Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gymea Hotel re-opening soon FYI

SirShire said:
Someone (Gunna I think) mentioned how good if would be if Cronulla RSL knocked off the rear bowling green and turned it into a massive beer garden. That would be amazing.

That's my dream. Thing is they own the car park across the road so they could build an underground car park there and have a bowling green (or two) at street level so there's no loss of amenities, then turn the bowling green near the surf club into a massive beergarden with the best view over the beaches.

MY ADVICE TO THE NEW OWNERS OF THE PHOENIX THAT WAS ONCE CALLED THE GYMEA REX....
"It has risen from the ashes"

Get rid of the pokies... Get rid of the wall to ceiling carpet.... shove the Keno up someones arse..... retile the floors with little ceremic white and yellow tiles.. something you can clean up with a good flushing hose.

Re-introduce the SP in the corner... have the bloke that comes around on Thursday and Friday Nights selling the footy doubles... bring him back. Get big titted barmaids (is of exceptional importance) not ones that you have to drink 13 schooners before they start to look half alright.

Piss off all of them alchohol flavoured drinks... if you guys want to drink watermelon flavoured vodka then head off down to the nearest gay bar.

The world as we know it went downhill when they introduced "two dogs f**king" Lemonade.

Reopen the Ladies Lounge and piss all the women out of the main bar area. Why, what decent woman would want to be seen in a "mans" Bar.

Put all the kids out under a tree with Mum, and slip the little snotty nosed brats a red drink and a bag of smiths crisps every hour.

And if some poor old punter wanted to light up his Champion Ruby then he bloody well should be able to.

Get some ethnics coming through the bar selling cheap bags of fresh cooked prawns .

Now that would be the makings of a bloody good pub.

Whatever happened to them... f**k progress..

Declared Idiot #88

newman

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I fail to comprehend this hatred towards the finest waterhole in all of Sydney.

Security isn't too bad if you're not a clown, girls are all ways attractive, the beers are cold (albeit slightly expensive, but who gives), and the dancefloor is always an option (although probably not the best as I have found out many a time). What more could one want in a pub? To top it off, its only a short stroll from the Shire's premier nightspot (2 Rooms 2 Worlds) and from world class international cuisine such as Gilles, Handi Gandi or Tarkan's

These are the dribblings of a sycophant who has obviously never been to a decent pub in their life. You like northies because the beer is cold! Freaking hell. Every pub in Sydney has cold beer.

At a decent pub, the barkeep will flash you a smile, make some polite conversation and act like its a pleasure to pour you your chosen poison. At Northies, you get the grunt of some mindless pre teen who makes you feel like their doing you a favour by pouring you a beer.

At a decent pub, the decor is interesting, aesthetic, funtional and mature. At Northies you got a Swedish minamilists wet dream and the colour scheme of a day care centre.

At a decent pub, they play a mix of interesting music. Covering all styles but mainly focussing on Edgy rock, accessible punk, dance rock and rootsy chill out, depending on the mood. Or a jukebox with a wide selection. At Northies you get Lynyrd Skynard and House.

At a decent pub you get a mix of punters, from construction workers to suits, athletes to arty types, old timers to surfers and everyone in between. At Northies you get that Guy with his pastel polo collar turned up and that chick with tight jeans, an odd fitting garish aqua top and big jewellry.

At a decent pub A pizza doesnt cost you 20 bucks. At northies it does.

At a decent pub, you can stand where you like. At Northies, you cant. And these areas that are ok to stand in change week to week at the discretion of some geniused gorilla.

I could go on all night.

Northies is a pretensious (sp), overpriced sh*t hole. If you want that trendy, upper class wine bar scene go to Paddington.

newman

And every prick on earth has a nightmare story about the security at Northies being unreasonable, heavy handed and just a downright joke.

newman

Nah Mullet. But I am pissed off at this news that there will be no new pubs in Cronulla. I just spent craploads of money to buy a place here and I really hate Northies. But I love drinking. So I end up there all the time. I was holding out hope that a half decent place would open up, but alas, it aint gonna happen.

SirShire

newman said:
These are the dribblings of a sycophant who has obviously never been to a decent pub in their life. You like northies because the beer is cold! Freaking hell. Every pub in Sydney has cold beer.

I don't like Northies. I love it.

newman said:
At a decent pub, the barkeep will flash you a smile, make some polite conversation and act like its a pleasure to pour you your chosen poison. At Northies, you get the grunt of some mindless pre teen who makes you feel like their doing you a favour by pouring you a beer.

