Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FG and PL teams for round 1

Steven Gerrard

What does St George have? Jubilee Oval? Sizzler? Railway Pde? WOW! Canberra is a hell of alot better than here.

Like the saying goes "We got a Grandstand bigger than your stadium" :D

Ribs

An area vs a territory? Thats brilliant, the people of the St George area arent allowed to go to other parts of Sydney? Your logic is mindblowing.....

I lived in Canberra while I was at Uni and the place is as boring as bat shit. Why dont you go swim with the carp in Lake Burley Griffin.......

Steven Gerrard

It's a hell of alot better than Botany Bay. :lol:
I'm just comparing the Canberra Raiders area to the St George Dragons Area. If your logic wants you to believe that you can claim all of sydney too be the roosters too and claim bondi...and souths..go on, claim redfern too..haha go for it! :lol:

You probably found Canberra so boring, because no one liked you, and you didnt make any friends coz of that. Therefore stuck on the Uni campus the whole time. :lol:

Remember, you brought this up, not me. ;-)

thickos

Ribs said:
An area vs a territory? Thats brilliant, the people of the St George area arent allowed to go to other parts of Sydney? Your logic is mindblowing.....

I lived in Canberra while I was at Uni and the place is as boring as bat sh*t. Why dont you go swim with the carp in Lake Burley Griffin.......

Good one mate, you've proved your stupidity, no need to carry on. Who gives a rats about the respective regions (coming from a Raiders fan who lives in the St George district). You're obviously struggling if your argument gets reduced down to 'Canberra's a shit area' - but I guess after the 2003 the dragons had you don't have much material to work with!!!

What did you do in September? Enjoy an early offseason??? 8) 8)

Ribs

Explain to me, thickos, how Ive "proved my stupidity".

From memory, last September I watched the Raiders take a double choke and out the back door.

Steven Gerrard

I'd like to see how the dragons would have faired up against the warriors on that night. :lol: Not only would have the 1st grade squad been injured, but the warriors would have hurt all your premier league team as well. :lol:

You've proved your stupidity, in that the only argument you have is, Canberra is a hole. :roll:

Southernsaint

Hehe, wasn't it Uncle Bulgaria dropping the ball over the line in the semi last year??

Man, I was at that game - I could've been in Auckland for all the support the Warriors were getting. The fabled SGB were nowhere to be seen...

Cheers,
Ben S.

Ribs

My only argument? Cripes we are dealing with some live ones here. I was merely stating a fact that the place your team originates from is a cold, miserable boring little hovell with a lake full of carp.

I could argue football but with comments like...

"We use our forwards alot"

I just figured Id be out gunned.

SaintTPP

This will all get settled after round one, then we will see who can have the rights of bragging etc.

lol
you dragons have nothing
just the old "canberras a shit hole" chestnut
which dosnt bother me, i live in penrith and it cant possibly be worse than here

We apparently choked..... need i remind you of 5 grandfinals in the 90's
but as its been said, all will be settled on sunday..... lol, gotta love what footy does to ya, glad its back

Southernsaint

Raider_69 said:

Maybe if we were salary cap *folks -W* like Canberra we would've won those GF's...

Cheers,
Ben S.

thickos

Southernsaint said:
Raider_69 said:

Maybe if we were salary cap *folks-W* like Canberra we would've won those GF's...

Cheers,
Ben S.

Another irrational, illogical, bitter post from southernsteeler. In none of the three years we won the competition we were over the cap. After 1991 we (when we lost anyway) were shown to have exceeded player payments because of the structure of the contracts negotiated with players - players were on incentive and performance bonuses and considering Daley, Stuart and co. all became internationals and won comps in that period their bonuses went up a lot. It is a case far removed from the Bulldogs systematic rorting of the cap involving payments buried away in business projects such as Oasis.

If you want to be pedantic, then fine - call a breach a breach. Then the Tigers, Storm, Broncos and Roosters are all guilty from recent years. But you should look in your own backyard as well - the JV has been on a 'nominal cap' since its inception now and in the only good year your club has had (1999), you had millions more than your rivals to play with. Suddenly you have to balance the books and the performances have dropped off considerably.

Anyways, going back to raider_69's point, if your team was any good you may have jagged one of those GF's in the 1990's...

Cheers!!
thickos

Southernsaint

I knew I could fire you up with that salary cap call...

So Canberra were only over the cap because they "promised" to pay their stars next year instead of actually paying them on the year in question?? A rort's a rort, mate. How it must have hurt to lose Clyde & Stuart in the late 90's - at Saints we'd been doing that pretty much throughout the 90's, whilst we naively thought everyone was ahereing to the cap.

As for the Joint Venture (not "my club" - My Club is St George), they didn't have "millions to play with", and in fact have been shedding players every year since 1999. How much better would the Dragons have looked if they'd kept Craig Fitzgibbon, who later went on to be an international or Luke Patten?? The "notional values" finished a couple of years ago, "notional values" that were in place because of the need of the ARL & News Ltd to "compromise" :lol: after Super League...

Anyway, this is getting all a bit tired - we've been over these arguments plenty of times. Good luck on Sunday - hope to see a great game of footy.

Cheers,
Ben S.

Ribs

You know you have them by the short and curlys when they feel the need to write a full thesis on why the werent actually *folking* the cap.........

Yes, you choked last year. 2 games, 2 losses, backdoor, backdoor.

we choked
again ill state my point- 5 grandfinals - 0 premierships
i mean you probably should have won one by luck if nothing else

we were over the cap thanks to incentive based contracts, nothing else
good luck this week

but next time around, think before you type ;-)
thats a tip from me to you