Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FG and PL teams for round 1

Southernsaint

Raider_69 said:
we choked
again ill state my point- 5 grandfinals - 0 premierships
i mean you probably should have won one by luck if nothing else

we were over the cap thanks to incentive based contracts, nothing else
good luck this week

but next time around, think before you type ;-)
thats a tip from me to you

Over the cap, *folking* the cap - the end result is the same, really.

I'm glad you're going all the way back to 1985 to "prove a point", we could always go back even further & claim that winning eleven Grand Finals in a row "proves" that St George is a formidable club. We've been winning Grand Finals since Canberra was a cow paddock.

I don't know where the Raiders were during 1992, 1993, 1996 or 1999 but it certainly wasn't in the Grand Final. It was no disgrace to lose to Queensland, erm, I mean Brisbane in the first two, nor Manly - possibly the greatest defensive side League has ever seen in 1996. But for a few contentious decisions in 1999, things could've been different (but that's been debated on here ad nauseum too).

Thanks for the tip, by the way, but if listening to it means I'll end up like you - I think I'll pass!!

Cheers,
Ben S.

woodgers

I don't know why we are over here argueing. At the end of the day the St George guys will always say their team is this and that and they have a right to. On paper it could win the premiership, but the reality is that the performance is what counts. That is where the Dragons fall down. We have no superstars, but put it together on a weekly basis. St George are hot and cold. They bust your nuts in the footy tips, there is no predicting them. Raiders fans, you may as well nick off back to our forum and let our boys do the talking on Sunday, we'll see.

Don't get to cocky Raider2004, the mutated scones on your sig aren't gonna have a picnic coming up against the 2204 Dragons.

The Drag Queens may beat us by then but it is a long time to wait. :lol: Besides how unfair will that game be, you guys will have merged with at least another 3 teams by that year :lol:

Southernsaint

woodgers said:
Don't get to cocky Raider2004, the mutated scones on your sig aren't gonna have a picnic coming up against the 2204 Dragons.

The Drag Queens may beat us by then but it is a long time to wait. :lol: Besides how unfair will that game be, you guys will have merged with at least another 3 teams by that year :lol:

And by that time your team will be on another financial drip-feed, this time from News-Time-Warner-AOL :shock:

I can't wait for Sunday.

Cheers,
Ben S.

Southernsaint

RaiderMan said:
Getting back on topic a little more.........

Any word on the crowd expected on Sunday? Any chance of a sell-out?

It will sell out. Whether that is 17,500 or another number depends on crowd safety/comfort issues.

You can get tickets as dragons.com.au or by ringing 4224-8744

Cheers,
Ben S.

We can fit 25 000 in Kogarah - It's just a matter of everyone standing and putting a cap on the number of big boppers allowed into the ground.

Think outside the square.

woodgers

And by that time your team will be on another financial drip-feed, this time from News-Time-Warner-AOL

But we'll still be the Canberra Raiders :D

We can fit 25 000 in Kogarah - It's just a matter of everyone standing and putting a cap on the number of big boppers allowed into the ground.

Great. Love the rules. No one over 100kgs allowed in the ground besides Riddell. I was under the impression that they were making that hill into seats. If not I agree with Ultra, it's not fit for even you guys playing there.

I know sometimes we say things just to stir up opposing supporters and I have done so myself. But this is not one of those occasions.

I have visited Canberra over 50 times and imo, it is one of the most soul-less and pitiful places on the planet. Canberra has no access to the ocean, no spirit, no real history... and to make matters worse, the place is full of politicians.

At best, Canberra represents the hub of trivial bureucracy. At worst, it is an experiment in social engineering which went horribly wrong.

Kogarah on the other hand has a valued and real sporting history. You can smell the sea air and you can feel atmosphere.

Jubilee Oval may be an imperfect bowl which needs lights and more 'mod cons', but it has a spirit which glistens over Botany Bay and beyond; and on that point, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Steven Gerrard

i know your admin..but SHUT THE F*** UP!! :lol: Canberra is one of the great planned cities in the world, as is Washington and Paris so what would you know! :roll:

Southernsaint

Raiders 2004 said:
i know your admin..but SHUT THE F*** UP!! :lol: Canberra is one of the great planned cities in the world, as is Washington and Paris so what would you know! :roll:

Paris was founded towards the end of the 3rd century BC on what is now the Île de la Cité by a tribe of Celtic Gauls known as the Parisii. Centuries of conflict between the Gauls and Romans ended in 52 BC, when Julius Caesar's legions took control of the territory. Christianity was introduced in the 2nd century AD, and the Roman party was finally crashed in the 5th century by the arrival of the Franks. In 508 AD, Frankish king Clovis I united Gaul as a kingdom and made Paris his capital, naming it after the original Parisii tribe

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/destinations/europe/paris/history.htm

Doesn't sound real "planned" to me...

Southernsaint

Willow, Denis,

I love the fact that these Planned City enthusiasts hate our ground so much. We don't want them to like it, nor us.

For a Canberra-ite to give anything their seal of approval is surely the biggest kiss of death on god's green earth - they are possibly the world's biggest Bogans. I think they still wear Hyper-Colour shirts down there...

Cheers,
Ben S.

Biglance

why doesnt evryone shut the f**k up cause im sick of u all bitching about bloody stupid things wat about thinking that this could be the match of the round dick heads

Raiders 2004 said:
lol... watch yourself. I know the C.O. here. :lol:

Are you sure you want to be French?

btw, guys, I have edited out some words with *folks*. Makes it easier for me if we leave defo allegations out of it.
Thanks.

Steven Gerrard

Southernsaint said:
Raiders 2004 said:

Paris was founded towards the end of the 3rd century BC on what is now the Île de la Cité by a tribe of Celtic Gauls known as the Parisii. Centuries of conflict between the Gauls and Romans ended in 52 BC, when Julius Caesar's legions took control of the territory. Christianity was introduced in the 2nd century AD, and the Roman party was finally crashed in the 5th century by the arrival of the Franks. In 508 AD, Frankish king Clovis I united Gaul as a kingdom and made Paris his capital, naming it after the original Parisii tribe

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/destinations/europe/paris/history.htm

Doesn't sound real "planned" to me...

It's a footy forum here mate. Not a history lesson. :lol: