Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons considering dropping “Illawarra” from their name

RedVee_8

If you want to cause trouble for struggling clubs, come down to the wests tigers forum, we make sgd look like the f**king storm.

We can swap Ugg boot stories and discuss mullets, how to get first in line at the meth clinic, the best way to steal gifts for ones 5 kids to 5 different exs.

The easiest way to judge shop to get bail and how to lie under oath to avoid an avo.

The best dealers operating from platform 3 Camden Railway Station.

The things that really matter.

None of this footy nonsense cuz.
Hahaha - platform 3 at Camden? :D that’s Macca’s isn’t it?

S.T.G

This club has become a complete embarrassment to the St George Dragons name.
I hope they call themselves the Illawarra Steelers and retire the St George Dragons name.
I am sick to death of watching this pathetic club go around.
Do it out of respect for the past greats !

I would suggest that in respect of the name changing issue the NRL are forcing this upon our club.

To me it is similar to the Israel Filau situation where the NRL wanted to know the public's opinion but the gutless bastards shit their pants and got us to do their dirty work for them

We lost our dignity when we had to sell our soul back in '99. People forgetting the Steelers would've almost certainly folded had our money not rescued them. Lucky to even get the socks. Lets return to stand alone .
I’m for both clubs standing alone.

No favourites.

I’ve got a close mate who was a Steelers fan who gave up the game altogether over the joint vulture with sg.

He didn’t hate on Saints, he likes Saints, he was just heartbroken about the sock business etc.

RedVee_8

I’m for both clubs standing alone.

No favourites.

I’ve got a mate who was a Steelers fan who gave up the game altogether over the joint vulture with sg.

He didn’t hate on Saints, he was just heartbroken about the sock business etc.
I can see that. But the reality is that the Steelers were gone if the JV didn’t happen. After one year they could no longer afford to fund the stand alone Reggie’s and 21s teams, and basically never funded any dollars into the JV (one year they may contributed a token amt). Hence borrowing $6m from Saints which they paid back using WIN Corp funds after issues because SG applied a minimal - non commercial - int rate to the loan.

thebigredv

I remember the days when following the rugby league and supporting the Dragons known at the time as St George meant a passion packed hill of the Dragons Army, a sea of red and white, a banner to credit every player. I remember when it meant watching honest, tough footy players proud to wear the red v and associate themselves with the extensive history and rugby league legendary. I remember when it meant club rivalry with triumphant victories, agonising soul crushing defeats and always an effort from the 13 men on the field.

Now following rugby league is all about commercialism; of bookies, of TPAs and rule changes that deliver the best product where the untouchables sit on a pedestal. It's bad enough but currently following the Dragons is all about which player did what to whom with which tool? which one's upset and breaking what contract to go elsewhere? who is a cheap fill in we can recruit to get through another year? And when you just try to forget it all and focus on the footy it becomes mostly about how can we find a way to lose this game today? This is the icing on the cake. A really poorly constructed dry mess of a cake I might add.

Man, I know times change but put simply supporting a really average team in modern day footy is just not worth it. It ain't rugby league anymore.

If you want to cause trouble for struggling clubs, come down to the wests tigers forum, we make sgd look like the f**king storm.

We can swap Ugg boot stories and discuss mullets, how to get first in line at the meth clinic, the best way to steal gifts for ones 5 kids to 5 different exs.

The easiest way to judge shop to get bail and how to lie under oath to avoid an avo.

The best dealers operating from platform 3 Camden Railway Station.

The things that really matter.

None of this footy nonsense cuz.
Silverdale it sounds like a den of thieves and cut throats , I must confess that I am genuinely concerned about your safety !

If I may suggest - get the hell out of the place before you also become just another statistic . We have plenty of room for a individual of your talents here at the Dragons .

Pack your bags , kiss the missus goodbye , throw a few bob to the kids and run out and jump into the first cab you see on Parramatta Road and direct him to Kogarah .

Best wishes old mate for the Festive Season ! 🎅🏻

See no reason for a name change given the new headquarters will be in Wollongong.

The only way this should change is if WIN purchased the St George side or visa versa.

When the pokies die, so will the ability of STG Leagues Club to support the JV.

As it stands at present I doubt either side is seriously committed to the NRL Licence.

Oh for a buyer with some sporting business nous

I would rather them fight to have the premierships under the 1 name and not 1 under St George Illawarra Dragons and the others 15 under St George Dragons. That is a huge joke to me. The St George Dragons have expanded not completely left the competition. Funny how Eastern Suburbs and Sydney Roosters have the combined amount of premierships. That would be more confusing than what Saints are copping if I was an outsider.

If they do go back to St George, does that mean that if and a big IF they win a comp soon it will be down as 1 showing St George Dragons 15, St George Illawarra Dragons 1 and St George Dragons 1?

If I was to vote I would leave it the same provided the premierships are combined.

Can someone please share the link so we can vote?
Giving the Illawarra Steelers an identity and an important role is the type of thing that will have the Illawarra District feel that have not lost it all. Being recognized by St George and the NRL as a junior development Club and a feeder club for St George would be a good challenge and a good step forward for the Steelers.

We can't just leave things the way they are now and hope for change. We need to facilitate change. Maybe even let the Gordons run the Illawararra Steelers Board.

Silverdale it sounds like a den of thieves and cut throats , I must confess that I am genuinely concerned about your safety !

If I may suggest - get the hell out of the place before you also become just another statistic . We have plenty of room for a individual of your talents here at the Dragons .

Pack your bags , kiss the missus goodbye , throw a few bob to the kids and run out and jump into the first cab you see on Parramatta Road and direct him to Kogarah .

Best wishes old mate for the Festive Season ! 🎅🏻
Same to you and all sgi forumers.

You guys really step up for your club and its good stuff.

Our wt board and management are dodgy and just about all of us hate them. The lies and spin they feed us would make a politician blush.

Benji is a Muppet with the IQ of a road hump. Been living on a fluke pass for two decades, God spare us!

We want to be sold off. The Chinese, the AFL, A league, Disney, Musk…

The_Team_Won

"SENSATIONALISM SELLS NEWSPAPERS"

In saying that I would not shed a tear if Illawarra was dropped from the name. I have supported the Dragons longer than since the name Illawarra was added.

If the vote was to remove the St George Title and the club endorsed it, WIN stadium would be nothing but a pile of smouldering ashes by morning.

The angry dragon crowd would then move up to the mall and start clubbing Wollongong folk over the head indiscriminately.

We’d have to call in the national guard.

I would suggest that in respect of the name changing issue the NRL are forcing this upon our club.

To me it is similar to the Israel Filau situation where the NRL wanted to know the public's opinion but the gutless bastards shit their pants and got us to do their dirty work for them
That's not the case at all.