Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If your team was rissoled

I'd still watch games, because the sport is just so awesome.

But I'd definitely lose a little interest, and I certainly wouldn't be as fanatical and devoted to the game as I am now.

Didgi

I'd be a Broncos fan, and probably always would be. If the Cowboys were kicked out and readmitted in 10 or 20 years time, I think I'd still be a Bronco.

Coaster

Spent 10 years without my team, I still watched just about every game during that period.
I followed teams on a game to game basis, followed Parra for awhile because I went for them in the early eighties. The 2001 GF changed that, was the first time I had been to Parramatta, and the GF. They disgusted me, the fans that is, so I promised myself not to go for another Sydney team.

Followed the Broncos and Cowboys next few years, mainly Broncos as it's the wifes team, until 2007.

I hope I never have to do that again, but I am a RL supporter first and love the sport and the values it taught me as a kid.

What the hell does that even mean? I posted that i would continue to follow rugby league whether or not my team was in the comp. I said i followed the game because it is entertaining.

Somehow you took from that comment that i am from generation Y and have a 'me me me' attitute. How the hell could my post have possibly have led you to that conclusion. You were just upset about my reply and were just trying to take a baseless cheapshot.

Nice try though!
From what you posted in this thread you haven't really given anyone reason to believe otherwise. So I made an assumption and was wrong. For all I know you are 92 and remember Frank Hyde's first grade debut.

What assumption or baseless claim did i make? You said you only follow the game because of your club and effectively you would stop following it if they were gone. I replied directly to what you said in your post.
Wrong. I said I started following the game for many reasons, and many of those are gone except the club I support. I also said in post #95:
I dunno whether I would give it up totally.....

You replied to me and simply ignored what i said and attemtped to make a personal attack instead.
Actually you started the name calling between us on post #102

I don't disagree but no one dragged you into the thread to discuss it.
I don't think anyone was dragged into the thead. Didn't know it applied to everyone bar Parra fans - geez, there are other posts by fans whose clubs are safe as well.

Because you don't care about the game or anyone else that follows it. All you care about is your club and your own interests. That's what a 'me me me' attitude is.
Wrong. Baseless assumption.

Yet again like every thread you ignore the discussion actually being had and argue what you wish was being said. I don't want any team to be culled and never have.

My position is pretty simple, maybe even simple enough for you to understand. I don't want the sharks or anyone else kicked out. However if they can't keep up with the bigger clubs and have to fold than that shouldn't be stopped. I don't think that's such as unfair position.
Same position as mine. Not that anyone should be death riding them.

And yet again i would like to ask how the hell im being a 'me me me' person. All i said was that i would continue supporting the game with or without my club. This is the very opposite of what you are implying.
I never said you did!
I love the game, i love watching the game and i would continue to watch it with or without the storm. This is the very opposite of a fairweather 'me me me' supporter. You're the one who fits that catagory and i am amazed you could try and accuse me of that with the posts you have made in this thread.
Again, I never said you did.

Again arguing with things that weren't said.
You have the mortgage on that!
Where did i say i would support someone else? That's right i didn't. I watch most games every week, only one of them involves the storm. I enjoy watching those matches. If the storm were no longer involved in the comp i would still enjoy those games.
Good for you. BTW - I never accused you of that either!
Also i didn't say i wouldn't be unhappy. Of course i would, that doesn't mean i am just going to abandon the game that i love. The sport is much bigger than the melbourne storm. My love of the game didn't start with the storm. I love RL in general, the storm are just one part of that.
Again, I never accused you of that.

How am i a lukewarm fan?
Dunno - I never said you were.
I can pretty much guarantee that i attend more games every year than you do despite not living in my teams local area. I also play rugby league and am involved with league at a junior level.
Good for you.
I am a far better league fan than you will ever be.
My hero. :roll:

You're the lukewarm fan. You only care about your own club. I actually support the game itself.
Clearly, you don't know your arse from your tit.

