Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

General Discussion Thread

tripster

I have mentioned once or twice now a theory I have about the physicality of our side and the affect it is having on opposition teams - with that affect meaning that whomever we play is still somewhat affected (leaving them at less than their best) the following week, increasing the chance that they lose their next game.

I don’t place a great deal of weight on it this early in the season, but it is true that, other than Souths, every team we have beaten has then lost the following week.

It will be interesting to see what happens to the Titans. We left them bruised and battered with a bunch of injuries - I’ll be tipping them to lose to the out of form Cowboys.

OldPanther

Regardless like last season. I expect we had the softest draw line thrown out

Depends. 2016/17 we made the 8 on the back of beating bad teams. We are playing better football but have heaps of injuries so we'll see but if we beat Dragons/Tigers we can certainly claim improvement.

mxlegend99

Facts are what you want them to be! NQ were GFs last year, Parra were top 4. Those are also facts. If both come good and make the 8 by your facts are draw suddenly becomes 'hard'! That it is why it isBS! You can only win the games you have!
We have won 5/6. You want to belittle this by saying it is a soft draw.
Enjoy, dont try to justify!
You're right. Beating the Eels is super impressive.

I mean Manly thrashed them by 50+ points and Eels couldn't score apoint. Raiders thrashed them 13+ and Eels only kicked a penalty goal. But against us we scored the same amount of tries and we only won on goal kicking.

But since they were top 4 last yeat who gives a f**k about how shit they are this year? Hey we beat the 1986 premiers, the 2015 premiers and we are the reigning 2003 premiers. Hand us the title now.

Deadset. Those teams are shit this year. It's as simple as that. Im not not calling us shit or saying we aren't impressive. Im saying we've beaten shit teams (fact) and have no idea where we truly stand until we face a different team. Im being reslisyic. Im enjoying sitting in second buy obviously its too early to say that's where we belong.

Edit
Last year we had 2 huge wins against shit teams in early rounds. Then lost 5 in a row against better teams.

We then started a winning streak as we faced shit teams again. I ghink our Cowboys and Titans games looked great. But I ghought our Knights and Tigers snd Bulldogs thrashing last year were great too.

What was it 3 games we kept teams try less and put 30+ on them?

franklin2323

Depends. 2016/17 we made the 8 on the back of beating bad teams. We are playing better football but have heaps of injuries so we'll see but if we beat Dragons/Tigers we can certainly claim improvement.

See people say that ignoring Parra's just as easy if not easier run last year.

We played 9 top 8 teams
They played 10. One of those were the Storm missing 6 SOO players
They had 14 games at ANZ aswell

So I can't see this year getting anymore respect should we finish top 4

mxlegend99

See people say that ignoring Parra's just as easy if not easier run last year.

We played 9 top 8 teams
They played 10. One of those were the Storm missing 6 SOO players
They had 14 games at ANZ aswell

So I can't see this year getting anymore respect should we finish top 4[/QUOTE]
Beat top 4 teams and we are rightfully a premiership threat. Lose to thrm and were making up the numbers.

Its simple. Beating shit teams is good. But its not what makes you a contender.

Luke Bowden

You're right. Beating the Eels is super impressive.

I mean Manly thrashed them by 50+ points and Eels couldn't score apoint. Raiders thrashed them 13+ and Eels only kicked a penalty goal. But against us we scored the same amount of tries and we only won on goal kicking.

But since they were top 4 last yeat who gives a f**k about how shit they are this year? Hey we beat the 1986 premiers, the 2015 premiers and we are the reigning 2003 premiers. Hand us the title now.

Deadset. Those teams are shit this year. It's as simple as that. Im not not calling us shit or saying we aren't impressive. Im saying we've beaten shit teams (fact) and have no idea where we truly stand until we face a different team. Im being reslisyic. Im enjoying sitting in second buy obviously its too early to say that's where we belong.

I wouldn’t go calling Souths/Cowboys and the Gold Coast, Shit Teams! I think they have just met some teams they couldn’t match.

You’re making to big a deal out of this “Soft Draw” nonsense, it’s the NRL, there is no such thing as an easy game.

The Roosters were expected to pump the Rabbits, they got beaten. The Warriors were expected to beat the Broncos and lost.

mxlegend99

Week 3 of finals. And a decent record against top 4 teams is what it takes for this year to be a success and improvement on the past 2 years. Top 4 is ideal. But more important is making week 3.

mxlegend99

I wouldn’t go calling Souths/Cowboys and the Gold Coast, Shit Teams! I think they have just met some teams they couldn’t match.

You’re making to big a deal out of this “Soft Draw” nonsense, it’s the NRL, there is no such thing as an easy game.

The Roosters were expected to pump the Rabbits, they got beaten. The Warriors were expected to beat the Broncos and lost.
Rightio mate.

Facing out of form teams at the bottom of the ladder doesn't make winning easier.

