Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK II

How many pages in 24 hrs

• 1-15

Votes: 5 38.5%
  • 16-30

Votes: 2 15.4%
  • 31-45

• 45+

Votes: 6 46.2%

phantom eel

All true Bart so agree the AGM should be boring.
I was clearly stating that the agenda papers and motions are not contentious. There is a requirement that any questions be directed in writing 7 days in advance, and these will be answered first on the night, with any other questions getting responses once all other proceedings have been dealth with.

Of course since the last AGM we have only had:
1) Salary Cap breaches on all 4 caps;
2) Dismissal/Resignation of Football Club CEO;
3) 114 items of change identified as a result of forced 'governance review';
4) Legally ok but morally questionable self-approved increases to honorariums;
5) Ex-Player Hopoate sue us for damages in the Supreme Court as a result of bungled contract renewal
1) the NRL absolved the administration of fault for these breaches, and the suspended 4 point penalty was not applied.
2) they've come and gone every year since Fitzy left... what was this latest bloke's name again? Was this resignation of much real concern to ordinary members?
3) I'm glad the club asceded to the identified changes, to bring us out of the dark ages as far as particuaping in the NRL is concerned. It would be nice to know the exact nature of these changes, but apart from that, is there anything of real concern to ordinary members?
4) Legally ok, and doesn't relate to the entity for which this AGM is about. $20K is nothing for chairperson of an entity where people complain when he's not addressing any issues raised in the media 24/7. Is there anything of real concern here to ordinary members?
5) Someone needs to tell Hopoate he's dreaming... I'm glad we haven't settled out of court with the guy, no wonder the original contract didn't go through if he was trying to become part time

And unknown now but possibly resolved by 2nd May is the allegations of additional salary cap breaches either since the prior breach notice or beforehand but not found until after.

Nothing for members to even care about or bother turning up at the AGM for right :sarcasm:
Watmough's TPA with an entity that doesn't (technically) provide services to the club? Watmough who hasn't played a game since the NRL gave us the all clear in the previous investigation. Not really concerned about this one myself, it really only highlights the inadequacy of what the NRL has in place re TPA registration and policing across the board (16 clubs).

Did you notice page 39 Note 22 Contingencies? No contingency allowed for Hoppa or for the current formal Salary Cap review the NRL are undertaking?
Haven't got that far yet... are the accounts for 2014-15, or 2015 calendar year? Hopoate's action only started in second half of 2015, and current NRL review only started early 2016. Were you expecting to see contingencies for these in the accounts of the year before those actions were even known, or in the year before they were even due to conclude/report?

phantom eel

7Mate is showing re-runs of Mythbusters at the same time as the AGM.
Want to come over and have a beer instead of heading down the Club for the AGM?
No-one's wanted to meet up for over 5 years, and suddenly everyone's keen? :lol:.

Though checking the TV guide for May 2 for something more enthralling than this AGM is a good idea ;-). Pity we can't give away proxy votes....

The Hoppa case is listed for a Directions hearing tomorrow.

A directions hearing is often set a date for hearing (if one has not already been set) and to give ‘directions’ to the parties about the things that need to be done to get ready for the hearing.

So the hearing prolly won't be in this financial year.

emjaycee

I was clearly stating that the agenda papers and motions are not contentious. There is a requirement that any questions be directed in writing 7 days in advance, and these will be answered first on the night, with any other questions getting responses once all other proceedings have been dealth with.

1) the NRL absolved the administration of fault for these breaches, and the suspended 4 point penalty was not applied.

But hefty fines were.

2) they've come and gone every year since Fitzy left... what was this latest bloke's name again? Was this resignation of much real concern to ordinary members?

Umm, this is the guy that the Board has blamed since June 14th 2015 for all Hoppa's contract, Foran's contract, Watmough's TPA, etc. Maybe the ordinary members SHOULD be concerned.

3) I'm glad the club asceded to the identified changes, to bring us out of the dark ages as far as particuaping in the NRL is concerned. It would be nice to know the exact nature of these changes, but apart from that, is there anything of real concern to ordinary members?

How about the changes to the election cycle and process for our club and for the PNRL? Or are these not supposed to matter to 'ordinary' members like yourself?

