Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Frank Farina tells NRL, AFL told to grow up over Cup bid

wow some nrl lovers are so narrow minded.

Do you not realise how big the soccer wc up. It will bring tonnes of revenue, tourism etc.

All this talk of how it is trying to "kill off" nrl and afl is a joke. Its postponing for what, 8 weeks, which is nothing compared to the importance and fame of the soccer wc.

Ffs i would vote even to not have nrl of afl for a whole season if it meant bringing the soccer wc to australia.

same!

There's a lot of paranoid people. The AFL and NRL don't have to close down for the 8 weeks, they just have to vacate 12 or so stadiums. Other than the benefit to the economy this will also mean upgraded stadiums. For instance Suncorp might go to 60000 and ANZ to 90000, these stadiums and others probably won't be upgraded unless the WC comes here, possibly a whole new stadium in Western Sydney. Governments are notoriously frugal with stadiums and loathed to upgrade them, this WC will means upgrades we'd almost never get. The NRL should be using this to make sure it gets the best deal, ie its stadiums upgraded and not the AFL's. There will presumably be compensation.

In the 8 weeks the WC is up they could take 4 weeks off when its on and tour Europe or simply have a rest. Or they can play through and use smaller venues, country venues and NZ venues. In the 4 weeks leading up while the big stadiums are closed why not play in places that never get NRL games. For example play the Cowboys in Cairns, Broncos in Ballymore or Toowoomba or Rockhampton etc. Play games in Wagga Wagga etc. Host a whole round in NZ etc. Its the end of the world only if you can't think outside the box.

Put it this way FIFA will pay to upgrade our stadiums and pay us to take games to the bush and expansion areas like NZ, all for an at worst 4 week lay off in the competition.

There's no need to copy the insular attitude of Victoria and cry when a new sport comes to town.

Agree fully

I'm not sure if you realise how tiny your mind actually is...

Just try to ignore it..

would be pretty small. Most people can't balance their finances, let alone get a grip on organisational aspects or political maneuvering.

Another clever post..

Say no to the expansion and redevelopment of stadiums around australia..

It's like the Water Polo and Croquet saying the State of Origin is disrupting their season in NSW & Qld..Please stop it..

We must ensure we get the most and the AFL the least.

Remember this is a sport that pays players in one week what many many upper echelon nrl players get in one season. If our nrl clubs can't hack moving for some of the season by 2018 then please die already and bring in some clout. There will be compensation and just so. People are really worried but you need not be. Its win win. On the one hand its a football tournament....on the other its the BIGGEST EVENT in the world. It will bring the biggest rewards on so many levels.

I applaud Frank for sticking it up the pouting pussies of the AFL. Hopefully this means they do the right thing by the people of Australia and build a new rectangular stadium in sydney's west. Sydney sorely need it. I guess we can all see the stadiums and our eyes light up, 90k homebussh with roof, 40k+ townsville, canberra, 60k suncorp, new sydney rectangle in the west (if they all happen, perth and adelaide 40K+)....but what about the pride of having the tournament here, the tourism, the showing off of our country, the excitement and the cultural aspects, and the legacy. Cities host Olympic games countries host world cups. This will be as big as - indeed way bigger - than the 2000 sydney Olympics. And our new ACE, FIFA will want to stick it to our footy codes. And so they should (from soccers point of view), league fan be as I may, I know NRL and soccer can co-exist, but hmmm not so sure for AFL...

BTW read about Germany's world cup....there are heaps of other infrastructure classifications that dont include stadia which are required for the world cup. Such as media buildings, new roads, shops and supporting structures, train stations and bus routes, etc. Its more than just stadiums, tourism and national pride, its jobs as well, and surrouding industries, many of which will continue beyond the world cup. Why do you think the govts of the world will go all out? This is bigger than most people even realise.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economics_of_the_FIFA_World_Cup

great information about world cup benfits, and pitfalls, etc. Looks like Australia is in a great position. One part says south africa expect a direct 21 billion dollar hit to the economy. Australia recently signed a long-term deal for gas at 80 billion? Thats over years. Imagine a 20 billion dollar hit in one year.

No one will be interested in games which involved weaker country against each other , and games not involving Austalia or the other stronger teams in it

I think you'll be surprised by the level of interest at just being part of the event. At the Rugby World Cup in 2003 they got 15.5k to Namibia vs Romania in Launceston (where basically no-one gives a rats arse about rugby nor those 2 countries), and 23k to Italy vs Wales in Canberra, 20k to US vs Japan in Gosford, etc. I went to 2 games here in Canberra and it was great just to be there. The soccer World Cup will dwarf that.

Mong

Originally Posted by Gaba
No one will be interested in games which involved weaker country against each other , and games not involving Austalia or the other stronger teams in it

SOmeone clearly doesn't know what they are talking about.. There will be huge interest in all games from all around the world, the stadiums may well not be not be full of Aussie fans but they will be full. Just because smaller league nations don't get massive crowds to internationals doesn't mean the same will be true for the football world cup..

