Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gymea Hotel re-opening soon FYI

SirShire

newman said:
Ah, but you will travel my son. You will travel and see the big, bad world and you will shake your head with annoyed regret at your naive affinity and pride of your area, its pub and its people.

Doubtful old boy, doubtful. I can see myself sipping reisling at the wine bars in Paris, smashing cans at the dockside taverns in a snow bound Halifax, dribbling bourborn as the now defunct birthplace of punk CBGBs in New York, cutting loose at the Karaoke bars in Honkers and everywhere in Sydney from the Shangri La at the Quay to The Iron Duke bar in Alexandria and alot of places in between - and thinking to myself, that these place just aren't Northies.

May I ask that for a man who seems so angry with the Shire culture, the people who live it and the general way of life in the area - why exactly did you choose to settle right in the heart of this fine area?

jc155776

SirShire wait till you come to Townsville and appreciate a real pub and real bars.

The CSSC people all agree...

newman said:

These are the dribblings of a sycophant who has obviously never been to a decent pub in their life. You like northies because the beer is cold! Freaking hell. Every pub in Sydney has cold beer.

At a decent pub, the barkeep will flash you a smile, make some polite conversation and act like its a pleasure to pour you your chosen poison. At Northies, you get the grunt of some mindless pre teen who makes you feel like their doing you a favour by pouring you a beer.

At a decent pub, the decor is interesting, aesthetic, funtional and mature. At Northies you got a Swedish minamilists wet dream and the colour scheme of a day care centre.

At a decent pub, they play a mix of interesting music. Covering all styles but mainly focussing on Edgy rock, accessible punk, dance rock and rootsy chill out, depending on the mood. Or a jukebox with a wide selection. At Northies you get Lynyrd Skynard and House.

At a decent pub you get a mix of punters, from construction workers to suits, athletes to arty types, old timers to surfers and everyone in between. At Northies you get that Guy with his pastel polo collar turned up and that chick with tight jeans, an odd fitting garish aqua top and big jewellry.

At a decent pub A pizza doesnt cost you 20 bucks. At northies it does.

At a decent pub, you can stand where you like. At Northies, you cant. And these areas that are ok to stand in change week to week at the discretion of some geniused gorilla.

I could go on all night.

Northies is a pretensious (sp), overpriced sh*t hole. If you want that trendy, upper class wine bar scene go to Paddington.

Top post :clap: Newman has mirrored my feelings on what has gone missing in the Pub culture... It still exsists but usually it is a small country pub that is privately owned but the small clientelle is mostly pretty ordinary to say the least.

SirShire

jc155776 said:
SirShire wait till you come to Townsville and appreciate a real pub and real bars.

The CSSC people all agree...

How about you come down here for a game and I'll show you a sunday evening on the tin? Gold Coast/Brisbane are looking like the best QLD trips for me anyway. Who could resist a weekend in Caville Ave/The Valley (FAMILY!).

jc155776

Hahahaha deal when I come down.

To be honest only ever walked past Northies when i was underage.

However Gold Coast is awesome and I will be there with bells on.

The Valley is good as well. Head to the Mustang Bar for a good time without the pretentious pricks as well!

Dont go to Family on some Sundays though. Unless your pillow biter. Which is in no way a bad thing.

newman

Growing up in Illawong, the Bangor Tav was an old stomping ground of mine for a long time. Until very recently, it was a run down sh*thole, fuelled by violence. The consortium that owns the Intersection at Ramsgate and a couple of other pubs bought it, did it up and pulled it out of the doldrums and now its great.

My friend got stabbed there a couple of weeks ago.

Aside from that its a good pub.

Question: Who likes kids in pubs? I HATE going to the pub and having to see screaming, neglected brats running rampant in the bistro while their parents numbly sink piss. Bangor Tavern back bar has alot of that action.

jc155776

I use to be one of those neglected kids. Learnt all I know about horses, beer and pokies in a little local Hobartian Hotel.

Good times and the knowledge has served me well now.

I could not imagine the embarressment some of my mates face not knowing how to fill out a TAB ticket come cup time...

cheese

The main thing northies is lacking above all else is character

My local for years was a sh*tty pub in surry hills called the K.B. .....Nothing beats a pub where you're on a 1st name basis with all the baries and the owner. The food has to be awesome and at a decent price. Nothing would beat a cold winter night sitting in the K.B. smacking a few schooners whilst playing trivia, or listening to an acoustic set. Good times.

Surry hills has all of my favourite pubs tbh ...maybe its just because i know them all, but they're all quaint little sh*tpits with lifes of their own. From the excelsior to the australian, i love them all. Great place.

As a reformed Northies addict who now knows better, I'm with newman.

I also sympathise with his point about hating the joint, but still ending up there.

I used to like it, now f**king hate it, absolute merkin of a joint, yet all my local friends who hardly ever leave the Shire always want to go there...meaning I end up there all too frequently.

It's a heartless, soulless sh*t heap.

groggo

newman said:
Growing up in Illawong, the Bangor Tav was an old stomping ground of mine for a long time. Until very recently, it was a run down sh*thole, fuelled by violence. The consortium that owns the Intersection at Ramsgate and a couple of other pubs bought it, did it up and pulled it out of the doldrums and now its great.

My friend got stabbed there a couple of weeks ago.

Aside from that its a good pub.

Question: Who likes kids in pubs? I HATE going to the pub and having to see screaming, neglected brats running rampant in the bistro while their parents numbly sink piss. Bangor Tavern back bar has alot of that action.

yep very true about the kids in the bistro / back bar

do what i do ignore it hehe :D

they still pour a good beer and the bistros good and cheap as well

newman

Cheese, did you ever go to the Hollywood in Surry Hills? Now thats a pub.

I think ive been to the KB. Super cheap beer? And a guy whos been living upstairs for like 30 years.... Its just down from the Excelsior?

cheese

haha ...yea thats the one newmie ...The guy who lives upstairs is always doing his arse on the pokies...funny guy. The publican is also one of the hardest merkins ive ever encountered, when he asks you to leave, you leave. They also had a cattle dog who lived in there..... (Update: My gf just told me that John recently sold it, so it may not be the same anymore)

Been to the hollywood a couple of times ....Awesome pub. My main haunts were closer to Foveaux street though. Forresters is also an awesome pub, it's a bit more modern and girlfriend friendly ....It's a couple of blocks further up the hill from Ex. They're all great pubs in their own way around their I reckon.

lolesi

Frenzy. said:
Great little watering hole the BT. Too bad they stopped the Trivia though.

Wednesday nights they have trivia mate, came 2nd the other night actually!