Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dugan rejects 3 year extension from Raiders

Talons

Absolutely Parra have been rooted, and will continue to be under the current system. I'd love to see them hold onto their talent. But they are more than capable of recruiting high profile players as well. Case in point Poore and Tahu- two origin players. Canberra has recruited one origin player in its history - Meninga from St Helens. Development is our only avenue to success - if we lose it we are f***ed.

Newcastle, Townsville and Auckland have similar problems to Canberra. They all rely on development to a similar extent. How are they doing this year? When was the last time any of those teams won a premiership without Joey Johns?

I'm not argueing that Canberra is being unfairly treated. I'm argueing that the system disadvantages clubs that develop their juniors and advantages those that are in positions to lure high profile recruits. The playing ground should simply be made a little more level IMO.

I'm not taking the p!ss but i would be genuinely interested as to why you think the above teams you have mentioned cannot attract high calibre players.
Surely if your offers are competitive you are on an equal playing field ?

Greenbits

I'm not taking the p!ss but i would be genuinely interested as to why you think the above teams you have mentioned cannot attract high calibre players.
Surely if your offers are competitive you are on an equal playing field ?

Mostly for the reasons stated above. All reports are that high profile players expect "overs" to go to clubs like Canberra.

CANBERRA management is forwarding evidence of its contract negotiations with young star Josh Dugan to NRL salary cap auditor Ian Schubert, with a view to ensuring that if another club steals him away it has to pay at least as much as the Raiders offered.
There has been speculation that Sydney Roosters have done a deal with Dugan - who will make his representative debut for Country, against City, on Friday night - for the fullback to join them when his contract with the Raiders runs out at the end of next season.
The Roosters have denied the claim, with chief executive Steve Noyce saying ''it's definitely not true'', but that has not washed with Canberra chief executive Don Furner, who says he has had numerous people tell him the Roosters were pursuing Dugan.

''I've been hearing these rumours since last September-October,'' Furner said last night.
Canberra's concern heightened recently, when Dugan, who turns 20 on Monday, knocked back an offer to upgrade the terms of his existing contract, for this year and next year, in return for just a one-year extension, until the end of the 2012 season.
It is understood the upgrade and extension combined were worth more than $400,000, but Dugan knocked back the offer. The player's manager, Daryl Mather, said of Dugan at the time: ''He is going to back himself.
''They were very keen to keep him for another few years, but he is in no hurry to do anything.''
The intrigue over Dugan's future deepened on Sunday when commentator Jimmy Smith - a former Roosters, Souths and Wests Tigers forward - said on his Sky Sports Radio show that Dugan was heading to the Roosters. Speaking to the Herald last night, Smith said he was getting his information from ''a well-placed source in Canberra''.
''My mail is that he'll be at the Roosters,'' Smith said. ''It's very strong, and I'd be very surprised if it turned out to be wrong. I'm told the Raiders threw everything at him. The reason we were talking about it on Sunday was because the movement of star players is relevant at the moment, with all the talk about the salary cap.''
Furner said yesterday he felt it was important for the Raiders to be transparent to the league in the case of their dealings with Dugan.
''I think it's prudent for us to do that,'' he said. ''We're forwarding the details of our negotiations to Ian Schubert, to keep him informed of movements on this front, and the offer that has been rejected, in case there's a need for information to be compared to anything down the track. It's obviously Josh's right to accept or refuse our offer, but we're really at a loss to understand why it was rejected. I know his manager was also at a loss as to why Josh didn't accept the deal.
''We'll fight tooth and nail to keep him, but if it doesn't work out and Josh ends up with another club we want to make sure that he isn't included in the salary cap for half of what we offered him, or something ridiculous like that.''
Furner said it was ''critically important'' to Canberra's future that they retain Dugan. ''He's one of the best kids we've produced in the last 10 years,'' he said. ''He's got the potential to go all the way in this game.''

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...to-lure-dugan-from-raiders-20100504-u77n.html

Tommy Smith

As a Roosters fan even i think it would be an absolute tragedy if Dugan were to leave the Raiders.

I'd be surprised if he did so early on in his career, but who knows these days...

It'd certainly be a disaster for Canberra which would be felt for years to come. Because if they cant recruit high profile players and all of a sudden can't keep the superstars they produce then they must be thinking, "what chance do we have?"

