Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

halves for next year?

Delboy

If we go into 2011 with the same 6 and 7 as last year, the result at the end of the season will not alter. We will miss the finals again, let's face facts we do not have a NRL standard 7, Morts and Robbo can tackle and one can run and neither can kick.... hopefully SK works on correcting that situation or we don't improve .

Past caring what the Robbo fan base thinks, the truth is that we offer nothing in the halves with last seasons pair.

Casper The Ghost

Yes I know caylo but his tone pretty much confirms, and plus what he said with the "guys around Mortimer when he plays" that he will definitely be in the side. I think that is guaranteed.

There's that bloody contract again.
What's in it that haunted Daniel Anderson for a season and now SK????:shock:
Hell becometh the contract.

boxhead

Well caylo just to confirm it, this article shows that Mortimer will definitely get first-crack next year.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/kearney-seeking-a-halfback/story-e6frg7mf-1225954056809

He still doesn't have his No 7 confirmed, although he left no doubt that Daniel Mortimer would be somewhere in the halves. "That's a work in progress to see who the guys around him are and how they suit," Kearney said. "He'll be a six or a seven, there's no doubt about that."

Hope that clears that up mate :)

caylo

Well caylo just to confirm it, this article shows that Mortimer will definitely get first-crack next year.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/kearney-seeking-a-halfback/story-e6frg7mf-1225954056809

Hope that clears that up mate :)

Doesn't clear anything up, it actually quotes exactly what I said.
"he is a six or seven" - this was said agree kearney was asked where he would look to play mortimer, never stated ge was a sure thing. I think kearney is dancing around that question because even he doesn't know yet.
You don't have to agree, but your what 16, maybe you got it wrong and your reading too much into kearney answering a question. Plus how can you ignore the "work in progress"comment

mrpwnd

I hope we're not gonna discuss the finer points of Kearney's selection of words over Morts' 6 or 7 position?
Let's just agree that Kearney will at some point consider Morts in the team and it won't be as fullback.

Wise Old Eel

But we've changed the coach, surely that was the only problem :sarcasm:?

Haha! Yes, yes. Of course it was.

As an Eels supporter, let's hope all these "decisions" prove to be the correct ones. I won't be mortgaging my house to put a bet on Parramatta in 2011 but I do live in hope of a successful season. Interesting times ahead.

WOE

Wise Old Eel

There's that bloody contract again.
What's in it that haunted Daniel Anderson for a season and now SK????:shock:
Hell becometh the contract.

I often wonder if there really is some truth to that theory. I have never seen (2009 included) what people like Boxhead (& others) have seen in Mortimer.

Hearing what are believed to be Stephen Kearney's thoughts on the halves matter does not instil me with any great confidence for the 2011 season. However, I really am hoping Mortimer & SK can help the Eels have a great 2011 - and I will have no problem at all posting here to say how wrong I was.

Go the Eels!

WOE

Casper The Ghost

I often wonder if there really is some truth to that theory. I have never seen (2009 included) what people like Boxhead (& others) have seen in Mortimer.

Hearing what are believed to be Stephen Kearney's thoughts on the halves matter does not instil me with any great confidence for the 2011 season. However, I really am hoping Mortimer & SK can help the Eels have a great 2011 - and I will have no problem at all posting here to say how wrong I was.

Go the Eels!

WOE

Agreed, It's just a theory but it makes you wonder.
We really have no idea what goes on with this contract but it's strange the goings on around it.
DA, PO, 3P & DM and then there is the family wine business and now SK!!!!

What gets me is how a coach and his squad can get to the GF off the back of incredible passion, determination, belief, skill and unity and then the following year, minus 3 players (Kevin Kingston, Joe G, Lowrie), and yes we lost Grothe to injury, could lose all this incredible passion, determination, belief, skill and unity, dropping right out of the top 8 and end up close to the bottom of the table. What changed?????? It beggars belief.

lingard

If we go into 2011 with the same 6 and 7 as last year, the result at the end of the season will not alter. We will miss the finals again, let's face facts we do not have a NRL standard 7, Morts and Robbo can tackle and one can run and neither can kick.... hopefully SK works on correcting that situation or we don't improve .

Past caring what the Robbo fan base thinks, the truth is that we offer nothing in the halves with last seasons pair.

Correction: Robbo can tackle, Morts can`t. Neither can kick. Morts used to be able to run, but hasn`t done it for a year. Robbo can run but is too slow. Robson handles the pressure of first grade better than Morts. It would be good to find better options for both of them. Agree?

lingard

Agreed, It's just a theory but it makes you wonder.
We really have no idea what goes on with this contract but it's strange the goings on around it.
DA, PO, 3P & DM and then there is the family wine business and now SK!!!!

What gets me is how a coach and his squad can get to the GF off the back of incredible passion, determination, belief, skill and unity and then the following year, minus 3 players (Kevin Kingston, Joe G, Lowrie), and yes we lost Grothe to injury, could lose all this incredible passion, determination, belief, skill and unity, dropping right out of the top 8 and end up close to the bottom of the table. What changed?????? It beggars belief.

