Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Goodbye Joey Leilua.

nick87

Stuart is banking on Sia Soloilia (his cousin) helping keep him in the right frame of mind.
I dont like his chances.

I think he'll kill it for us this year and next, then begin to to get lazy again.

Joker's Wild

Stuart is banking on Sia Soloilia (his cousin) helping keep him in the right frame of mind.
I dont like his chances.

I think he'll kill it for us this year and next, then begin to to get lazy again.

Thats a gamble id not like to be taking if i was Sticky

I honestly would like to see Joey turn it around. At his best he is SOO level good

I give him long odds to do it though and reckon he'll be looking for an ESL contract/playing for Mounties in the backrow by 2017

slotmachine

Yeah, Gags is playing excellent footy at the moment...probably in career best form. It'd be stupid to move him...which is why we'll probably do that haha

Saying that though the season is done so it might be good idea to give Mamo some experience and see how far away he is if he's our fullback plan long-term.

Stone also believes the return of players from injury will add additional depth in the short-term.

“Hopefully we can get Tyrone (Roberts) back and Gidley can go back and play fullback and Gags (Gagai) can go back in the centres,” he said.

Ahahahahah. What a dullard. We can write off 2016 now if he thinks Tyrone is the answer. Hopefully Nathan Brown or Brennan will know what's up for 2017. If they want to take over our f**ked up squad and salary cap situation.

Knight Vision

Mamo at FB i think is what they will go with.

I'd go chanel at centre. Or wing, with jimmy at centre. Seems a shame to move our best (only) attacking weapon from fullback

I would send Jimmy to NSW Cup, Mamo to wing and give him more 1st grade experience before next year. Chanel to partner his brotha. Keep Gags at FB

nick87

Thats a gamble id not like to be taking if i was Sticky

I honestly would like to see Joey turn it around. At his best he is SOO level good

I give him long odds to do it though and reckon he'll be looking for an ESL contract/playing for Mounties in the backrow by 2017

i agree
We apparently went close to getting James Roberts. It's a hellova step back to wind up with BJ.
Im not a fan of this move at all. But we'll see how it goes, Stuart's recruits have been the business for us so far. Austin, Waqa, Hodgson, Sia and Sezer are going to be big parts of any success we have in 2015-16-17

Knight Vision

As much as we all know Gagai is going well at FB, if Mullo is fit I can see Stoney using him and Tui in the halves, Gids back to FB and Gags back in the centres.

I'd rather keep Gids and Mullo in the halves, Gags at FB and bring in a youngster to replace BJ (Chanel maybe).

I agree, and bring Mamo onto the wing in place of Jimmy who has offered nothing this year. It will also allow Mamo to get some confidence in FG before next year.

BJ Released: http://www.canberratimes.com.au/rug...to-join-canberra-raiders-20150614-ghnxiu.html
http://www.nrl.com/knights-take-stand-release-leilua/tabid/10874/newsid/87056/default.aspx

Raiders officials declined to comment on any potential announcement, however Stone admitted the club were engaged in talks on a player swap before the June 30 deadline.

Canberra forwards David Shillington and Mark Nicholls are reportedly involved in the discussions on a swap deal.

"Nothing's been finalised as yet, but we've spoken about a couple of options," Stone said.

"Both clubs have struggled to agree with at this point in time.

"I would suggest if we can't do it within the next week or so, then it's not going to happen."

Is Nicholls any good?I haven't paid any attention to him.

Swarzey

19 first grade games since 2012 (unless the wiki hasn't been updated). Seems like a standard NSW Cup player.

Profile on Nicholls fromhttp://www.raiders.com.au/team/profiles/mark-nicholls.html
After nearly two years away from the bright lights of the NRL, Nicholls is fiercely determined to fight his way back into the Raiders’ top 17 in 2015.

The Gungahlin Bulls junior made his first grade debut back in 2012 and went on to play in 12 appearances that year earning the club’s Rookie of the Year Award at the Meninga Medal Presentation Night.

Unfortunately, in 2013 Nicholls suffered the misfortune of breaking his arm and thus halting his progress. Nicholls was one of Mounties most consistent players in 2014, earning a VB NSW Cup representative jumper, however he was still unable to regain his place in the NRL.

Nicholls is one of the club's fittest front-rowers aerobically and capable of getting through a mountain of work in the middle of the field. Despite being nicknamed ‘pencil’ by Paul Vaughan, the former Junior Kangaroo is also exceptionally tough.

The 25 year old is most definitely one of the club’s ‘brains’ with Nicholls studying a Masters of Business Administration at the University of Canberra.

Since moving back to the ACT from France, team mate Sam Williams has moved in with Nicholls.

Junior Kangaroo in 2010.

Seems he can't get a spot in NRL but has shown promise that has been held back by injury.

Cuppy

Profile on Nicholls fromhttp://www.raiders.com.au/team/profiles/mark-nicholls.html

Junior Kangaroo in 2010.

Seems he can't get a spot in NRL but has shown promise that has been held back by injury.

An honest toiler, comes in and does the job he's asked to do. He's no impact player but gets that job done. I think he's a good first reserve type player to come in when one of you forwards gets an injury.

He was probably having his best year earlier this year before he had a check bone injury. In saying that it's only really his 2nd year in first grade, Sticky didn't pick him at all last year.

Noname36

Ahahahahah. What a dullard. We can write off 2016 now if he thinks Tyrone is the answer. Hopefully Nathan Brown or Brennan will know what's up for 2017. If they want to take over our f**ked up squad and salary cap situation.

Hahahaha why the hell do we keep making stupid positional changes to accomodate the biggest cancer in the team at the moment (Roberts)? It's madness. Another telling thing about that quote is that there's no mention of Mullen coming back, only Roberts. I say he'll be out for the rest of the season. Might go put some cash on us for the spoon while the odds are still okay. We're certainties.

Noname36

i agree
We apparently went close to getting James Roberts. It's a hellova step back to wind up with BJ.
Im not a fan of this move at all. But we'll see how it goes, Stuart's recruits have been the business for us so far. Austin, Waqa, Hodgson, Sia and Sezer are going to be big parts of any success we have in 2015-16-17

At least with BJ's attitude problem and lack of fitness being well publicised Stuart will be well aware of what he's getting himself into. He might have a plan there...and hey, I can guarantee you will benefit from him in the short term because he'll briefly go great guns to stick it to his old club like he did for us initially. He really needs to lose some weight and have an attitude adjustment though.

If we had the luxury of a decent forward pack I would have demanded Croker as the swap. I think he is unlucky not be playing origin. Quality and consistency all the way.

Noname36

We don't need Croker. In fact the last thing we need is another back. We can cover BJ in the centres I think.

nick87

Nicholls is a pretty good young player
He's got a good skill set for today's game, very mobile and has good footwork, pretty good around the f**k defensively
But he isn't a game breaker, he just does his job well without fuss. I wouldn't lose any sleep if he left us though, which probably tells the story

macavity

relax guys, Mids got us some magic beans and is going to talk to the giant at the top of the beanstalk about playing prop for us.

He will probably sign with the Broncos for less than we offer though.