Can you imagine what would have been lost to the NQ region had someone nabbed Matty Bowen when has was 18-20 years old? He's been massive to that region and the NRL need to realise that non-Sydney/SE QLD clubs cannot afford to lose these local superstars.

Greenbits

As a Roosters fan even i think it would be an absolute tragedy if Dugan were to leave the Raiders.

I'd be surprised if he did so early on in his career, but who knows these days...

It'd certainly be a disaster for Canberra which would be felt for years to come. Because if they cant recruit high profile players and all of a sudden can't keep the superstars they produce then they must be thinking, "what chance do we have?"

Can you imagine what would have been lost to the NQ region had someone nabbed Matty Bowen when has was 18-20 years old? He's been massive to that region and the NRL need to realise that non-Sydney/SE QLD clubs cannot afford to lose these local superstars.

Thats exactly it mate. You've summed up exactly how I and a lot of other Raiders feel about the issue (in a lot less words and half a dozen less posts - well dome)

Canberra fans should have a look at the list of names that were developed by Parra and are currently playing at other clubs..as much as I pity their situation no one felt sorry for us when we lost the likes of Tony Williams, Trent Hodkinson, Albert Kelly, James Maloney, Nathan Gardner, David Williams..our list is endless.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Exactly, but we have an advantage apparently because we can sign Justin Poore and Timana Tahu. We paid overs for Poore, we got Tahu because of Ozzie.

Last big name player we signed before those would be Finch, but to get serious before that was Glen Morrison, Mark Riddell and Tahu back in 05.

Tommy Smith

But there are a couple of key differences:

1) You couldn't keep Tony Williams because you didn't have the cap space; basically Manly made an offer you couldn't match. The issue with Dugan certainly isn't cap space. The Raiders would quite obviously be willing to throw the cheque book at him and match any offer made by another NRL club.

As for the likes of Maloney, Kelly, Gardner etc, i don't think its far off to suggest that talented but as of yet unproven youngsters are a dime a dozen in the U20s and they change clubs rather often looking for an opportunity. The key point though is that none of them are even close to Josh Dugan - neither in terms of talent or their stage of development.

2) Leading on from that last point, i think a far more appropriate comparison would be Dugan and Hayne. Both juniors, one is a superstar and the other will be very soon. Both are considered priority no.1 by their respective clubs. And with Hayne i don't think there was any way he was ever going to leave the Eels for another club when his contract came up for talks last year. The threat that Dugan may leave however is far more real.

The bottom line for me is that if the NRL are going to make a change to the salary cap system then their first priority must be to introduce a dispensation for clubs so they can keep a couple of their own developed young stars.

Because there is no way that anybody could convince me that it wouldn't be massively beneficial having the likes of Bowen, Hayne, Dugan, Coote, and even Slater, Marshall and Pearce remain as one-team franchise players.

But there are a couple of key differences:

1) You couldn't keep Tony Williams because you didn't have the cap space; basically Manly made an offer you couldn't match. The issue with Dugan certainly isn't cap space. The Raiders would quite obviously be willing to throw the cheque book at him and match any offer made by another NRL club.

As for the likes of Maloney, Kelly, Gardner etc, i don't think its far off to suggest that talented but as of yet unproven youngsters are a dime a dozen in the U20s and they change clubs rather often looking for an opportunity. The key point though is that none of them are even close to Josh Dugan - neither in terms of talent or their stage of development.

TS, we chose not to enter into a bidding was with Manly with T-Rex more often than not you alsways come off second best anyway, the fact remains that all those guys I mentioned will eventually be regular first graders and were stratigically poaced by those clubs, i could easily throw up another dozen without even drawing a breath..

2) Leading on from that last point, i think a far more appropriate comparison would be Dugan and Hayne. Both juniors, one is a superstar and the other will be very soon. Both are considered priority no.1 by their respective clubs. And with Hayne i don't think there was any way he was ever going to leave the Eels for another club when his contract came up for talks last year. The threat that Dugan may leave however is far more real.

The bottom line for me is that if the NRL are going to make a change to the salary cap system then their first priority must be to introduce a dispensation for clubs so they can keep a couple of their own developed young stars.

Because there is no way that anybody could convince me that it wouldn't be massively beneficial having the likes of Bowen, Hayne, Dugan, Coote, and even Slater, Marshall and Pearce remain as one-team franchise players.

TS, we're also not immune to losing Marquee players, Jamie lyon walked out on us and he was one of the best centres in the game at the time and we could be on the verge of losing both Mateo and INU...

