Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gower in Fight

The Rhino

Take note of the date of the article that El Diablo posted (here's the link to that article I am talking about - http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21213787-23214,00.html), Skeepe.

Here's a couple of articles for you to compare dates:
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,10117,21224251-2,00.html?from=public_rss
Note, this article is dated the 14th and as of the previous night, the bloke who has complained to police HAD YET TO DO SO, had vowed to make a formal complaint.

This next article is dated 15th and the complaint has been made to police just the previous evening:
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,10117,21228693-421,00.html?from=public_rss

So obviously you read what you want to read, and my previous post of posters having a problem with Gower or the club and wanting to hang them NO MATTER WHAT stands.

Dave Q

Not at all Rhino, people are just offering their own views, opinions and insights on the matter.

I reckon these people are entitled to possess and ennounciate different views within the forum rules.

If that doesnt accord with the official Panther viewpoint, so be it.

Its not rocket science.

*Sandy*

gunnamatta bay said:
Selective reasoning? What about the repetitive posts from members who can't seem to grasp that Gower is under investigation by NSW Police and until such time as they or the DPP rule whether a crime has been committed or there is insufficient evidence to prosecute then people like Mr. Leary should butt out.

No I just like telling Dave he hasnt controlled my mind with his poor attempts at hypnotism.

I didnt realise that there were people who didnt know Gower was under investigation. You must be talking about people who don't read a newspaper, watch the television, listen to the radio or own a computer with internet access. :crazy:

I don't get why you think people like Mr Leary need to butt out. It is his job to cover and report back to both the board, the NRL and to the fans.

*Sandy*

Dave Q said:
Well, I cant see where I have raised possible charges and possible penalties before PK.

Apart from Common Assault and those related offences, there is another charge known as "Intimidation" that the Police might look into as well. It has different elements.

It primarily depends upon what the witnesses say.

Nobody is permitted to interfere with witnesses or make suggestions to them.

As I said, only a few people were there and their recollections might be different anyway.

People often interpret the same things differently.

I note you have left out the repititive boring bit. lol. I'll always be two steps ahead. ;-)

Caged Panther

People should also be aware that the guy who's conducted the investigation into gower's antic, Mick Leary, isn't totally clueless on such matters being an ex-policeman.

gunnamatta bay

Caged Panther said:
People should also be aware that the guy who's conducted the investigation into gower's antic, Mick Leary, isn't totally clueless on such matters being an ex-policeman.

Really? I thought Kings Cross Detectives were conducting the inquiry. Silly me.

Maybe you mean ex cop and now Penrith GM Leary has jumped the gun in declaring Gower totally innocent of anything. From what I read yesterday there are two separate allegations and the witnesses are providing statements.

gunnamatta bay

OUCH! A letter to todays SMH:

http://www.smh.com.au/news/sport/li...simply-dont-mix/2007/02/16/1171405444521.html

Little white lies and thin blue lines simply don't mix
•
•
February 17, 2007

So the police have to resort to lying to encourage a victim of crime not to report the crime? ("Club backs Gower as police receive formal complaint", SMH February 15.) If the victim had been a fellow officer would they have been content with "what comes around goes around"?
Steve Partridge, Marrickville

gunnamatta bay

Poor Gowie:

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,21237481-5006066,00.html

Enough is enough
February 17, 2007 12:00
Article from:
PENRITH'S Craig Gower would have been one of those kids at school who was the quintessential "bad influence" and "wrong crowd" written about in report cards.
He is the kind of bloke my mother warned me about when I started going out to nightclubs.
"Steer clear of the troublemakers and the ones full of booze,'' she would say. "They hunt in packs and think they are better than anyone else in the place. They are bullies.''
Gower's talent for football has meant he has really never had to reform his boyhood ways. You can't help but think if the man wasn't possessed of such talent, he would have been turfed out of the game long ago.
Sadly, he hasn't been, and sadly, it doesn't look like he will be any time soon.
A quick look at Gower's well-documented decade of bad deeds reads like a criminal record: fined $100,000 after groping the daughter of legend Wayne Pearce during a drunken rampage at the Gold Coast; dumped as Penrith skipper; fined $3000 for breaking Origin camp and going on a - you guessed it - drunken binge; sacked before his Kangaroos debut for exposing himself to a backpacker during a team bonding session at Coogee.
Last weekend, Gower was at it again in a Kings Cross nightclub. He and his mates were turned away from one club before they found a star-struck bouncer who turned a blind eye to their obviously drunken state.
What happened next is the subject of a police investigation.
We do know the allegations: that Gower behaved very badly in the club. He was drunk and abusive. He approached at least one woman and behaved appallingly towards her.
The one common thread here is alcohol. Gower can't hold his grog, his mates say. They reckon he is a lovely bloke "normally'' but no good when he has had too much.
That is a cop-out.
Craig Gower is a badly behaved rugby league player who continues to get away with it because he is apparently a good bloke most of the time. He has been ducking for cover ever since.
Astonishingly, the club backed him up without really investigating the incident.
They claimed the whole thing was a beat-up and then refusedto rule out naming him as captain for 2007.
His coach, Matt Elliott, reckons Gower's behaviour is acceptable because it was out of season.
Elliott is kidding himself if he believes that. If you earn $400,000 a year as an elite athlete, you behave like an elite athlete all year round.
Gower himself appears to be in denial. "I'm not going to get charged with nothing,'' he told waiting media this week. It seems that in his mind, at least, not getting charged clears him of any wrongdoing.
The notion that Gower should be put out of the game is one that the NRL is dodging. It is a familiar story. The NRL says it is a club issue. The club says if the police do not charge Gower, the matter will be closed. And so it goes.
More bad behaviour will inevitably follow.
Rugby league players behaving badly is not new. But rugby league players who behave badly again and again are a blight on the game.
St George's Wes Naiqama is a repeat offender. His bottom was saved by a posse of Dragons players who voted that he should be given another chance.
One of those players was Mark Gasnier, whose own misdemeanours were well documented during a State of Origin drunken binge.
Apparently, players believe they are the ones best equipped to judge these things.
Elements of the rugby league media don't help either. I can't wait for the first Footy Show of the year when Gower will no doubt be a special guest and Fatty will tell us he is one of the nicest blokes in footy.
"All forgiven mate, sweet as a nut,'' he will say.
Then they will introduce his now long-suffering wife, Amanda Flynn, who has remained silent as her husband slides off the rails.
Craig Gower is not a nice bloke.
He has behaved in an offensive and threatening way towards innocent bystanders who will probably never get the chance to see him when he is pleasant and sober.
NRL boss David Gallop can't put every badly behaved player out of the game. There would be footy fields full of them if he did that.
But he and Penrith can make an example of a high-profile player like Gower by saying enough is enough. He should not be captain.
He should be fined heavily and told he can't play until he checks himself into rehab.