Yeah you keep telling yourself that. You only came up with that pathetic argument because i follow the storm. Just because i follow the storm doesn't mean i started follow rugby league after SL. Of course someone as simple as you wouldn't understand this possibilty so you just jumped to your ridiculous assumption.
I jumped to assumptions????? FMD - where did I mention the Storm you stupid twat????

Your whole post is either baseless assumptions or just plain stupidity and you try to say i have NFI, pot meet kettle.
Oh the irony!!!!! :lol:

Congratulations on spending 20 minutes replying to stuff I didn't say. I'm glad you had fun telling us you are the best league fan ever and that the code doesn't need fans that like their club but don't necessarily like what has been done to the code. With your head firmly planted up your arse - have a look around - lonely in there isn't it. Obviously the code only needs you as it's sole fan - you are so fantastic you'd keep the entire code operating by yourself.

Pity you feel a need to reply on this forum to the voices in your head. I guess reality is boring in comparison.

In San Diego you could follow the CHARGERS. How would you feel if the SHARKS merged with ROOSTERS to become the EAST COAST SHARKS?

I would be happy to support a merged Bulldogs.

I wouldn't stop watching league. What am I going to do, Watch AFL?

ah.. i do

thats not happening. chooks would never merge

watch soccer

thorson1987

you were of an age where i could understand that, but hey 2013 and you're on the CC, please comeback both of you!

I always have a soft spot for Norths, always will. Will try my hardest to get to the first game at NSO. (even made the SG Ball squad then got cut the week before the comp started. but was all good. To be trained by Flo and Larson was a great experience. although Freeman was premier league coach at the time and he was a c**k)

Only reason i started supporting Melbourne was cos i was born there. But will always follow Melbourne now.

Ronnie Dobbs

Depends on how we died. If it were through natural causes, then I'd give my last dollar to stop that happening, but if it went down hill, then I'd still support the game, rather than a particular team. I'd follow Canberra & the Warriors the closest I think, but it wouldn't be the same.

If we had our throats cut, different story, but again would be dependent on how it went down.

BDH

So that comment was based on my response?

Good one troll. Looks like you are the loser without a life - haijacking threads to facilitate your own pathetic personal agenda

I don't know how I hijacked the thread, my post is on topic.

And if you think I aint a RL fan that will just about do me. I know your brain is defective at the best of times but fair dinkum you are a three sucks short of a full blow job.

I understand you were either dropped as an infant or a recovering drug addict/alcoholic, but try and read before you go on your long, drunk man in the park-esque rants. In my post, I ACCUSED you of BEING a Rugby League fan.

Must have been too hard for you to comprehend, as I posted with words.

I take a casual interest in lots of sports. It goes no further because I cannot adopt, with passion, any team or competitor as I do with League.

Please see above, where I accused you of being a RL fan.

Looks like BDH again has NFI in his assumptions.

:lol:and then this;

I dunno whether I would give it up totally.

When you do finally put down the Meth pipe/scotch glass and reread my original post, you are going to be embarrassed when you realise that the sentence above vindicates my entire original post.

Thanks for the support.:lol:

People like BDH just don't get it - because they came along post 1995 and just have this pathetic Gen Y "me me me" attitude. They wouldn't have a clue about following a Kangaroo tour or getting to bed late every Wednesday night because Balmain were playing Central Queensland at Scully Park in the Amco Cup. Or getting to the ground at 11.30 on Sunday Morning to see all 3 grades.

I am flattered you consider me Gen Y, even though we have argued in another thread when I explained I was a Wynnum Seagulls fan, prior to the admission of the Broncos. Want a calculator?

Just to clear the matter up and hopefully allow something to get through your damaged frontal lobe; I am a Wynnum Seagulls supporter and a Broncos fan. I do know what it's like to follow Brisbane in the Amco Cup.

I do know what it's like to stay up late and watch Queenslander's, supported by a handful of NSWelshmen, destroy everything in front of them on a Kangaroo tour.