Like it or lump it big boy. Do you go to the pub to chat to the barstaff about the state of world politics? I pay them to get me my drink - nothing more, nothing less.

newman said:
At a decent pub, the decor is interesting, aesthetic, funtional and mature. At Northies you got a Swedish minamilists wet dream and the colour scheme of a day care centre.

What do you think of the decor at Caringbah Inn? The new Gymea? Any other newly refurbished establishment in Sydney? Again, like it or lump it. I sure as hell dont go to the pub with the intention of writing a critique for the next issue of Better Homes & Gardens. Don't like colours Newmz? Sports bar mate.

newman said:
At a decent pub, they play a mix of interesting music. Covering all styles but mainly focussing on Edgy rock, accessible punk, dance rock and rootsy chill out, depending on the mood. Or a jukebox with a wide selection. At Northies you get Lynyrd Skynard and House.

Maybe we should get you a gig there Newman. Let's see if you can keep the Sports Bar going for an evening with your band. Let the punters decide?

newman said:
At a decent pub you get a mix of punters, from construction workers to suits, athletes to arty types, old timers to surfers and everyone in between. At Northies you get that Guy with his pastel polo collar turned up and that chick with tight jeans, an odd fitting garish aqua top and big jewellry.

Rubbish. The beauty of the place is the crowd it attracts. From the daddy's princesses to the dodgy emos that no one acknowledges. From the reserve grader rugby league players to Australian test cricketers. From surfers to poor uni students. From old bastards to 40 y.o. women at a ladies' nigh tout. Always a diverse bunch.

newman said:
At a decent pub A pizza doesnt cost you 20 bucks. At northies it does.

Doesn't Gilles float your boat mate?

newman said:
At a decent pub, you can stand where you like. At Northies, you cant. And these areas that are ok to stand in change week to week at the discretion of some geniused gorilla.

Common sense. Don't block a thoroughfare and you won't get asked to move.

newman said:
I could go on all night.

LIFT. Go for it.

newman said:
Northies is a pretensious (sp), overpriced sh*t hole. If you want that trendy, upper class wine bar scene go to Paddington.

Yet you admit to going there?

Whats more, I can't think of a more stupid reason - moving to Cronulla in anticipating of new establishments opening up, despite it being highly unlikely given the last 12 months in Cronulla. If you dont like it Newmz, why go?! JDs is only just up the road if you want a decent feed, reasonable prices and a place to sit.

See you on sunday. I'll shout you a cold, over-priced schooie, poured by some arrogant tart bargirl at the evil front bar.

newman

Have you travelled Sirshire?

Well I have. And when I travel, I drink.

Ive drank in wine bars in Paris, dockside taverns in a snow bound Halifax, the now defunct birthplace of punk CBGBs in New York, Karaoke bars in Honkers and everywhere in Sydney from the Shangri La at the Quay to The Iron Duke bar in Alexandria and alot of places in between.

And Im telling you that Northies is a f**king sh*thole, and if you think that its a good pub you are tripping. Just cause you know alot of people there, it doesnt make it a good pub.

The Nulla

Hahaha love the battle. I'll adjudicate if no-one objects

I see points on both sides..

Newman:
Food - It is the joke of northies. Overpriced, deep fried and deplorable.

Security - Agreed. Most of these gorillas are heavy handed, confrontational and love the old 'move along' line.

Neutral:
Barkeeps - Varies between them. Non-issue anyway. Who drinks alone?

Decor - Again a non-issue. Wouldn't say northies is good nor bad.

Sirshire
Crowd - Strong point. The crowd is diverse. As a frequent visitor on all days and for all occassions you do you get your "construction" types filling the sportsbar with the alco's/punters, the oldies/business types lunching or dining both inside and out, of course the trendy Sunday crowd (it is "the show" afterall) and as Sir points out, you can get your "athlete" fix on any given night.

Music - Couldn't be further from the truth Newman. Yes you get your pop/house on the dancefloor of a night, but also chillout/alternative sounds in that same area on a sunny afternoon. The sportsbar always caters for your edgy rock / dance rock atmosphere. And who can forget the scintilating high sync sounds of the pokie room?? As for punk? Thats not on anywhere but bizzos !!

Considering all arguements I see the positives far outweigh the negatives.

