Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FG and PL teams for round 1

raider_at_heart

RedDragon said:
....but seriously, they are the biggest pack of whingers during and after the game its not funny. Woolford complains so much its not funny, and Elliot is as bad as Bennett.

Are you serious mate?
I havnt heard Matt Elliot whinge once after a defeat. Unlike Stuart and Folkes. I d rather have Elliot then Brown.

Collateral

Yeah I am serious. I cant believe you dont reackon he doesnt whinge...he does it mostly about the refs...grantd he's not as bad as Bennett or Stuart, but I would have him sitting comfortably in 3rd spot.

Besides that, I like Matt Elliot very much and think he is one of the top 2 coaches in the NRL. I might not support the Raiders, but if I was a player looking for a club, having Matt Elliot at the Raiders makes it a very attracting looking club.

Biglance

i reckon our team is better rthis year compared with this

1. Simmonds
2. Roberts
3. Gasnier
4. Cooper
5. Saleh
6. Hornby
7. Firman
8. Bailey
9. Riddell
10. Ryles
11. Thompson
12. Kite
13 Cross

14. Ellis
15. Stapleton
16. Nero
17. Tutt

Southernsaint

RedDragon said:
Yeah I am serious. I cant believe you dont reackon he doesnt whinge...he does it mostly about the refs...grantd he's not as bad as Bennett or Stuart, but I would have him sitting comfortably in 3rd spot.

Besides that, I like Matt Elliot very much and think he is one of the top 2 coaches in the NRL. I might not support the Raiders, but if I was a player looking for a club, having Matt Elliot at the Raiders makes it a very attracting looking club.

I also highly rate Elliot - a good Saints man.

Red Dragon, I'd include Craig Bellamy & Daniel Anderson with the trio of coaches you mentioned...

Cheers,
Ben S.

Godz Illa

Whats the word on Ashton Sims? Is he going to be named in the side and given until Sunday to prove his fitness? Or is he gone?

SaintTPP

George_Illa said:
Whats the word on Ashton Sims? Is he going to be named in the side and given until Sunday to prove his fitness? Or is he gone?
He most proabaly won't be playing in round one but will be back in round two.

now come on saints fan.... you cant be serious

bag woolford all you like but unlike your heart and soul, ours dosnt come to training drunk
woolford may whinge and try his hardest to earn a penalty but riddle does it too, a little pot calling the kettle black here, but everyone hates woolford and personally i wouldnt want it any other way.
And then you the hide to bag matty elliot, widely reguarded as one of the smartest coaches going around in the NRL when you guys have browny... nothing against him but he is a really poor coach, top player and i have respect for him as a player but thus far he hasnt shown to be 1/66th of what elliot is.

I mean your seasons are riddled with injuries and excuses, have all the potential in the world but cant get it together to win a premiership, i hope this year is different but i wont hold my breathe

Now as for this weeks game, its sure to be a cracker, mainly because its the only time saints will get close to a full squad, canberra should win by 8 points

just quietly - you aint seen nothing yet
Raiders 28
Dragons 20
TOO CAMP-EASY!

good luck

Ribs

How can you judge Brown on one season, especially one as injury prone as 2003? Elliot has been down in that cold, miserable, boring areshole of the world for quite a few seasons and I dont see your trophy cabinet being measured up for any extensions.......

Elliot is a fine coach but to compare him with Brown this early on is pure foolishness.

Good to see you twits taking the time to come onto this forum and have a go anyway, this is what I call the 'Round 1 Phenomenon' where even the most pathetic teams supporters can come out fighting..... until round 2.

Southernsaint

I don't even recall anyone bagging Elliot. Most of the posters in here have had nothing but praise for him, especially seeing as he's originally one of "us"...

To compare a man of his coaching pedigree (UK & Australia) with someone just starting out in his career is ludicrous, though. brown has had a steep learning curve that will continue this season. You cannot buy experience...