I do know what it's like to lose my entire team to a NSWRL admitted Broncos team. However, we all know sport must grow, RL fans have in QLD, we didn't have a choice. Same can't be said for fans of Sydney clubs.

Possibly true. Who knows, as my club has existed all my life and has never been under threat.

So it would seem it is you who wouldn't understand what it's like to have financial pressure shoved upon your chosen footy team. Wow.....for someone so vocal you don't really seem to have much experience in this field.

Make yourself clearer if you are so offended when people draw the wrong conclusions from your posts, instead of carrying on like a twat.

The irony of you telling ANYONE on this forum to not act like a twat. You need to start thinking before you post. You mentioned you had a missus, maybe get her to proof read for you? That or wait a day before responding to threads.

You're the one making assumptions and making baseless comments based on them now!

:lol: Kettle is on the phone.

Mr Spock!

Until Broncos fans know what it's like to win a spoon or go through an extended period of time of not participating in finals footy then I might start listening to their supporters telling me how to follow my team or if I was a 'real' rugby league supporter.

mightybears

Until Broncos fans know what it's like to win a spoon or go through an extended period of time of not participating in finals footy then I might start listening to their supporters telling me how to follow my team or if I was a 'real' rugby league supporter.

I'm in 100% agreement with the Klingon.

BDH

Who is your NSWRL team?

My QRL team hasn't won since 95, yet I reguarly attend Kougari and Dolphin oval to watch my QRL team play and watch the QRL team in the area live.

Since you are clearly a "real" RL supporter please tell me how many games you attend this season.

I guess I am to assume, that simply because Broncos fans support a team which is successful on and off the field, we aren't "real" RL supporters? Somebody better let half of Queensland know.

AuDragon

You might have to get a comfortable seat and have one hell of a lungs set if you're going to hold your breath! :sarcasm:

Should I switch my allegiance and start supporting a losers team to become a "real" RL supporter?

I am tribal, territorial and above all, lifelong loyal to the team I adopt.
I have only ever supported my local soccer team since my childhood, while the Broncos are and will always be my RL team since I've been in Australia.
Porto is where I was born, Brisbane is where my love for RL was born. It's really as simple as that.

Fortunately, neither team is likely to go down any time soon, but If by some fluke of destiny, the Broncos were to disappear, I would simply wait until a new Brisbane team would rise and in the meanwhile, I would support the Cowboys, Titans and of course... Queensland. But no, I wouldn't give up on RL.

I'm in 100% agreement with the Klingon.

Lockyer4President!

That's a pretty stupid thing to say just fyi. RL actually does exist outside of the Sydney-centric NRL.

BDH

Off topic;

Porto is where I was born, Brisbane is where my love for RL was born. It's really as simple as that.

I was born in Almada, Lisboa. Screw Porto, long live Sporting CP... carn the Bears! haha jk/

I'm assuming these places are in Portugal? If so, let me say my girlfriend is Portuguese (we met when I lived in Perth, Fremantle has a massive Portuguese community) and you guys have great women who CAN cook!!

Dragon_psa

It would take me a few seasons to get over it, but I'd probably end up following the Warriors or Parra.

AuDragon

I was born in Almada, Lisboa. Screw Porto, long live Sporting CP... carn the Bears! haha jk/
I really, really feel for you mate. Hopefully the Bears will bring you joy, cuz SCP are quickly becoming like the Bunnies! :mrgreen:

Off topic;

I'm assuming these places are in Portugal? If so, let me say my girlfriend is Portuguese (we met when I lived in Perth, Fremantle has a massive Portuguese community) and you guys have great women who CAN cook!!
You definitely have good taste! :thumn
You assume correctly and I do miss that cooking! If you live in the Brissy area, I'd be delighted to proof taste her cooking art. :D
Having said that, Aussie women have plenty of other qualities... ;-)
/off topic