LRC

Maybe Josh just doesn't want to live in Canberra.
Maybe he doesn't see a future chance of winning a title at the raiders (after all they stuggle to attract players and develpment alone is not enough)
Maybe he is interested in the coaching stucture of other clubs
Maybe he sees the oppurtunity to learn off the field from high profile business men involved with some clubs.

Who knows.. money does not solve all problems.

(although i inagine it is par of it..I would say it wouldnt be the major factor in Joshs case)

On another forum, the Sidhe Forum, there is a bulldogs supporter, he said he works for RLP magazine.

He had to go and interview the City/Country players this morning, he said he interviewed Josh Dugan, and asked him about the rumors in the papers that he is going to the Roosters, Duges simply answered its bull and he hasn't spoken to any clubs at this stage, he said adamantly he is a Canberra junior and he wants to stay.

Timbo

The numbers being thrown around have me seriously worried.

Why would someone so young reject that much cash? Even if he wants to 'back himself' he would still be in his early 20s when our proposed extension ran out... At which point his for would justify yet another big boost in his paycheque.

I'm getting more and more concerned about this each day... Everyone knows how much we're suffering due to the Carney affair if we lost Dugan it'd be catastrophic.

We can't attract big name players and the genuine stars we produce go elsewhere... Dugan, without wanting to get melodromatic, is the kind of talent other players want to play alongside. You can build a club and sustain it for a decade with a legacy player like Dugan.

He goes, we're stuffed for another decade. Plain and simple.

What a load of rubbish. Poor Canberra, boo bloody hoo. Guess what, rl is a professional sport and buying players is all part of it, every club does it. If Easts get Dugan then good luck to them. What's the difference with Dave Shillington? A player who the Roosters developed from the age of 16.
I must say I'm surprised and dissapointed at the attitude of the other Rooster supporters with their pro Canberra stance. Canberra don't own those players, they have a right to play wherever they like, the sooner the stupid Canberra supporters realise this the better off they'll be.

gerg

What a load of rubbish. Poor Canberra, boo bloody hoo. Guess what, rl is a professional sport and buying players is all part of it, every club does it. If Easts get Dugan then good luck to them. What's the difference with Dave Shillington? A player who the Roosters developed from the age of 16.
I must say I'm surprised and dissapointed at the attitude of the other Rooster supporters with their pro Canberra stance. Canberra don't own those players, they have a right to play wherever they like, the sooner the stupid Canberra supporters realise this the better off they'll be.

:crazy: the pillow - One of only a few players that the Roosters bother to develop who they didn't want in the end. IIRC the Roosters signed half the Bulldogs forward pack relegating "the player the roosters actually developed" to a fringe bench player. Why wouldn't he go elsewhere.

It's sad Canberra cannot attract quality players, it's even sadder that their best players would prefer to leave the club then stay there. Every year the Raiders lose a stack of their juniors to other clubs yet only really sign has beens and discards from other clubs. Be a shame if they lost Dugan, he could be that marquee player they've been looking for over the past decade.

:crazy: the pillow - One of only a few players that the Roosters bother to develop who they didn't want in the end. .

Another naive comment. The Roosters have developed heaps of players who have gone on to represent but have also gone to other clubs because they can. THE ROOSTERS DON'T OWN THEM. Crocker, the Miniciello brothers, Cross, Flannery, Kenny-Dowell, Jones, FPN, Tom Symonds, Jake Friend, Lopini Paea, Perret, The Aubusson brothers, watts, Rovelli, Kirk, Winterstein, Lam, Logan, Shillington, Cherrington, Fletcher, Ricketson etc, etc, etc. I could go on and on.

applesauce

Don Furner is a bloody moron. If he was anymore up Gallops ass he would be poking out his mouth. The sh*t he went on with on the footy show last week and continued to go on with this week about not raising the cap. Quotes like "no matter what option we take it will cost the clubs money" what about relieving 3rd party agreements you moron, it isn't your money....

You think a club like canberra would be bang up for ideas like junior concessions, they would be in the top 8 every year.

He is so far off what a CEO should be it isn't funny now he will cry poor and bitch about why he can keep players like Dugan. Where if he supported an overhaul of the cap and things like junior concessions, he could keep Dugan but now the loss of him will cost more to the club than the extra money he complains the club would fork out. Players like Dugan keep the turnstiles moving.

You can't have it both ways you trackhead.