Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gould reviewing Dragons.

jak

If your aim is to keep the coach, then it’s a reasonable suggestion...

Problem is, while Brown gets fired, we think it’s ok.

The example of the eels and manly are both very reasonable to consider. After backing Mary earlier, I feel uneasy with the mental disintegration that has taken the team, and I feel unconvinced that this solution is the best for us.

The cost of what they consider seems on par to hiring a new coach and paying out Mary.

I really need to consider my membership...
except for the last line great post mate.

TruSaint

Review finds Dragons need trusted advisor – someone like Gus

By Adrian Proszenko
September 21, 2019 — 9.48pm

Phil Gould has tabled his review into St George Illawarra, but his work at the club may not be over.

Gould and the Dragons football department have submitted their reviews following the joint-venture outfit’s 15th-placed finish, the worst in the club’s history. One of the key findings is the need to bolster the Red V brains trust to ensure coach Paul McGregor has experienced sounding boards around him. That includes creating a new ‘‘adviser’’ position, someone with the football nous and expertise to help turn the joint-venture outfit around. Someone like Gould.

While some coaches would feel threatened by the prospect of having someone of Gould’s stature involved in their organisation, McGregor welcomes the prospect. The way ‘‘Mary’’ sees it, having a premiership-winning mentor – the most successful NSW coach in State of Origin history – can only be of benefit. If Gould can’t commit to the role, other experienced football minds will be considered.

The review also suggests bringing specialist coaching consultants into the inner sanctum. Someone of the ilk of Matthew Johns, who has previously helped clubs develop playmakers, would fit the bill if available. There may also be a restructure of the roles of the assistant coaches. One of the main themes to emerge from Gould’s review is the need for the club to properly establish its culture. It became apparent there isn’t a definitive DNA that defines the Dragons.

What does it mean to pull on the Red V? What are the values the wider organisation stands for? It’s likely an outside facilitator will be engaged to help define club culture from the top down.

The need for strong foundations was highlighted when the review analysed the Jack de Belin situation. The impact of the star forward’s sexual assault charges was felt right across the club, with some of his teammates’ partners having strong opinions on the matter.

That led to some awkward situations in social settings, normally an opportunity to solidify bonds within the extended Dragons family.

The cultural issue is important, given there were no red flags raised from reviewing the Dragons’ physical performance. The injury rates over the past four years have been relatively low, while all the stats suggest the players are fit and well prepared.

The Dragons haven’t much room to move salary cap wise next year, but the need to strengthen their winger stocks was identified.

The Dragons board has now gone away to consider the review.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/re...advisor-someone-like-gus-20190921-p52tmq.html

LMAO.......

WE have no cap space, need wingers and a few "assistants" or as the article says "sounding boards" to coach the coach. Thats the funniest f**kin review ever.

Carlton

So its about another position created to help Mary along the way .... If he ( Mary ) is not up to it then Sack him ..... Wasn't there also a group that came in a couple of years ago also to oversee Mary's coaching , gee that went well ..

I can't convey how gutted I am after seeing this story. If the board act on this advice (which sounds like it was written by McGregor) I feel like there is no point in supporting SGI any more.

If a board of directors can continuously make disastrous decisions which affect so many thousands of fans just to benefit a few individuals, then they have made it perfectly clear I am not wanted as a supporter. It gets to the point where you can no longer stomach having the piss taken of you.

As a supporter I can't change anything, I have no voice and can only look forward to the same few incompetents driving the club into the ground year after year into the future. I cant believe I'm saying this but, the result is, if this story comes to fruitition, I think I will be done with rugby league.

hazzbeen

I can't convey how gutted I am after seeing this story. If the board act on this advice (which sounds like it was written by McGregor) I feel like there is no point in supporting SGI any more.

If a board of directors can continuously make disastrous decisions which affect so many thousands of fans just to benefit a few individuals, then they have made it perfectly clear I am not wanted as a supporter. It gets to the point where you can no longer stomach having the piss taken of you.

As a supporter I can't change anything, I have no voice and can only look forward to the same few incompetents driving the club into the ground year after year into the future. I cant believe I'm saying this but, the result is, if this story comes to fruitition, I think I will be done with rugby league.
Feel the same , its like they want to self destruct ... Stay with us mate , he will go but it might be to late when it happens.....

Carlton

Feel the same , its like they want to self destruct ... Stay with us mate , he will go but it might be to late when it happens.....

Do you know if past players support McGregor?

It would be good to see a number of the first grade past players speaking up and calling for change. You see this at other clubs but not at SGI.

blacksafake

What a load of BS.
So L plate now becomes LL plate & Gould suggests a senior figure (most likely himself) to be brought in to help him.
Did the review go something like this.
BJ, “ what do you reckon Gus?
Gus, “I’m looking for another gig”.
BJ, “Welcome to the boys club”.
As for Matty Johns I can’t stand the bloke but he seems to have a good record of mentoring halves.

