Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Future NRL Stadiums

Clarke

Re: Townsville new stadium.

I had to laugh about the article which was about the debate over the capacity.

Who gives a shit about what a Northern Fury board member thinks? They haven't even got a team in that's sports "premier" competition in this country & if in the future they get one back, well they would have to do a lot of work to build their average up from their 4-6k average when in the A-League to 25k.

beave

Rabieh Krayhem was in charge of the cowboys when we had to get financially bailed out of the shit by news, I don't think his opinion on the matter will be even remotely considered.

de$$ie

On the way to a GF and after winning a GF they can only pull around 15k, it is hard to see them troubling a 30k stadium anyteam in the near or distant future. A 25k should be the aim. Looking at this pic I take it back what I seaid about them having one decent end stand, the whole place needs rebuilding.

brookvale1.jpg

lol brookie gets pretty packed on a good day. it doesnt reach capacity much anymore cause most people around here know its an absolute shithole when its a packed house and its less hassle to just watch it on tv.

probably part of the non traveling culture we have developed too.

whether you hate manly or not i still reckon we deserve a decent footy park. i mean you can abandon manly but youre abandoning 1m+ people north of the bridge, disgruntled bears supporters or otherwise.

Billythekid

Re: Townsville new stadium.

I had to laugh about the article which was about the debate over the capacity.

Who gives a shit about what a Northern Fury board member thinks? They haven't even got a team in that's sports "premier" competition in this country & if in the future they get one back, well they would have to do a lot of work to build their average up from their 4-6k average when in the A-League to 25k.

Thought the exact same thing. What a joke it would be to limit the capacity for a non existent team with no hope of getting even a 1/3rd of that limited capacity anyway.

It would also limit the stadiums chances of holding bigger games like Internationals (30K should be enough imo).

Would be fantastic to see it all go through, hopefully if it does they get a slightly better deal than the titans though.

TheRam

lol brookie gets pretty packed on a good day. it doesnt reach capacity much anymore cause most people around here know its an absolute shithole when its a packed house and its less hassle to just watch it on tv.

probably part of the non traveling culture we have developed too.

whether you hate manly or not i still reckon we deserve a decent footy park. i mean you can abandon manly but youre abandoning 1m+ people north of the bridge, disgruntled bears supporters or otherwise.

This.

Build it and they will come. Fair dinkum, some people have no vision or business acumen. People, the ARLC/NRL is at the very beginning of a committed long term membership drive to increase club membership by all clubs to well over 30 000+ in the next 5 years.

How do you think this will be achieved for clubs like Manly if Brookie, in its current state, is all they have?

But if all of a sudden Manly are given a top notch stadium, watch them grow like never before. Otherwise if they are stuck with that same old sh*thole, then good luck trying to sell that to the silvertales.

The game now is finally going professional and the stadiums we have and play out of is a massive part of that. They have to be up there with the best facilities in the country and located where the majority of the people want them, if we want to do this right.

The Manly fans have told us time and time again where they like to see their team play. Now it's up to us/ARLC to make sure that the right decisions for our sport and all the northern beaches fans is made. Just like the most professional sport in the country(AFL) always seems to know how to do, while never using their own money to do so.

I love how dim and narrow minded so many people are. Oh and if you are thinking, 'hey no need to be so insulting', no I'm over listening to such myopic conservative minds, you deserve to be insulted.

gallagher

This.

Build it and they will come. Fair dinkum, some people have no vision or business acumen. People, the ARLC/NRL is at the very beginning of a committed long term membership drive to increase club membership by all clubs to well over 30 000+ in the next 5 years.

How do you think this will be achieved for clubs like Manly if Brookie, in its current state, is all they have?

But if all of a sudden Manly are given a top notch stadium, watch them grow like never before. Otherwise if they are stuck with that same old sh*thole, then good luck trying to sell that to the silvertales.

The game now is finally going professional and the stadiums we have and play out of is a massive part of that. They have to be up there with the best facilities in the country and located where the majority of the people want them, if we want to do this right.

The Manly fans have told us time and time again where they like to see their team play. Now it's up to us/ARLC to make sure that the right decisions for our sport and all the northern beaches fans is made. Just like the most professional sport in the country(AFL) always seems to know how to do, while never using their own money to do so.

I love how dim and narrow minded so many people are. Oh and if you are thinking, 'hey no need to be so insulting', no I'm over listening to such myopic conservative minds, you deserve to be insulted.

Isnt that the argument most Sydney clubs could use to get a new stadium? I cant see the gov building a new ground for one club in one sport.

TheRam

Isnt that the argument most Sydney clubs could use to get a new stadium? I cant see the gov building a new ground for one club in one sport.

