Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dufty comments

OzDragon

Move on to another horrible performance? only things that going to be different is their undies..
Yes, move on. Learn from their mistakes, adapt and move on. Mary won't do that but that's what should happen. Giving it to the players solves nothing.

avocado

I booed them. Really loudly. From the hill. I suppose they wouldn't have heard me individually, but along with the other few thousand poor bastards that hung around, our message was loud and clear.

I booed because they deserved it. Given the circumstances that was THE worst performance from us I've seen in my 40 years supporting this team.

Do the players bust their arse at training? Hell yes of course they do. So do I at my job. But if I put in a performance like that at work my boss and/or clients would be doing more than booing.

Drag Queen

I think that Dufty may be a little frustrated that his value has dropped by 150 to 200k as he was looking for an upgrade.Playing behind a busted pack is a lot harder and he has far less time and space that he had earlier in the season. I would be
Hey Denis, how much are the reserves on atm? I'm guessing around 100K but could be way off the mark here. Do you think the benching of Dufty for the first 15-20 had anything to do with his attitude and his manager wanting more dosh? I've been pretty transparent about my feelings about Dufty, both play wise, and personality wise. I've looked at all the other teams and can't find a team that he could replace as an upgrade on who they actually have already. My feelings were validated last night watching all the footy shows on both Fox and Channel 9. The general consensus was that he hasn't got the skills needed to be an effective FB. Thoughts?

Eion

Genuine question as I haven’t been watching the dragons closely lately.

Early games I saw this season suggested dufty could be a top class fullback. Blistering pace and could create a try from nothing.

Has his form deteriorated / his attitude / or was it a bit of an illusion early on and he’s been found out a bit by opposition?

denis preston

Hey Denis, how much are the reserves on atm? I'm guessing around 100K but could be way off the mark here. Do you think the benching of Dufty for the first 15-20 had anything to do with his attitude and his manager wanting more dosh? I've been pretty transparent about my feelings about Dufty, both play wise, and personality wise. I've looked at all the other teams and can't find a team that he could replace as an upgrade on who they actually have already. My feelings were validated last night watching all the footy shows on both Fox and Channel 9. The general consensus was that he hasn't got the skills needed to be an effective FB. Thoughts?
To my mind this kid is an investment at present and yes there is no way we should be throwing money at him . He still needs to gain the 5 to 10kgs to give him the confidence to tackle head on instead of waiting for the player to run past him ( this tactic didnt work twice on Sunday.) The crutial part for Matt & all the other players is , where are they going to get the support to improve their game ? This to me is the most damming evidence against our coaching staff : Who has improved under them ?
I still think Dufty can make it but the next two seasons will tell us if he has the "Right Stuff

Drag Queen

Early games I saw this season suggested dufty could be a top class fullback. Blistering pace and could create a try from nothing.

Has his form deteriorated / his attitude / or was it a bit of an illusion early on and he’s been found out a bit by opposition?
All three Eion. Pace was is drawcard and he got torched twice by a 20 years old Reimis Smith in the Dog's game. Outrun and outplayed, and that was just a portion of the game. Nil support play either. Nothing.

Belta

I made a comment straight away about Dufty’s poor attempt at the tackle where he let the Canterbury player run around him, but I didn’t accurately describe my true feelings, however there’s a headline that does and suggest Dufty dogged it. That’s exactly what I thought at the time, any fullback worth their salt knows their best chance in that situation is to v line it straight at the attacker, cut down his angle and go in hard. It’s a tough tackle to make as the attacker is usually at top speed and will try and run over you. It takes guts but that’s what you need to do as a full back, its called commitment and imo it’s bread and butter stuff for a fullback. To back off isn’t acceptable, to go in hard and even if you fail ie get bumped off, well I can accept that.

I know he’s not alone and I’m trying not to be a Dufty basher but I’ve commented several times where I’ve seen Dufty not commit in these situations this year. It can’t keep happening.

It’s also interesting to hear Soward say he can’t believe we haven’t drawn on our quality ISP players, especially Lomax and Herbert. Also Anasta slamming Mary for not resting the forwards over SOO. Do these guys read the forums, or is Mary the only one who misses obvious

Of course these are just my opinions.

hazzbeen

Mate our whole team is an illusion , and has been for a long time .

Eion

All three Eion. Pace was is drawcard and he got torched twice by a 20 years old Reimis Smith in the Dog's game. Outrun and outplayed, and that was just a portion of the game. Nil support play either. Nothing.
Yeah I saw him get outpaced by that doggies winger, but can’t believe it was the bloke I saw who ran rings the sharks earlier in the year. Maybe I just tuned in on games where he was going good. I remember him winning the game chasing through a kick under the posts.

Reminds me a bit of Nathan Gardner from the sharks. He gave good promise early, was a very small frame with good pace and ended up rubbish. I still think dufty has a lot more promise than him though. Worth persevering with imo, unless he’s going on like a goose and the coaching staff are trying to teach him a lesson....no idea what lobbing him on the bench achieves otherwise....

Drag Queen

To my mind this kid is an investment at present and yes there is no way we should be throwing money at him . He still needs to gain the 5 to 10kgs to give him the confidence to tackle head on instead of waiting for the player to run past him ( this tactic didnt work twice on Sunday.) The crutial part for Matt & all the other players is , where are they going to get the support to improve their game ? This to me is the most damming evidence against our coaching staff : Who has improved under them ?
I still think Dufty can make it but the next two seasons will tell us if he has the "Right Stuff
Fair call. I should add that I'm a Quinny fan. I've known him for years and thanks to JD and Sheens he is cracking it in ESL. Amazing what good coaches can do Denis. Dufty is a bystander. He's not a support player, current teams shut him down easily. He never sniffed around, his passing game is pedestrian and I'm not sure I want to spend the 200K on what I've seen. Check out Hull KR online and see what I'm talking about. Sorry about the rant X

blacksafake

Interesting that Gould on 100% footy hinted that Dufty was heading in the can't be coached (otherwords i know it all) direction, which was why he was probably benched.Hopefully to rein him in.

Drag Queen

Yeah I saw him get outpaced by that doggies winger, but can’t believe it was the bloke I saw who ran rings the sharks earlier in the year. Maybe I just tuned in on games where he was going good. I remember him winning the game chasing through a kick under the posts.

Reminds me a bit of Nathan Gardner from the sharks. He gave good promise early, was a very small frame with good pace and ended up rubbish. I still think dufty has a lot more promise than him though. Worth persevering with imo, unless he’s going on like a goose and the coaching staff are trying to teach him a lesson....no idea what lobbing him on the bench achieves otherwise....
Really Eion? Each to their own I guess. Can you think of a worst FB atm? Taking into account, can't defend his line, can't catch the high ball, gets rag-dolled by our opponents time and time again. Under 20's success does not equate to success in the NRL.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

I booed them. Really loudly. From the hill. I suppose they wouldn't have heard me individually, but along with the other few thousand poor bastards that hung around, our message was loud and clear.

I booed because they deserved it. Given the circumstances that was THE worst performance from us I've seen in my 40 years supporting this team.

Do the players bust their arse at training? Hell yes of course they do. So do I at my job. But if I put in a performance like that at work my boss and/or clients would be doing more than booing.

THIS.jpg

Eion

Really Eion? Each to their own I guess. Can you think of a worst FB atm? Taking into account, can't defend his line, can't catch the high ball, gets rag-dolled by our opponents time and time again. Under 20's success does not equate to success in the NRL.
Fair enough, reckon I just must have fluked watching him during highlight reel moments. The defence I saw against the dogs was poor.