BLM01

Review finds Dragons need trusted advisor – someone like Gus

By Adrian Proszenko
September 21, 2019 — 9.48pm

Phil Gould has tabled his review into St George Illawarra, but his work at the club may not be over.

Gould and the Dragons football department have submitted their reviews following the joint-venture outfit’s 15th-placed finish, the worst in the club’s history. One of the key findings is the need to bolster the Red V brains trust to ensure coach Paul McGregor has experienced sounding boards around him. That includes creating a new ‘‘adviser’’ position, someone with the football nous and expertise to help turn the joint-venture outfit around. Someone like Gould.

While some coaches would feel threatened by the prospect of having someone of Gould’s stature involved in their organisation, McGregor welcomes the prospect. The way ‘‘Mary’’ sees it, having a premiership-winning mentor – the most successful NSW coach in State of Origin history – can only be of benefit. If Gould can’t commit to the role, other experienced football minds will be considered.

The review also suggests bringing specialist coaching consultants into the inner sanctum. Someone of the ilk of Matthew Johns, who has previously helped clubs develop playmakers, would fit the bill if available. There may also be a restructure of the roles of the assistant coaches. One of the main themes to emerge from Gould’s review is the need for the club to properly establish its culture. It became apparent there isn’t a definitive DNA that defines the Dragons.

What does it mean to pull on the Red V? What are the values the wider organisation stands for? It’s likely an outside facilitator will be engaged to help define club culture from the top down.

The need for strong foundations was highlighted when the review analysed the Jack de Belin situation. The impact of the star forward’s sexual assault charges was felt right across the club, with some of his teammates’ partners having strong opinions on the matter.

That led to some awkward situations in social settings, normally an opportunity to solidify bonds within the extended Dragons family.

The cultural issue is important, given there were no red flags raised from reviewing the Dragons’ physical performance. The injury rates over the past four years have been relatively low, while all the stats suggest the players are fit and well prepared.

The Dragons haven’t much room to move salary cap wise next year, but the need to strengthen their winger stocks was identified.

The Dragons board has now gone away to consider the review.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/re...advisor-someone-like-gus-20190921-p52tmq.html
Gus review to hire Gus..I like it and agree with most
1. It proves injuries are not the reason
2. Culture has been eroded to poor in house decisions made to recruitment in all football matters players, staff since 2010-11
3. Blaming the girls behind the scenes has upset internal mate and and boy bonds is a crock of poo .....what did they expect as naturally there would of been split factions in respect to JDB's pending charges and the girls would of had their strong opinions on the matter. What should of that had to do with playing and training good footy
4. Wingers Yes...but keep going, depth, front rower, centre, player / team selections..but if we have no money...start somewhere at least
Now what good wingers are available?
5. The club already has its values & DNA definition.
Dragons Footy...Price used to say the same thing.
Ask Mary. Our past is not our future.
6. i'd sack mary, bring in a new coach say Toovey with Flanno as his asst

We dont need an outside facilitator to define its culture from top / down. Any true fan can do it for you....but Gus would do.. Jobs for boys need to be eradicated and looking at past players to help the club out moving forward.
Although I think most of us could of done that review.
Lucky it cost the club nothing ;)...yet

A trusted advisor ? Surely he could had suggested another path to follow - that being to get rid of the roadblock that has been causing all of this mental anguish that the players ( and the team supporters) have endured throughout his tenure.

No too simple , so let’s go the long way around.
Towards the end of last nights Storm / Eels match Gus explained to all and sundry how the Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy had watched in great detail his teams previous lost to the Raiders and by so doing had identified a number of areas that had contributed to the loss . The man had gone to the umpteen degree in an attempt to correct the mistakes ( and very minor mistakes they were ) the point being is that this particular coach left no stone unturned to ensure that his players would put in a better performance a week later . Mary simply repeats the same mistakes every time whereas Bellamy rigorously dissects the evidence at hand so as eventually he will find a solution to the problem .

That is what good coached do , although in Bellamy’s case he ranks with the very best of them . Yes he has assistants but advisors , I doubt that very much indeed . For that matter how many other NRL coaches would have this ‘ special person ‘ ? Really no one , I know that political ministers do but our Mary although missing the most basic acumen that a rugby league coach requires that being common sense , does not require an advisor , only the golden boot to get the man as far away from the Dragons as is humanly possible. For him to come out of this with a pass mark shows that those doing the review have failed in the very job that they were there for - to identify exactly what the problems were with the teams 15 th place finish to the season.

Lastly I can only say that thank goodness this review was done for nothing as that is exactly what it is worth - nothing.