Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Follow another Team

Saint Pedro

Got a solution to following another team. Get into AFL or something else and just don’t watch league. I did it last year , well always have enjoyed the Brisbane bears/lions. Most times they were shit, dragons were going well. They went really well last year and we look like serving the same dross we have been serving for years. Trust me, you can’t give up on your true footy team though, unless it’s the cowboys in 2015 when they beat the broncos. Not sure when the dragons will get off the shit heap of teams.

RedVDave

Well perhaps the thread title itself may finally send the alarm bells ringing within the halls of the hierarchy ?

To leave the Dragons behind to follow another team is indeed the lowest that this so called Joint Venture has gravitated ( is that a word ? ) to .

Lol their is no way any of the Dragons hierarchy reads this forum, besides which our demands have been falling on deaf ears for years. I've said it before but that's why being a saints fan is tough because we care so much and the board doesn't care at all. Opposition fans label us as whingers but the reality is we are just a passionate fan base! As for anyone suggesting of changing teams then feel free to bugger off I get things are frustrating but changing allegiances is just weak don't come crawling back,e the success of your new club but the feeling won't ever be the same from the club you grew watching and loving.
I am a dragons supporter through and through usually in the past when the past the die hards have got together and held meetings this however is not an option at the moment unfortunately the storm has to be weathered at the moment but when all this covid-19 madness passes hopefully the fans can get together and raise their voices in disapproval of what is going on.

Please tell us who are these "some of us:" I only speak for myself... do you?

I don't lay down as quickly.as others.

Your post is actually factually incorrect. Why post a lie?
So you don't agree that anybody has ever posted along these lines?

The Dragons are dead and / or we are becoming the Steelers and / or this is not the Dragons I follow ?

IMO the people that have posted along those lines make my assertion correct.

I note your strong response to the "some of us" statement but also note you don't take such a forthright position against others that use that line at their whim during arguments.

Re "posting a lie" I am expressing my opinion on a particular subject matter just the same as others do so if opinions are lies then there are an awful lot of lier's in here.

Coffs dragon

I’ll never consider following or supporting another club, however my loyalty & passion to this once mighty football club is hanging in at about 10% capacity.

My full enthusiasm & love would certainly return if McGregor, Norman and that bloody terrible Big Red Soup jersey & strip were all consigned to the waste bin of Dragon f.ck ups in our proud history.

Puff

Read a few comments in here,

Dragons supporter. For a LONG TIME.

Firstly, supporting another team is not negotiable. However, Continuing to support is a different story. Sacking Macgregor is only short sighted, if you think that ends our woes you are very short sighted. We are managed top to bottom incorrectly, and the appointment and extension of Macgregor and the timing of those extensions should be proof enough.

However, how do we as supporters change this. Considering we are likening ourselves to Illawarra suggest the club we supported no longer exists. And this isn't far from the truth. So not financially supporting this rendition of our team signals that this is unacceptable. Some may suggest it kills our club by doing this, I suggest it kills Illawarra, and not The Dragons. The Dragons as most of us knew them no longer exists.

Whilst I don't fully understand comments about supporting another team, I do understand the frustration about not being able to change the current situation. So I for one, if unhappy with a product, I stop buying it. I will not financial back whatever team this is. Once we are St George again, I will.

Unfortunately in our times, money rules all, and that's the only way to change something, is to cut off its life source. In our case the cash. The longer you support this current rendition the longer it will continue to live. Sacking Macgregor would be the first step, however solving the problem requires a change in how this club is run and how those that run the club are put in place. Don't support it, make noise about not supporting it, and it will change. Eventually.

Blood&Bandage

Firstly, supporting another team is not negotiable. However, Continuing to support is a different story. Sacking Macgregor is only short sighted, if you think that ends our woes you are very short sighted. We are managed top to bottom incorrectly, and the appointment and extension of Macgregor and the timing of those extensions should be proof enough.

However, how do we as supporters change this. Considering we are likening ourselves to Illawarra suggest the club we supported no longer exists. And this isn't far from the truth. So not financially supporting this rendition of our team signals that this is unacceptable. Some may suggest it kills our club by doing this, I suggest it kills Illawarra, and not The Dragons. The Dragons as most of us knew them no longer exists.

Whilst I don't fully understand comments about supporting another team, I do understand the frustration about not being able to change the current situation. So I for one, if unhappy with a product, I stop buying it. I will not financial back whatever team this is. Once we are St George again, I will.

Unfortunately in our times, money rules all, and that's the only way to change something, is to cut off its life source. In our case the cash. The longer you support this current rendition the longer it will continue to live. Sacking Macgregor would be the first step, however solving the problem requires a change in how this club is run and how those that run the club are put in place. Don't support it, make noise about not supporting it, and it will change. Eventually.
Good post. Well do

Oh for pity sake ! Nobody is going to support another team . As said by a couple of other “ Dragon till I die “ members whom seem to believe that they are the only true supporters of the club ( joint venture ) - after all we are what we are , are we not ?

As for the board members actually reading the forum (?) well it does not take a rocket scientist to work that one out , but I am sure that there is a sap somewhere in the organization whose occasionally views the forum comments , if only to see just what the natives are thinking .