Well, rather than consider a conspiracy theory, could it not be the coach? Aint it even possible? Just a little bit? After all, the first two thirds of 2009, Parramatta were pretty mediocre. Then for about nine rounds or so, they played very unstructured, flamboyant, 'throw the ball around and hope somebody catches it' type football along with very good defence. Then for the whole of 2010 we were either mediocre or terrible. And it isn`t even remotely possible that Anderson was a f**ked coach? And isn`t it just possible - I mean, even remotely possible - that Anderson continued to stubbornly select Mortimer in the team despite his hopeless performances?
Or you would rather think that the 'board' or Paul Osborne signed a contract with Mortimer that guaranteed he would play first grade no matter what - even though he was a very inexperienced rookie with a lot to learn? That makes heaps more sense, doesn`t it? Come on, guys.

Correction: Robbo can tackle, Morts can`t. Neither can kick. Morts used to be able to run, but hasn`t done it for a year. Robbo can run but is too slow. Robson handles the pressure of first grade better than Morts. It would be good to find better options for both of them. Agree?

geez need to disagree there, he's a great defender for his size and did alot of Mateo's dirty work last season.

Casper The Ghost

Well, rather than consider a conspiracy theory, could it not be the coach? Aint it even possible? Just a little bit? After all, the first two thirds of 2009, Parramatta were pretty mediocre. Then for about nine rounds or so, they played very unstructured, flamboyant, 'throw the ball around and hope somebody catches it' type football along with very good defence. Then for the whole of 2010 we were either mediocre or terrible. And it isn`t even remotely possible that Anderson was a f**ked coach? And isn`t it just possible - I mean, even remotely possible - that Anderson continued to stubbornly select Mortimer in the team despite his hopeless performances?
Or you would rather think that the 'board' or Paul Osborne signed a contract with Mortimer that guaranteed he would play first grade no matter what - even though he was a very inexperienced rookie with a lot to learn? That makes heaps more sense, doesn`t it? Come on, guys.

What about the culture? What kind of culture did DA walk into as coach and had to change,........ keeping in brain that its the players, the staff and the management that make up that culture, not most of the fans/supporters who just support the team. What if a reasonable % of the players, staff and management was/is part of that culture DA recognised as the problem and began to address it but found himself climbing a prickly mountain???? Have you thought about that Lingard?
This is not a conspiracy theory, its more a speculation around what are/were the circumstances that brought about the issues raised in this thread.

yy_cheng

If we don't get a decent half

Defense

1. Hayne
6. Mortz
7. Robson

Attack

9. Hooker to control the forward rucks
7. Robson - distributes no ball playing
6. Mortz - plays a backerup role like a fullback ala McKinnon. Hangs around, look for a forward to offload. No Ball playing.
1. Hayne - Chimes in as the play maker. Possibly 3 plays a set

Kicking
Hayne or Burt to kick long

Mortz for short kicks so in the opposition 20.
Hayne for attacking kicks

caylo

If we don't get a decent half

Defense

1. Hayne
6. Mortz
7. Robson

Attack

9. Hooker to control the forward rucks
7. Robson - distributes no ball playing
6. Mortz - plays a backerup role like a fullback ala McKinnon. Hangs around, look for a forward to offload. No Ball playing.
1. Hayne - Chimes in as the play maker. Possibly 3 plays a set

Kicking
Hayne or Burt to kick long

Mortz for short kicks so in the opposition 20.
Hayne for attacking kicks

Wouldnt it be amazing if our 5-8 played like a 5-8, our fullback played like a fullback and our halfback played like a halfback. If they cant do so then maybe they shouldnt be there, this is why i would chose Humble at 5-8 because IMO he has the skills to do so and mortz doesn't last time i saw him play.

Hayne is the best hole runner in the NRL, let him play that role and ball play as he choses rather then force him to. This is when he is at his best IMO.

yy_cheng

Wouldnt it be amazing if our 5-8 played like a 5-8, our fullback played like a fullback and our halfback played like a halfback. If they cant do so then maybe they shouldnt be there, this is why i would chose Humble at 5-8 because IMO he has the skills to do so and mortz doesn't last time i saw him play.

Hayne is the best hole runner in the NRL, let him play that role and ball play as he choses rather then force him to. This is when he is at his best IMO.

I agree with you but when you don't have the cattle, you have to make do and play people to their strengths not manufacture players to something else.

We saw that when Corey Pearson thought he was a halfback.

But yes, Hayne is a great hole runner, power, speed, balance and footwork but if you don't have anyone to give him a half break then he's like a prop more often than not.

I did like Humble with his limited chances but he is still an unknown for mine.

Lastly, I think Hayne wants to ball play. It's an ego thing that he can do it all.

Slater can run and does a great job. Hayne can ball play and I reckon he wants to ball play.

Slater has recently tried to ball play (because I think Hayne does it) but Slater has no idea. He had a crap game for the aussies too!