Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Next Coach

Who will be Eels Next Coach

• Hannay

Votes: 30 29.4%
  • Hollbrook

Votes: 12 11.8%
  • Ryles

Votes: 33 32.4%
  • Morris

Votes: 5 4.9%
  • Cheika

Votes: 22 21.6%

Johnny88

Listening to Freddie and the eighth today on you tube , Freddy loves parra it's a great club mabe he wants a interview lol.
Fittler said he was going to sign with Parramatta back in 1996 it was between Manly, Roosters and eels, but Gus was at Roosters so he chose them.
That would've been a great side.

Fred Fitler was one of the best I've seen alongside Lockear,Thurston and Johns.
Cliff Lyons was probably a guy who I rated not to far off them yet would never be mentioned in the same breath by most.

King-Gutho94

Listening to Freddie and the eighth today on you tube , Freddy loves parra it's a great club mabe he wants a interview lol.
Fittler said he was going to sign with Parramatta back in 1996 it was between Manly, Roosters and eels, but Gus was at Roosters so he chose them.
I saw enough deadshit decisions from Freddy as origin coach that Fittler would be the last coach I want.

Ironically if he wanted another club role he should have jumped in 2021. When his stocks were high after 3 series wins in 4 years.

Losing to the worst QLD side in 2020 and the last 2 origin series have eroded Freddy's reputation.

King-Gutho94

Fred Fitler was one of the best I've seen alongside Lockear,Thurston and Johns.
Cliff Lyons was probably a guy who I rated not to far off them yet would never be mentioned in the same breath by most.
Johns, Thurston, Cam Smith in that order for me.

I only seen footy since 1999 but Joey is still the best. He dominated at every level.

No matter what you think of him as bloke/sook he was quality and changed the way halfbacks play today. His general play kicking, control, running game and ability to perfect the banana kick.

Throw in his elite defence for a halfback and would nail clutch 40/20s, FGs and conversions.

I remember watching him play live as a kid for NSW 3 times at homebush.

On 2 occasions he got MOM 2002 & 2005 he destroyed QLD like no halfback we have seen for NSW.

emjaycee

I only seen footy since 1999 but Joey is still the best. He dominated at every level.

No matter what you think of him as bloke/sook he was quality and changed the way halfbacks play today. His general play kicking, control, running game and ability to perfect the banana kick.

Throw in his elite defence for a halfback and would nail clutch 40/20s, FGs and conversions.

On 2 occasions he got MOM 2002 & 2005 he destroyed QLD like no halfback we have seen for NSW.
But he never kicked no 2-point field goal like "our Zac".

Incorrect

The story I vaguely recall when the Rugby League Digest podcast spoke about it in the Super League series was that once it became clear Freddy was staying with the NRL, Gus shit-canned Parra and told Freddy the only clubs he should ever consider joining should be Roosters, Manly or Canterbury. So with Canterbury off the list cause they went to Super League, it came down to Manly and Roosters and yeah, we know the rest....

Yeah Johns is the best I’ve seen. Phenomenal player. But I only vaguely remember the eighties.

Cam Smith I never really got. He played forever and won all the time, which is obviously a sign of quality. He just never seemed to be the best on the field, for mine, even when he was MotM.

yy_cheng

For mine it was Wally

Soto

It's rugby league. They aren't teaching etiquette.
You want a grub to teach them to niggle and get under the skin of players.
Ennis knows his shit..absolute great pick-up if we get him as an assistant or coach. I reckon he outsmarted BA in a number of areas. BA wouldn't have wanted a threat...
Ennis lives and breathes footy...he leagues

Soto

The story I vaguely recall when the Rugby League Digest podcast spoke about it in the Super League series was that once it became clear Freddy was staying with the NRL, Gus shit-canned Parra and told Freddy the only clubs he should ever consider joining should be Roosters, Manly or Canterbury. So with Canterbury off the list cause they went to Super League, it came down to Manly and Roosters and yeah, we know the rest....
Bee stings is an A grade grub of epic proportions who has a massive dislike for parra as he was never graded by them...an absolute germ who continues to shit can the game and makes an outstanding living off it...grub dog grub