4) Legally ok, and doesn't relate to the entity for which this AGM is about. $20K is nothing for chairperson of an entity where people complain when he's not addressing any issues raised in the media 24/7. Is there anything of real concern here to ordinary members?

The additional $75k comes from the funding provided by the club so those pesky ordinary members might care that it means less weekly car draws for them to win.

5) Someone needs to tell Hopoate he's dreaming... I'm glad we haven't settled out of court with the guy, no wonder the original contract didn't go through if he was trying to become part time

Dreaming or not, he has taken it to the Supreme Court so he thinks he has a chance. And the relevance of his change of playing status is what again? If that was our reason for not lodging his contract or changing the terms, are you naive enough to think he would be pursuing $1.8m damages? I gave you more credit than that - my bad maybe :cool:

Watmough's TPA with an entity that doesn't (technically) provide services to the club? Watmough who hasn't played a game since the NRL gave us the all clear in the previous investigation. Not really concerned about this one myself, it really only highlights the inadequacy of what the NRL has in place re TPA registration and policing across the board (16 clubs).

You don't need to be concerned because you didn't sign the declaration that said there was no connection. We may not agree with the TPA rules but we don't get to flaunt them because of that.

Haven't got that far yet... are the accounts for 2014-15, or 2015 calendar year? Hopoate's action only started in second half of 2015, and current NRL review only started early 2016. Were you expecting to see contingencies for these in the accounts of the year before those actions were even known, or in the year before they were even due to conclude/report?

Accounts are for 2015 calendar year and both of the items I mentioned are in the Contingency Clause but no $ applied - just the Clubs view we will win the Hoppa case and the Directors views that no financial penalties will be applied if any breach is discovered.

emjaycee

No-one's wanted to meet up for over 5 years, and suddenly everyone's keen? :lol:.

Though checking the TV guide for May 2 for something more enthralling than this AGM is a good idea ;-). Pity we can't give away proxy votes....

Psst, lots of us have met up in the last 5 years... just saying :lol:

phantom eel

Psst, lots of us have met up in the last 5 years... just saying :lol:
:lol: All good. I did mean to type that no-one's wanted to meet up with me... until now? :sarcasm:

I don't control a voting bloc, I'm not sure why anyone's overly bothered by opinions I type.

I'll meet up with you Phantom.

But be warned though, I smash schooners like a merkin and won't call it a night until at least one of us drinks ourselves into a coma.

phantom eel

I respect that you're so concerned about these potential AGM "issues" emjaycee, but personally (and as I've been saying) I just don't see any of them as that huge in the scheme of things.
But hefty fines were.
1) So the club got fined for breeches that the NRL said we're the current adminsitration's fault. What's the AGM issue/question there?

2) Umm, this is the guy that the Board has blamed since June 14th 2015 for all Hoppa's contract, Foran's contract, Watmough's TPA, etc. Maybe the ordinary members SHOULD be concerned.
2) So Seward, who is no longer with us - and from the NRL's quotes about the above breeches, that sounds like a good result. Again, what's the AGM meant to achieve about that past history? What more answers do members actually need?

How about the changes to the election cycle and process for our club and for the PNRL? Or are these not supposed to matter to 'ordinary' members like yourself?
3) I have no problem with the reported changes to the election cycle with staggered subset of directors elected annually, to fall in line with commonly accpeted good practise for Board succession and de-politicisation. As a member I am glad the club followed/will follow the NRL required governance changes.

The additional $75k comes from the funding provided by the club so those pesky ordinary members might care that it means less weekly car draws for them to win.
4) As a member, I'm happy for the club to devote $75K from the pokies profits to potentialy come out of the chook raffle/dark ages of club administraion, if not quite there now/yet at least to attract future/professional administrations. For the cost of two weekly car draws it's a bargain imo.

Dreaming or not, he has taken it to the Supreme Court so he thinks he has a chance. And the relevance of his change of playing status is what again? If that was our reason for not lodging his contract or changing the terms, are you naive enough to think he would be pursuing $1.8m damages? I gave you more credit than that - my bad maybe :cool:
5) Neither of us know the case detail. But just because someone takes a case to court, doesn't mean they have a strong case/will win. Every case has a winner and loser - I'd rather we take on potentially reedy/misplaced claims than just give in and pay (overs) to settle.