Of course the mere fact that we still have our chief tormentor in the coaching role is evidence enough that no-one gives a damn about what the ‘ sap ‘ may find .

Other than that , I suppose that we should all bunker down for what is going to be one of the Dragons worst ever years , as it’s going to be a really cold one - but at least we all have our Dragon beanies and scarves to keep ourselves warm - that is those of us who are really passionate about the Big Red V . . . :innocent:

TruSaint

Have to be honest, i thought this thread was in jest initially.

I can only speak for myself, but Saints brought me to rugby league. Not the other way around.

The notion of following another club is just foreign to me.

Wasnt happy with the JV, but to be honest my son turns 19 this week and he only knows SGI. Without that JV, or had we relocated he would have no connection to the red v, and the rich history that comes with it.

In time if the administrators keep fooking up the code, I may lose interest with the overall comp, but will always watch my team run out.

BBTB

I have decided to become a Tiger. They have heart two of our juniors BJ an Luciano Leilua and Master Benji who was a Dragon. When McGregor is replaced I might come back.
Can't blame u man...
This organization is a joke... And the joke is on us, the Dragons members and fans

So you don't agree that anybody has ever posted along these lines?

The Dragons are dead and / or we are becoming the Steelers and / or this is not the Dragons I follow ?

IMO the people that have posted along those lines make my assertion correct.

I note your strong response to the "some of us" statement but also note you don't take such a forthright position against others that use that line at their whim during arguments.

Re "posting a lie" I am expressing my opinion on a particular subject matter just the same as others do so if opinions are lies then there are an awful lot of lier's in here.
That reads like someone having a sook.

You didn't answer my question, who are these 'us'? And, are you their leader?

That reads like someone having a sook.

You didn't answer my question, who are these 'us'? And, are you their leader?
Your post is like somebody trying to backfill a deep hole they dug for themselves.

I made it abundantly clear as to who I consider the "us" as you put it to be so perhaps your comprehension is also a little lacking,

As I didn't start the thread and merely commented on it surely you can see that your question "And, are you their leader?" is just ridiculous.

Give credit that people who start the thread do so by their own volition and that they are not the puppets of others.

If I was the "leader" (boy you are being so childish in that thought process) it would be done from the front and not from the shadows.

A question for you

If in response to a post in this forum that said

"did anyone notice that in the 1st 20 minutes the commentator called us Illawarra"

The reply came back in this forum as

"Understandable
We look like them
We play like them
We are run like them
We are coached by them
We are them"

Would you think they might be also of a similar disposition to myself.

If you need verification slip on over to JA and have a look.

R&WTILLIDIE

Not only did we suffer the embarrassment of having to merge with a rival so we can apparently gain access to a crop of talented young players from a great RL region, we now have to watch the dribble dished out by a team with the majority of players from this region lead by a coach who was a legend from the same region. Would’ve preferred to see us stand on our own 2 feet like Souths did rather than having to endure this crap that’s been dished up.

If in response to a post in this forum that said

"did anyone notice that in the 1st 20 minutes the commentator called us Illawarra"
Firstly, it was the referee, not a commentator.

Secondly, we get referred to as “St George” all the time and you don’t see former Steelers supporters acting like spoilt little children having a tantrum about it, or those who have started supporting post JV complaining either way about it.

Thirdly, I’m pretty sure the Illawarra mafia asked the ref to do that in order to further cement the club in Wollongong. It was a well timed piece of beauty.

The reply came back in this forum as

"Understandable
We look like them
We play like them
We are run like them
We are coached by them
We are them"
This is a load of codswallop. Illawarra may have lost games, but they never put in an uninispired performance like we saw yesterday.

They always tried to win - the perennial underdogs.

This Year?

I admit there are times when I question my support for this club and I bag the f**k out of them to the extent where other supporters question if I'm a Saints fan, but I could never support another club.
We are in a world of
pain and we all deal with it in our own way, whether it's by trying to laugh it off, taking the piss or hammering the club on social media or doing anything to invoke change.
I wouldn't blame anyone if they want to switch, but with life as well as sport there are always going to be good times and bad. There are so many great Saints supporters on here that will help ease that pain.
If this club ever becomes good again, it will make it even sweeter after everything we have been through.

Firstly, it was the referee, not a commentator.

Secondly, we get referred to as “St George” all the time and you don’t see former Steelers supporters acting like spoilt little children having a tantrum about it, or those who have started supporting post JV complaining either way about it.

Thirdly, I’m pretty sure the Illawarra mafia asked the ref to do that in order to further cement the club in Wollongong. It was a well timed piece of beauty.

This is a load of codswallop. Illawarra may have lost games, but they never put in an uninispired performance like we saw yesterday.

They always tried to win - the perennial underdogs.
It may well also have been a referee but a commentator did refer to us as Illawarra so your first push back point is incorrect.

I really don't give a shit about what former Steeler supporters think or otherwise in relation to being referred to as St George so how they behave is a matter for them.

It may well also have been a referee but a commentator did refer to us as Illawarra so your first push back point is incorrect.

I really don't give a shit about what former Steeler supporters think or otherwise in relation to being referred to as St George so how they behave is a matter for them.
Geez mate, your comprehension is really poor lately, if that’s what you took out of my comment about fan behaviour.