•

Caged Panther

gunnamatta bay said:
Really? I thought Kings Cross Detectives were conducting the inquiry. Silly me.

Maybe you mean ex cop and now Penrith GM Leary has jumped the gun in declaring Gower totally innocent of anything. From what I read yesterday there are two separate allegations and the witnesses are providing statements.

You knew damn well that's what I meant.

*Sandy*

Gunna, with regard to your quoted reply of Caged Panthers post. Mick Leary has/had a duty to report. I'm sure the NRL will hold onto and await for the results of the current police investigation before making a comment/verdict.

The NRL is awaiting a report on the incident from Penrith.
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21227465-23214,00.html

With regard to the current news article from the Daily Tele, do we know who wrote it?
I read it this morning but couldnt find a name to the article. I'm pretty sure there a few discrepancies in it in regards to this paragraph:

A quick look at Gower's well-documented decade of bad deeds reads like a criminal record: fined $100,000 after groping the daughter of legend Wayne Pearce during a drunken rampage at the Gold Coast; dumped as Penrith skipper; fined $3000 for breaking Origin camp and going on a - you guessed it - drunken binge; sacked before his Kangaroos debut for exposing himself to a backpacker during a team bonding session at Coogee

Correct me if I am wrong, but I thought the groping incident is and remains *alleged* and he was fined for bringing the club in disrepute by being drunk at a charity function.

The breaking of origin camp incident, I didnt think he was found going on a drunken binge. Guilty of being in a Casino in the early hours? Doesn't mean he was drunk, does it?

Panther

Rebecca Wilson was the name on it. but you have to wonder if someone higher up the ladder in Newsltd wants Gower out of the game entirely.

ozbash

Correct me if I am wrong, but I thought the groping incident is and remains *alleged* and he was fined for bringing the club in disrepute by being drunk at a charity function.

*alleged* in Panthers eyes only PK.

Panther said:
Rebecca Wilson was the name on it. but you have to wonder if someone higher up the ladder in Newsltd wants Gower out of the game entirely.
So its a conspiracy?

It all due respect, spreading rumours around like that is not the best way to win the PR battle.

Dave Q

It seems someone wanted Wes out of the game.

They followed him, took photographs of him and the photographer was even prepared to give evidence.

I dont think Gunna is so much pro-media as he is questioning Leary and the decision of the club to come into the fray very, very early and in the absence of a complete understanding of the issues. Gunna can correct me if I am wrong.

If I am right, I concurr with Gunna on these matters, but that doesnt mean Gowie is guilty of anything or indeed that the club was not entitled to comment when they did.

But if Gower is found guilty of something, people may think less of the club. Their good name may be brought into disrepute.

If Leary & Co had shut up, this unpleasant contingency, would not even be a possiblity.

They made a call, rolled the dice, and for better or worse, they will wear the consequences.

Gower probably has no understanding of how grateful and humble he should be.

Dave Q said:
It seems someone wanted Wes out of the game.
lol. Wouldn't have been issue if he didnt sit in the driver's seat.

Wes was charged with driving while disqualified, Gower hasn't been charged with anything yet.

Nevertheless, the Dragons club were very guarded about what thet said officially, choosing their words carefully, and stressed that due process had to take place.

*Sandy*

ozbash said:

Whatever Ozbash. :roll: The Pierce family were reportedly happy enough with how the Penrith management handled it.

ozbash said:

i wasn't aware you spoke for the supporters of every other club in the comp