Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

siv

Exactly cos footy clubs should make money. Junior clubs everywhere are just flush with money cos footy club.
And you end up with the soccer model

Where more than 50% of junior registrations fees pay for their A-League team and the Socceroos

And this done by doubling the rego fees and making parents pay

Ozzi_78

And you end up with the soccer model

Where more than 50% of junior registrations fees pay for their A-League team and the Socceroos

And this done by doubling the rego fees and making parents pay
Yep and there is many example I know of where kids who do multiple sports are now doing just 1 or in some cases 0. Race to the bottom when this happpens.

Only because they choose to
or they have to? So hard to know for sure. Bulldogs playing in a decent stadium and improving fan engagement may well lift their $8mill football club revenue to the point they dont need the many millions they draw from the LC, or it may be they are in an oversaturated corporate market with a fanbase not big enough to generate substantial revenue? One day we may find out.

Yep. You need to pay an exhaubitant amount of money each year to support your club, but the club isn't allowed to build a venue where you can go to enjoy a steak and beer with like-minded people. No venue for before and after game entertainment.

Oh and the League shouldn't be reliant on broadcasting money either.
Who said a Leagues Club shouldn't be allowed to sell food and beverages?

I'd actually prefer it if the drunks went to the Leagues Club to watch the game on the TV and let the families enjoy the game from the stands.

Anyone with a brain knows that Leagues Clubs make f**k all from dining. The real profit is from people playing the pokies. Go look at how little the BRL Leagues Clubs generated before 1991 and compare it with today to see my point.

Broadcast revenue should only cover the salary cap and junior development. It shouldn't be squandered on small teams from Sydney. Especially when the traditional NSWRL fans have spent decades arguing against expanding into Adelaide, Melbourne and Perth because of the investment needed to keep professional teams in these markets viable during their formulative years.

It takes some mental gymnastics to argue that so called heartland teams from Sydney should be propped up but expansion sides should be sustainable.

When the Cowboys and Reds entered the ARL in 1995 the NSWRL clubs forced them to cover the travel and accommodation expenses for the Sydney clubs. Sums up the entitlement complex of NSWRL fans.

Pneuma

I think it’s fair to say that we all suffer from life’s insecurities. As such it’s nice to know people like the whinging Pom and the donkey are out there. Maybe we aren’t so bad after all?

siv

or they have to? So hard to know for sure. Bulldogs playing in a decent stadium and improving fan engagement may well lift their $8mill football club revenue to the point they dont need the many millions they draw from the LC, or it may be they are in an oversaturated corporate market with a fanbase not big enough to generate substantial revenue? One day we may find out.
The way to check that us to review the LC asset base

All strong LC's have a $50 mil plus asset base

And thing like FC grants are tax write offs

The FC under a LC not operating at a profit is also a tax mitigation practice

Only when the LC grant is not available will a FC change its revenue genation model

Any news on the Penrith stadium? Is it still going ahead at the track site?

Apart from that one is there any other upgrades/new stadiums confirmed?
Perth rectangular is getting a $35mill upgrade of lighting/ pitch etc for the womens football world cup as we speak
$90million Rebuild of sunshine coast stadium to 16,500 (11,600 seats) capacity for Olympics is planned

anything else confirmed?

Any news on the Penrith stadium? Is it still going ahead at the track site?

Apart from that one is there any other upgrades/new stadiums confirmed?
Perth rectangular is getting a $35mill upgrade of lighting/ pitch etc for the womens football world cup as we speak
$90million Rebuild of sunshine coast stadium to 16,500 (11,600 seats) capacity for Olympics is planned

anything else confirmed?
Will be of not much use one way or the other until the NSW state election. Labor had a policy of not updating any stadia but not sure if that is still the case under their current leader.