Anyway, talk up your team if you want. You were probably bagging them & talking down their chances this time last year & now you have the weight of expectation on your shoulders - we'll see how you go now that everyone has you figured out.

Bring on Round One!!

Cheers,
Ben S.

Steven Gerrard

Ribs said:
Good to see you twits taking the time to come onto this forum and have a go anyway, this is what I call the 'Round 1 Phenomenon' where even the most pathetic teams supporters can come out fighting..... until round 2.

stroke.gif

RedDragon said:
Woolford complains so much its not funny, and Elliot is as bad as Bennett.

there ya go
saint fan baggin elliot
i know most understand and respect his coaching ability so thats all good
Just quietly last season i was expecting nothing less than a top 6 position so i was certainly optomistic about their chances
Also i know footy players arnt the smartest lot but it dosnt take a year for oppisition teams to figure out how a team plays. Last year and this year we made no secret of the way we play, bash them up the middle, knowing what we are going to do is one thing, trying to stop our massive forwards is quite another. Wiki, Davico, O'Hara, Hindy and Cross... good luck with it.

besides what wrong with masterbating?
everyone does it, anyone who says they dont is either full of shit, dosnt know how or cant get it up..... so which one is it saints fans?
;-)

Anywho this is our team for the game
1. Clinton Schifcofske
2. Joel Monaghan
3. Jason Bulgarelli
4. Adam Mogg
5. Michael Robertson
6. Jason Croker
7. Mark McLinden
8. Ryan O'Hara
9. Simon Woolford (c)
10. Luke Davico
11. Ruben Wiki
12. Ian Hindmarsh
13. Terry Martin

14. Tyran Smith
15. Michael Hodgson
16. Ben Cross
17. Matt Gafa

Ribs

Does the term 2nd year syndrome sound familiar? Happens to many players who come out in their rookie year and catch teams by surprise, but also includes a team who perform beyond expectations for a year and catch many off guard.

Thats what the Raiders did last year and it wont happen this year. Sure your blokes go ok, but they arent a challenge to the top 4 and even the most optimistic of Raiders supporters must know that deep down, however much they talk it up.

I love these people who head over to opposition forums and talk shit. Classic stuff, then you all piss off like it never happened after the game.

Nothing wrong with masturbation there either raider, but as I lived in that boring little hovell your team calls home for 4 long and painful years, I can see that compared to the pogs that pass as women there, its your best option.

Piss off to Fyshwick.

:lol: :lol: :lol:
well then if 2nd year syndrome is to happen then i wouldnt be pinning anything on young Firman (who i thought deserved rookie of the year)

But anyways back to it, the raiders have the experience in the vital positions, we use our forward pack alot and they are big and experienced
Our half although young has had plenty of game time and will no doubt break alot of our club records

To add to this our backline seems inexperienced, but Mogg has been playing for plenty of years as has schif

But of corse we arnt a chance at the top 4.... just like last year ay... this sort of thing is not something new to canberra, we are always under-estimated and like with last season our acheivements are undermined.

All you have to do is look at the results since News Ltd. were brought out, almost instant success on the footy feild and we havnt looked back. Further more we have one of the smartest coaches and THE best fitness bloke in the NRL IMHO

Canberra is fine city, every place has its dwindles, especially penrith, but the point here is footy, it dosnt matter were we come from all that matters is this year, like last we will be a major contender weather the sydney media like it or not....

also we only performed beyond expectations because no one seems to take notice
all raider fans knew a top 6 spot was on the cards, and why does no one rate us?

2 words - Sydney Media (which surprisingly named us their darkhorse this year)

Ribs

I dont think anyone here will disagree that Firman hasnt proved anything yet. Of course this is a big year for him.

Let me say though, that now that you have pointed this little gem out...

"we use our forward pack a lot"

....... I take it all back. Why didnt we think of that? Classic stuff.

Canberra is as far from being a fine place as John Howard is is from starring in your famous porn industry. What do you have? The Floriade? Parliament House? Mal Meninga?

Canberra is the pits and so is your football team.