Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels trial.

Aliceinwonderland

Why don't you take your own advice, and leave yourself. Leave @Aliceinwonderland alone.

Thanks Di for you're kindness.

Having a rough time health wise.....walking has become an 'optional extra'......(even a few steps)

So aplogies in advance for any dummy spits. Some days are better than others.

So I will probably stroll in and out on occasion.

Whino

$250k

Momo the same.

I know the club likes to keep money just incase but this year isn't the time to be tight

Getting TPJ last year. Stopped the club front loading contracts this year going by reports and what Blade said. Also paying for the price of success. Still paying RCG too.

Take those equations out and that allows us to probably bring in a mid player or two for better depth.

Aliceinwonderland

Getting TPJ last year. Stopped the club front loading contracts this year going by reports and what Blade said. Also paying for the price of success. Still paying RCG too.

Take those equations out and that allows us to probably bring in a mid player or two for better depth.

This is the last year for Reg. I thought he started a new deal with Parramatta last year ?

Whino

This is the last year for Reg. I thought he started a new deal with Parramatta last year ?

Yes but my point is. What we are paying him this year would give us another reasonable player to balance out the squad.
It is what it is. We paid him and Blake last year on the books and still won a premiership with that disadvantage.
This year is tighter.

Aliceinwonderland

Yes but my point is. What we are paying him this year would give us another reasonable player to balance out the squad.
It is what it is. We paid him and Blake last year on the books and still won a premiership with that disadvantage.
This year is tighter.

OK I hear where you're comming from. Many players required upgrades on their contracts.

Luke Bowden

I didn't say your window has closed, just that it's gotten narrower. Likewise Parra's window will still be open next year but it will be a lot skinnier than this year. I tip us about a 20% chance this year while next year could be less than 10%
They are the strongest club in the game though so it's not a good comparison. At their worst they might still be a 15% chance of winning. In their best year they are probably evens to win the grand final before a ball is kicked. Melbourne is a great place to live. How much less will players take to re-sign and not have to move their wife and kids interstate?
That's not true at all. If Penrith lose in the finals (likely) or have a bunch of injuries and miss the eight (possible) it doesn't mean they were no chance of winning the comp. That's true of other teams as well. Only one team will win it. Does that mean no other team had any chance? It's a simplistic, revisionist way to look at things.

Anyway you said you'd be taking a break for a while. Off you go.
Mate, I don’t think any one is interested in your thoughts on Windows, Sliding doors or sky lights. Making up percentages is pretty pointless, I’m sure you’ll agree.

Why are you posting this stuff on the Penrith page?

Why not go and share your thoughts with like minded Parra supporters….

DinkyDi

Thanks Di for you're kindness.

Having a rough time health wise.....walking has become an 'optional extra'......(even a few steps)

So aplogies in advance for any dummy spits. Some days are better than others.

So I will probably stroll in and out on occasion.
Hey, no worries, I totally get it.

It is unknown at this stage whether Penrith's premiership window is closing. Or not. That is a fact.

In the fullness of time that will be revealed.

Who knew at the beginning of the 2021 season that Burton would make a great centre. In fact gain the 'centre of the year' at the Dally M's.

That Mitchell would lose 6 games or so (exact amount I can't recall) in 2021 for Souths.

Nor that Penrith would gain TPJ for games at the business end of the season.

Or the chooks would have such a dreadful season with injuries either.

Already in the game I've currently watching Wade Graham has gone off with an ankle injury.

The list possibilites for this season, know no end.
Well that's why premiership odds are different on grand final day than prior to round one. By grand final day most of the possibilities that existed in round one have been removed. Note also that I'm not saying betting odds accurately reflect reality, but that is where their basis lies. There are teams that are a legitimate chance of winning this year that won't. It was the same last year and every other year.

Well you won the f**ken comp last year. How can you criticise any decision the club made around contracts? They did what they had to do.

Mate, I don’t think any one is interested in your thoughts on Windows, Sliding doors or sky lights. Making up percentages is pretty pointless, I’m sure you’ll agree.
No it's called modelling, and is used to illustrate a point.
Why are you posting this stuff on the Penrith page?
Because you need to learn it.
Why not go and share your thoughts with like minded Parra supporters….
I can do both, don't you worry about that.

Luke Bowden

I don’t mind when other teams supporters come in here to talk footy, I actually enjoy the different view points.
I don’t really understand what goes through the mind of a person who just comes on to post

modelling based on what? You say we are a 15% chance of winning this season…. Where did you pull that figure from?
There is no point painting a picture, if you don’t know what colours to paint it…

Luke Bowden

I don’t mind when other teams supporters come in here to talk footy, I actually enjoy the different view points.
I don’t really understand what goes through the mind of a person who just comes on to post rubbish

modelling based on what? You say we are a 15% chance of winning this season…. Where did you pull that figure from?
There is no point painting a picture, if you don’t know what colours to paint it..

I don’t really understand what goes through the mind of a person who just comes on to post

Well it's an estimate based on the likelihood of winning compared to all the other teams that are capable of winning. If you do it for every team in the comp the only rule is that it adds up to 100%

You don't need to agree on the percentages. It's just a matter of opinion with no way of knowing whether we're right or not. For a more practical application than arguing on the internet, you could use this type of modelling to decide whether betting odds represent good value, for example.