Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game Day - Factory of Sadness VS. The Clap

snout

Watched second half post brisk beer buzz walk - I guess the hoodoo from 2016 was right - it in reverse, Matt Priors try mirrored flog Canberra intercept.
Brave effort but we got outclassed at the end of the day. If we had won, Canberra fans would rightfully had ever right to conduct its own Viking funeral, to the grandstand - we probally should never have gotten that close.
The refs....yeah nah, only the non sin bin was a real blight, the rest...nah yeahs.
Shame.... lack of SJ really mattered...
And that flog Woods needs to go walk the Kokoda track on his hands in the off season - for a senior player, he lacks everything and his presence Id say is a burden to the squad. Lazy fun loving bloke / no intensity no go forward - nothing. A lot of banter hammers the likes of Phil Bailey or Pomeroy back in the day, but Woods is a deadset flop
Haha..the woods summary.
Gold.
So true.

Same mate. Dodgers fan as well. Soft spot for Cardinals but definitely a dodgers fan. If they don't win the WS this year then they never will. Have a touch of the sharks about them

The rays are the biggest challenge this year

Yeah pitching let them down last year.

Hope that isn’t the Achilles heal again this season.

2012....Sharks Year

Can’t be f**ked reading the thread so apologies if this has been covered. The two killers were Brailey going off....was killing them till then. Intercept on halftime was also crucial. Mucus were pretty fortunate with a few bounces and 50/50’s and the rest is history. Pretty proud of the effort overall and the experience of that game will be to our advantage down the track for the young guys.

Card Shark

Cardy. Mate. U can't defend the ref and NRL for that Tap

No way does that happen again this year

Unfortunately we were a victim of circumstances there & how can we blame the ref.

Stupid Fifita put us in that position with his typical slow down method where he walks a fine line EVERY time!

Have a watch of the press conference mate, our coach agrees we blew it & doesn’t blame the ref at all.

carinashark

You can change younger players to fit the new rules. And the NRL has changed, Fifita, Woodsy and Chad have not.
I did feel sorry for Wade though with his last challenge. That whole play should have been called back. It’s been done before. In future the capt challenge has to be made more definite. Maybe go like the NFL. You only get two per game in the NRL ,it’s important.

Version IV

You can change younger players to fit the new rules. And the NRL has changed, Fifita, Woodsy and Chad have not.
I did feel sorry for Wade though with his last challenge. That whole play should have been called back. It’s been done before. In future the capt challenge has to be made more definite. Maybe go like the NFL. You only get two per game in the NRL ,it’s important.
Quality players adjust Tedesco has adjusted, Papalli as well they are not young, they just put the work in

This is a ridiculous comparison. Both of them have years of NRL experience and are NRL hardened so of course it would be easier to adapt.

Most of our players were coming into NRL from the 10 mph NSW cup expecting to come into the 20 mph NRL but get thrown into the 30 mph instead.

They did exceptionally well to get as far as they did.

Version IV

This is a ridiculous comparison. Both of them have years of NRL experience and are NRL hardened so of course it would be easier to adapt.

Most of our players were coming into NRL from the 10 mph NSW cup expecting to come into the 20 mph NRL but get thrown into the 30 mph instead.

They did exceptionally well to get as far as they did.
The comparison was for Woods, Townsend and Fifita all these guys should have been able to adjust.

Fifita still has issues playing the ball which I still cannot understand while he cannot fix that

The comparison was for Woods, Townsend and Fifita all these guys should have been able to adjust.

Fifita still has issues playing the ball which I still cannot understand while he cannot fix that

Fifita's PTBs are erroneous to your point. Change whatever rule you want but unless it applies specifically addresses his issues he won't change. BTW do you know how hard it is to rise and do a proper PTB when your knees are totally screwed?

Anyway

I'd argue the others did adjust. Especially Woods. He still has one of the quicker PTBs amongst props. He was still running straight and hard. When you read that remember fast doesn't mean hard. He's extremely hard to get on the deck.

Also, you just might need more than 3 players adjusting don't you think?

snout

Unfortunately we were a victim of circumstances there & how can we blame the ref.

Stupid Fifita put us in that position with his typical slow down method where he walks a fine line EVERY time!

Have a watch of the press conference mate, our coach agrees we blew it & doesn’t blame the ref at all.
Watched the presso.
Bomber says we were well on top....until we went away from the game plan.
That right there is on the senior players - namely the captain and halfback.
He aint blaming young players. Yep - not the ref. Not injuries.

President Trump

As soon as Brailey went down I knew that the Raiders would find a way to get back in - 14 points was never going to be enough to win.

The Williams intercept on halftime and the Wade/tap/Wighton try were the nails in the coffin.