (by his own admission) when we got the spoon. It’s all about the fans. Players come and go. The fans are f**king everything.

He’s not arrogant at all. Called himself a bush coach and clowns on here got mileage from it.

Let’s just judge him on his results rather than any other irrelevant bullshit. Based on those results, I can see him being shown the door.
Next year he should be told that 2025 will be his last season and that we will not be extending. That way he can jump ship earlier if he gets a gig somewhere else like Manly for example. Seibold will
Get the arse and Manly will take him. That’s my tip.

He didn’t brush me, he brushed my friend. It’s not my style to approach people I don’t know.

And his commitment should be to the fans. That’s why he earlier in the week apologised to the fans and why he has hidden from them (by his own admission) when we got the spoon. It’s all about the fans. Players come and go. The fans are f**king everything.
Fans come and go as well. The moment any coach starts obsessing about what fans think they are f**ked. Focusing on your players and winning is way more important and thats where he should be criticised.

Imagine some gump coach that high fives all the fans and gives them reach arounds but doesnt win any games. Would last less than a season...unless they had soft hands.

Fans come and go as well. The moment any coach starts obsessing about what fans think they are f**ked. Focusing on your players and winning is way more important and thats where he should be criticised.

Imagine some gump coach that high fives all the fans and gives them reach arounds but doesnt win any games. Would last less than a season...unless they had soft hands.
I didn’t say it’s one or the other either.

Chipmunk

I did my level 2 coaching course years ago when Bellyache was still at the Raiders (a long time ago!) and he presented one of the topics. I've never heard anyone drop as many F and C's during casual conversations like he did.

It must be terribly difficult for him not to swear in press conferences how naturally the F and C's came out.

It's not a popular opinion, but I think Penisini is just as dangerous as the guys you mentioned.

Problem is our genius tactics want to use Penisini to beat his man with power, rather than giving him some space to create something.

Much like our team as a whole, we are horribly misusing Penisini.

I think Pensini can be better then them and has potential to be a top 5 centre. But on where he is at currently I just don't think his output or defense gets him in the top 15