Edit
If there are no easy games then there shouldnt be any tough games either. If there are tough games. Wouldnt the games that aren't tough be easy by comparison?

There are easy games. All it takes is effort regardless of form to win the easy ones. (For good teams like us) No effort and you can lose to anyone. Easy isnt a gift. Its just an easy win if you actually try.

We're a top 4 roster. Cowboys roster is the only one that compares to ours so far. And thats based on 2017 form. 2018 form they look like a few went one year too many

Luke Bowden

Rightio mate.

Facing out of form teams at the bottom of the ladder doesn't make winning easier.

I would back us to beat anyone at the moment, not because of the teams we have beaten, but the way we have beaten them.
-We’ve held all but one team to 14 points or less.
-Kicking game has been solid.
-Attack improves every game.

But, the most impressive thing is our fitness, we don’t seem to tire, Hook has been winning games without using all his interchanges.

We appear to be the fittest team in the Comp and that will keep us in most games.

For me, at this stage of the comp, is more important then the “Softness of the Draw”.

I would back us to beat anyone at the moment, not because of the teams we have beaten, but the way we have beaten them.

But, the most impressive thing is our fitness, we don’t seem to tire, Hook has been winning games without using all his interchanges.

We appear to be the fittest team in the Comp and that will keep us in most games.

For me, at this stage of the comp, is more important then the “Softness of the Draw”.

Yeah... maybe not the dragons. They’re playing some shit hot footy.

I’m also fascinated to see how we break down the excellent tigers defence.

mxlegend99

Eels average 7.66 points per game.
Their average against us is 10 points per game.

2 teams kept them tryless.

We have played 2 great games of footy. But havent been tested yet. You cant evaluate our form against good teams off beating shit ones.

Manly thrashed Eels 54 nil. Hasnt helped thrm the other weeks. I love our top 17 (mostly) and think if things click its easily top 4. But its honestly way too early to call considering we havent faced a good side yet.

mxlegend99

And if we do beat top 4 sides. Il be getting my grand final tickets and designing a James Maloney premiership tattoo to get.

The past 2 years that has been our weakness. First sign we can win those games and im down for backing us to go all the way. Its ours and Hooks biggest flaw. If Maloney fixes that flaw then theres nothing stopping us except injury.

Luke Bowden

Eels average 7.66 points per game.
Their average against us is 10 points per game.

2 teams kept them tryless.

We have played 2 great games of footy. But havent been tested yet. You cant evaluate our form against good teams off beating shit ones.

Manly thrashed Eels 54 nil. Hasnt helped thrm the other weeks. I love our top 17 (mostly) and think if things click its easily top 4. But its honestly way too early to call considering we havent faced a good side yet.

You evaluate form by watching the way players are playing. We look like a happy fit, strong team.
I’m not suggesting we are going to win every game from here on in.
I’m saying that there isn’t a team in the comp we can’t compete with and I’d back us to beat any of them.

Not because of the teams we are beating, but the way the boys are playing. In every game, including the loss, we finished the stronger team, that’s a pretty good indication your team is going well.

Luke Bowden

Yeah... maybe not the dragons. They’re playing some shit hot footy.

I’m also fascinated to see how we break down the excellent tigers defence.

We’ll beat the dragons and the Tigers by kicking early, turning their forwards around and backing our forward pack to stay in the fight and come home strong.

mxlegend99

You evaluate form by watching the way players are playing. We look like a happy fit, strong team.
I’m not suggesting we are going to win every game from here on in.
I’m saying that there isn’t a team in the comp we can’t compete with and I’d back us to beat any of them.

Not because of the teams we are beating, but the way the boys are playing. In every game, including the loss, we finished the stronger team, that’s a pretty good indication your team is going well.
The quality of opposition has a huge bearing on how a teams form looks. As does how easily you beat them.

Round 1 last year we get destroyed by Dragons.
Round 2 we destroy Tigers
Round 3 we lose to Roosters controversially.
Round 4 we destroy Knights.

At this point our form looks reasonably good. We then lose 5 straight to sit on 2/9 wins.

Those 2 easy games gave impression our form was decent as did a close loss to a top 4 side. Especially knowing we lost due to a controversial call.

But as we faced more quality teams we saw that we werent in as good a form as it looked at the time.

We look good right noe. But we hsvent been tested. Thats a fact. Why is it wrong to say that? Why do people have issue with people being realistic about our results?

Its getting carried away this early that gets fans bagged out for being March/April premiers.

franklin2323

We’ll beat the dragons and the Tigers by kicking early, turning their forwards around and backing our forward pack to stay in the fight and come home strong.

Dragons will get injuries soon enough and we will see how ordinary their roster really is. You go up the guts of the tigers everyone tries to go around them... Though if they don't make the 8 people will forget we played them when they were good

franklin2323

Souths are running 6th. NQ have only had their spine back 2 weeks... people forget it is only round 7