Yes sure, but they are the only team that reside and play in Sydney's north , so they must have one. Or do you really think that the majority of their fans will regularly travel over the bridge to watch their team play?

We also need a new 40 000+ all weather stadium strategically placed in the west, right nest to a train station.

And if all my dreams were to ever come true, one built either in Prince Alfred Park or Belmore Park right next to Central Station. Then we are done for Sydney for a very long, long time. Short of such a master stroke, put a roof over the SfS and stick a tram line right in front of the damned thing that goes to central. But that is still not going to motivate tens of thousands to get on multiple public transport systems to go watch the footy every weekend. But one right next to Central is a no brainer, it would be packed every game, every weekend...of that I am sure.

firechild

They don't need to build a whole new stadium for Manly. What Manly needs is a small grandstand built behind the hill with corporate areas, toilets and somewhere to buy food and drinks. The existing grandstand has just been extended (construction during last season affected crowd numbers) with extra corporate areas. The southern and western stands are ok, as is the family (northern) hill. Adding a stand behind the hill maintains the beloved eastern hill while adding several thousand seats which would increase the club's ability to sell allocated seat memberships.

GAZF

They don't need to build a whole new stadium for Manly. What Manly needs is a small grandstand built behind the hill with corporate areas, toilets and somewhere to buy food and drinks. The existing grandstand has just been extended (construction during last season affected crowd numbers) with extra corporate areas. The southern and western stands are ok, as is the family (northern) hill. Adding a stand behind the hill maintains the beloved eastern hill while adding several thousand seats which would increase the club's ability to sell allocated seat memberships.

This was something largely glossed over when stadia upgrades were proposed. I doubt Manly will ever require more than a boutique stadium so a smallish grandstand, with future plans to replace the southern and western stands allows them to remain in the region at the lowest upfront cost.

And if all my dreams were to ever come true, one built either in Prince Alfred Park or Belmore Park right next to Central Station. Then we are done for Sydney for a very long, long time. Short of such a master stroke, put a roof over the SfS and stick a tram line right in front of the damned thing that goes to central. But that is still not going to motivate tens of thousands to get on multiple public transport systems to go watch the footy every weekend. But one right next to Central is a no brainer, it would be packed every game, every weekend...of that I am sure.

Reclaimed airspace between central and redfern!!!

Lol, yeh that will see them right for the next few decades. Manly need a new stadium, the fans are voting with their feet, all the on field success and crowds of 15k should be telling you something.

ek999

Lol, yeh that will see them right for the next few decades. Manly need a new stadium, the fans are voting with their feet, all the on field success and crowds of 15k should be telling you something.

That Manly fans are shit

firechild

Given a capacity of 20K I don't think an average of 15k is too bad. Cold, wet and weeknight games don't sell out no matter which ground.

Isn't that the argument for getting rid of the hill? Which you seem to be against.

At minimum there must be complete stands on either side of the ground.

firechild

Yeah but add a stand that holds about 6000 people behind the hill and you get rid of the 6-8k crowds and replace them with 10-12k. If 10 or 11k is the absolute minimum and large crowds become 25k then the average comes up significantly.

Should stage it. Stage one new major stand replacing the grass hill side similar to hunter or nib new stand. There should be 12k seats undercover with decent views min.
Stage2 replace the other sideline stand. Stage 3 sort out the end stand so it is full undercover seating. They can leave a grass hill at the other end for the rare occasion you get a sunny afternoon game.

Big problem is convincing someone to fund $100mill for a ground that gets used10-11 days a year when the state govt has a clear policy not to do so.

Attendances would disagree with your selective photos! Funny how all those pics depict a sunny afternoon game. Where's the ones on a cold wet Friday/Saturday night?
122084-brookvale-oval.jpg

2012 14593
2011 15296
2010 13816
2009 13782
2008 13694

Personally I happen to think this looks far more impressive than a few thousand stood on a hill

arrow314.jpg

Fans say otherwise:

FlagsOnHill.jpg

nrl-stgeorge-dragons-vs-manly-20100912-04.jpg

441880-the-packed-hill-at-leichhardt-oval.jpg

Thats a weak argument and you know it.

In a perfect world where it never rained during or before the footy , and most of the games were on a sunday afternoon you might have a point.

But 80% of games are played at night time during winter. When its cold and wet on a hill its terrible.

This is modern professional sport.

The side hills need to go asap.

btw- in terms of your pictures , the tigers play 9/12 games at grounds with stands on both sides. They could never play more than a few at leichardt.

And in terms of wollongong they have a side hill but both their ends have stands. And i could be wrong but isnt there an issue with building a stand there so close to the beach?