Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragon uses disabled spot

Lego_Man

In other news , an NRL star yesterday swore at his mother and called his brother a "wanker". The Daily Telegraph can further reveal that the same player allegedly threw a rugby league ball at his dog after it refused to stop barking, resulting in damage to the canine's self esteem.

Some of these same blokes use the media to be seen doing so much for charity ( and many times for disabled people ) to improve the image of themselves, their team and the game,

are you on something :?

most of the work players do for charities is never reported

Tap Twist Snap said:
Pathetic that a bloke who would be in the top 5% of fittest people in the nation using a parking spot that their are far too few of in the first place. Obviously the people making light of the situation don't have a clue how difficult it is for people with mobility imparments to get around. He deserves to be publicly shamed.

I will put my entire life savings on the fact he's not the first to have done it.

He did it, he made a mistake, he got fined, he apologised. End of the matter as far as I'm concerned, the public shaming is not necessary and in no way is the denial of the public shaming a reflection or lessening of the burden on disabled or incapacitated persons.

Karmawave

El Diablo said:

You are an admin here at League Unlimited - you see the same media releases I do - from clubs looking at any opportunity to get the media to a charity event their players are involved at.

I agree with you, many players do charity work on their own accord, and alot is never reported.

Either way though, the media there or not, it doesn't remove the ultimate hypocrisy of players doing charity work for the disabled and then parking in their car spot does it? :lol:

It can't be defended either way - no - it doesnt deserve the publicity its getting - but it cant be defended either.

El Diablo said:

Exactly. Good news stories don't sell papers. Only ever see these stories on club websites and if we're lucky some other independent outlets.

Karmawave said:
Its all relative mate. A Brisbane Lions AFL player isn't going to get publicity in a Sydney based newspaper.

or even a Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide or Perth one

you can bet Woolford will though

Karmawave said:
You are an admin here at League Unlimited - you see the same media releases I do - from clubs looking at any opportunity to get the media to a charity event their players are involved at.

I agree with you, many players do charity work on their own accord, and alot is never reported.

Either way though, the media there or not, it doesn't remove the ultimate hypocrisy of players doing charity work for the disabled and then parking in their car spot does it? :lol:

so the players are doing this charity work to get publicity?

you are on something

and where are all these media releases you talk of?

It can't be defended either way - no - it doesnt deserve the publicity its getting - but it cant be defended either.

who's defending him?

Karmawave

Special K said:
At the end of the day Woolford is a f**ktard for parking there.

Of course he is, and is there really anything wrong with the embarrasment that comes with a bit of local media publicity that goes with it?

Its not in a Perth newspaper, or Adelaide, or Sunshine Coast Daily, or Melbourne Age - it was a bit of local news reported in one bloody newspaper.

A bloke who does charity work and then parks in the car spot designed for the people he raised money for - well that sums it up really :lol:

Karmawave

El Diablo said:
so the players are doing this charity work to get publicity?

you are on something

and where are all these media releases you talk of?

who's defending him?

Nope, not all players do charity just for publicity, the clubs do use the media to promote it though - especially the West Tigers.

I don't save all the media releases mate , but I am sure I can find a couple for you if you really want to see them. PM your email if you want - though I am sure you already know the type of media releases I speak of mate.

Like always 98% of footballers are great with charity, great with upholding their clubs image and the image of the game.

Unfortunately in life though, those 98% of footballers who dont park in disabled car spots arent deemed newsworthy.

Just like last few weeks. While 1 or 2% of footballers are out getting shot at, there was nothing reported about the 99% of the rest who were asleep in bed :lol:

Not enough recognition is given to footballers who do an immense amount of charity work.

They are champions and deserve all the recognition they can get.

It works both ways though. When a bloke who does charity work for the disabled then ends up parking in a disabled spot - then they deserve to be embarrased for the goose they are.

I don't save all the media releases mate , but I am sure I can find a couple for you if you really want to see them. PM your email if you want

just post the links

Karmawave

Clubs use the media when they want to, and when one of their players contradicts all their charity work by parking in the spot designed for the people they support - why the hell shouldnt they cop a little bit of public embarrasment?

Karmawave said:
Clubs use the media when they want to, and when one of their players contradicts all their charity work by parking in the spot designed for the people they support - why the hell shouldnt they cop a little bit of public embarrasment?

it's not newsworthy

newspapers obviously think the charity work isn't newsworthy because they rarely if ever report it even when told about it

somehow they think this is though

Karmawave

El Diablo said:
it's not newsworthy

newspapers obviously think the charity work isn't newsworthy because the rarely if ever report it even when told about it

somehow they think this is though

Its not my point. The clubs send media releases SEEKING the charity work.

Besides that, the above press release did get news attention.

I mean christ how many times have we seen in the paper players at the hospital, or in a Footy Show segment.

Its great to see, and alot goes unreported.

But when some boofhead like Woolfoord and Ryles does an act of complete hypocrisy, shouldn't they be embarrased publically given they do charity for the same people whos spot they just decided to park in? :lol:

Karmawave

El Diablo said:
you can't copy and paste emails btw

I've figured that out now :lol: Oh you took it down? You told me to post the link - well there wasn't a link, it was a press release sent by email. At least you acknowledged it existed.

I'm not overly computer savvy at the link thing, which was why I was happy to send you the forwarded copies of my examples.