You don't need to be concerned because you didn't sign the declaration that said there was no connection. We may not agree with the TPA rules but we don't get to flaunt them because of that.
No-one specifically declared there was no connection between two entities, did they? I'd imagine someone declared that the TPA entity did not provide service to the club, and probably in a situation where it's not clear the level of checking (of complicated corprorate structures etc) the NRL requires of all clubs in making these declarations that prop up the system.. If a staff member signed something they shouldn't, they will be penalised for a technical breach and so they should. If the staff member nowingly signed incorrectly and the NRL can turn up evidence of collusion to that effect by staff or a member of the Board, then whatever penalty comes from that will be justified. But the people responsible should be very specific, and to me that doesn't generalise to a position of "sack the board" (that some people might take).

Accounts are for 2015 calendar year and both of the items I mentioned are in the Contingency Clause but no $ applied - just the Clubs view we will win the Hoppa case and the Directors views that no financial penalties will be applied if any breach is discovered.
Then as Gronk said, identified as contingencies in the year they were known (late 2015), but no dollars allocated yet until the 2016 accounts - the year in which any outlay might be expected to appear. I think that's just accrual accounting?

phantom eel

I'll meet up with you Phantom.

But be warned though, I smash schooners like a merkin and won't call it a night until at least one of us drinks ourselves into a coma.
Cheers Gary - a drunken coma sounds preferable to attending the AGM!

Years ago I used to meet up/catch up with quite a few people from on here at games and elsewhere, back in the days when I was single and had more spare time for it etc. Good people one and all. Now I prefer to spend my middle-aged nights in my pjs in the armchair, typing nothing of importance while watching some TV before snoozing off to bed.

I could not care less who runs our club aslong as we have competitive team on the park.

emjaycee

I could not care less who runs our club aslong as we have competitive team on the park.

I don't care who runs our club either. As long as they do so knowing it is OUR club not theirs. They are elected by the members to run the club, not treat it as their own plaything.

All i ask is that they do so honestly, openly, legally and morally and in accordance with the reason we gave them our trust...

Oh and as long as we can put a competitive team on the park too.

You know I would hope the attitude of Parramatta fans would be kinda Siege mentality like.

"Go on NRL hit us with everything you've got, we will come back bigger and stronger and take all your premierships and prize money"

But it looks like we are going to be the Vipers nest we always have been.

I not only think we are going to lose points, but I think all leagues club directors will be forced to be removed from the PNRLC, and then the NRL will take control of the PNRLC and move us to Gosford instead of ANZ for 2 years to start the transplant process.

It's over folks. Job done, club killed. Funeral Services to start 2nd of May.

Having said all of that.

The best political strategy for the board to follow would be to call a Fan Forum a week or so before to explain the results of any report that comes out.

If however these allegations are found to have no merit, and the club does not receive any punishment, then I would still run this meeting to let Football Fans know what has been undertaken in terms of changes to the PNRLC and the other details about our breach reported last year of all 4 caps for the 2014 season.

Just so you know why this will happen.

Greenberg is new to the Role of CEO, He will need to be seen as strong and to uphold the competition from any form of corruption. If he doesn't Paul Kent and the Editor at Large over at the Terrorgraph (the one that looks like Austin Powers) will burn him in effigy in the papers.

Moving to the Central Coast will mark off something for the NRL and will give the club space from the Vipers nest that is the rest of the Parramatta Eels club.

Looking at this from outside the Eels, this is the best result. It will suck balls for us, but it will make everything outside seem that justice as been done.

Why would they move us to Gosford?

I doubt expanding into the Central Coast is even on the NRL's radar.

Was MITS doing a funny?

Bigfella

Why would they move us to Gosford?

I doubt expanding into the Central Coast is even on the NRL's radar.

Was MITS doing a funny?

I definitely thought he was when he said we should have a siege mentality, take everything the nrl throw at us and stand strong... Then threw his hands up and had us losing the points due to a Murdoch / Greenberg conspiracy plus being relocated to Gosford.

I mean, sending anyone to Gosford is a massive punishment. It's not like we killed anyone.