No one is trying to sabotage the world cup bid...if we get it, great.

It's simply the arrogance of the soccer cheerleaders that sticks in everyone's craw. They do not have a god given right to put our game --- which has been part of our culture for more than 100 years --- at risk.

Mong

Well fortunately Frank doesn't have a say in anything. The FFA will try and work with the other codes not against them.

I can only shake my head at some fans fear about all of this, it's at least 8 years away if at all.

If both odes can't find alternative arrangements in 8 to 12 years there is somethinng badly wrong with them.

Fui!!!

No one is trying to sabotage the world cup bid...if we get it, great.

It's simply the arrogance of the soccer cheerleaders that sticks in everyone's craw. They do not have a god given right to put our game --- which has been part of our culture for more than 100 years --- at risk.

At risk??? I suppose you also think the world will end 2012?

elbusto

Well fortunately Frank doesn't have a say in anything. The FFA will try and work with the other codes not against them.

I can only shake my head at some fans fear about all of this, it's at least 8 years away if at all.

If both odes can't find alternative arrangements in 8 to 12 years there is somethinng badly wrong with them.
I agree and given that FIFA want rectangular grounds and lots of them at large capacity the opportunities here for League are much broader than for those for the AFL.

And with Demetriou throwing his weight around (the mouse that roared?) the AFL looks a much bigger whinger here than the NRL.

Gaba

SOmeone clearly doesn't know what they are talking about.. There will be huge interest in all games from all around the world, the stadiums may well not be not be full of Aussie fans but they will be full. Just because smaller league nations don't get massive crowds to internationals doesn't mean the same will be true for the football world cup..

reason why people would go to the games i guess is just to get drunk and make trouble

Disagree. Frank should worry about getting his own affairs in order before making rash comments.

His personal life may be full of issues that need attention but that doesn't mean he can't have an opinion on a subject he's knows a fair bit about.

duck_dodgers

During the soccer world cup , league and AFL can hold their own world cups ... league in england ... afl in a phone booth .

ozjet1

i just dont see Australia getting it. Certainly not in 2018.............and unless the national team make it deep into the tournament in the next two WCs, manage to gain some sort of control within FIFA, have a massive asset in our favour (the Asian timezone seems to be it, because growth within Australia is negligble on a world scale), then i cant see us getting it in 2022 either.

duck_dodgers

i just dont see Australia getting it. Certainly not in 2018.............and unless the national team make it deep into the tournament in the next two WCs, manage to gain some sort of control within FIFA, have a massive asset in our favour (the Asian timezone seems to be it, because growth within Australia is negligble on a world scale), then i cant see us getting it in 2022 either.

according to the bookmakers we're 3rd favourites for 2018 (behind england & spain/portugal) & most "experts" reckon we have a better chance in 2022 .

Well done, Frank. :clap:

Considering the whining and bitching going on over News selling the game it's hardly surprising that RL are carrying on like softcocks over the WC bid. A good bitchslap should remind them of their place.

We got nothing on the hysteria/paranoia frenzy currently causing AFL fans to froth at the mouth.
Go & read some of Big Faggy....they have whole sub forum full of victrds trying to stop the bid..

Timmah6991

Well done, Frank. :clap:

Considering the whining and bitching going on over News selling the game it's hardly surprising that RL are carrying on like softcocks over the WC bid. A good bitchslap should remind them of their place.

Last time I checked Frank was directing this at both RL and AFL; yet you distinctly lashed out at Rugby League? :?

I'm all for a WC because it'll be great for the economy, but when a club goes poorly during a year i.e. the Sharks of '09, the club loses a considerable amount of income. Not playing AT ALL will drive most clubs near bankruptcy; the costs of sustaining the players, staff and all those other costs do not simply "stop" when competition stops. With no one coming through the gates it will create a big black hole of debt which could ruin Rugby League and potentially AFL if the fallout is great.

But then again, Queensland doesn't care about Soccer (Rugby League), NSW doesn't care about Soccer (Rugby League) and neither does Victoria (AFL). Maybe the FFA needs a good bitchslap and respect the terrority it's walking into. They're not top dog in Australia, show some f###ing respect.

Smithtown

Rugby League will do very nicely out of this

The stadiums is the obvious benefit, and World Class facilities will be left for all League fans to enjoy.

Meanwhile, the AFL are sh*tting themselves because of ground reconfigurements they may not be able to quickly adjust back from, and the fact they've boxed themselves in with having only 2 grounds in Melbourne.

Further, the AFL realise that a successful World Cup will target and attract many potential players from their game to Soccer - something League doesn't have to worry about nearly as much.

For only a 4 week disruption to League, bring it all on!