Sirshire has this one. Northies is the premier location. It sits on the shores of Gods own land afterall. Respect !

The Nulla #2

SirShire said:
I don't like Northies. I love it.

Like it or lump it big boy. Do you go to the pub to chat to the barstaff about the state of world politics? I pay them to get me my drink - nothing more, nothing less.

What do you think of the decor at Caringbah Inn? The new Gymea? Any other newly refurbished establishment in Sydney? Again, like it or lump it. I sure as hell dont go to the pub with the intention of writing a critique for the next issue of Better Homes & Gardens. Don't like colours Newmz? Sports bar mate.

Maybe we should get you a gig there Newman. Let's see if you can keep the Sports Bar going for an evening with your band. Let the punters decide?

Rubbish. The beauty of the place is the crowd it attracts. From the daddy's princesses to the dodgy emos that no one acknowledges. From the reserve grader rugby league players to Australian test cricketers. From surfers to poor uni students. From old bastards to 40 y.o. women at a ladies' nigh tout. Always a diverse bunch.

Doesn't Gilles float your boat mate?

Common sense. Don't block a thoroughfare and you won't get asked to move.

LIFT. Go for it.

Yet you admit to going there?

Whats more, I can't think of a more stupid reason - moving to Cronulla in anticipating of new establishments opening up, despite it being highly unlikely given the last 12 months in Cronulla. If you dont like it Newmz, why go?! JDs is only just up the road if you want a decent feed, reasonable prices and a place to sit.

See you on sunday. I'll shout you a cold, over-priced schooie, poured by some arrogant tart bargirl at the evil front bar.

this is easily thread of the year :lol:

jc155776

You guys have fashion shows??

FMD aye.

All we get is wet t-shirt contests every sunday afternoon :(

I guess thats nothing comapared to a bunch of poofs in trendy suits.

newman

Haha.

Im getting off on this. Thanks for the middle ground.

You choose to ignore the 'neutral', I let them irritate me. Yes the crowd can be diverse but the overwhelming majority of punters were spat out of the clone-ometer. And, I hear the same crappy tunes every time I go there.

One of my main bugbears about the place is the vibe of rudeness. The bar staff are rude, alot of the punters are rude (particularly the young chicks, and im no perve, I mean they freaking push in at the bar when its busy)and the security are rude; all of which permeates in a horrifying vibe through the place.

Considering its location and size, the potential of the place is enourmous but compared to a tonne of other places ive been, it really is crap.

SirShire

newman said:
Have you travelled Sirshire?

Well I have. And when I travel, I drink.

Ive drank in wine bars in Paris, dockside taverns in a snow bound Halifax, the now defunct birthplace of punk CBGBs in New York, Karaoke bars in Honkers and everywhere in Sydney from the Shangri La at the Quay to The Iron Duke bar in Alexandria and alot of places in between.

And Im telling you that Northies is a f**king sh*thole, and if you think that its a good pub you are tripping. Just cause you know alot of people there, it doesnt make it a good pub.

My travels are no where near as extensive as yours my friend, my point is, given that we have both opted to settle in the great Sutherland Shire, Northies is by far the best option for punters. You certainly make good points about some aspects of the place, but I really couldnt be f**ked flying to London for a pint or Paris for a flagoon of vino when I have a perfectly acceptable boozer not 5 minutes down the road.

The Nulla said:
Music - Couldn't be further from the truth Newman. Yes you get your pop/house on the dancefloor of a night, but also chillout/alternative sounds in that same area on a sunny afternoon. The sportsbar always caters for your edgy rock / dance rock atmosphere. And who can forget the scintilating high sync sounds of the pokie room?? As for punk? Thats not on anywhere but bizzos !!

My good man, you've failed to mention the soothing tunes played inside the toilets that tickle the ear drums whilst one is pissing. Played in both girls and mens room, I can confirm.

jc155776 said:
You guys have fashion shows??

FMD aye.

All we get is wet t-shirt contests every sunday afternoon :(

I guess thats nothing comapared to a bunch of poofs in trendy suits.

You'd fit right in a Boyles I'd say.

newman

My travels are no where near as extensive as yours my friend, my point is, given that we have both opted to settle in the great Sutherland Shire, Northies is by far the best option for punters.

Ah, but you will travel my son. You will travel and see the big, bad world and you will shake your head with annoyed regret at your naive affinity and pride of your area, its pub and its people.