Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Inglis wants Johns out of league

yawn

So thats how you justify what Johns said ?

There are some sad pricks posting in this thread.

Johns is a disgrace to the sport.

It's justifying Johns keeping his job in rugby league. His words weren't justified.

Bashing women is much worse than what Johns did.

manly40gimps0

f**k Inglis
Hope he goes to AFL and fails, Ends up going blind from drinking too much goon then dies from an AIDS related virus.

Tommy Smith

what's the opposite of politically correct?

I was brought up to respect people and judge them on their character, I've never felt the need to use someones race or colour of their skin to denigrate them. I must be weird as well?

There's an native Indian saying; "don't judge a man until you have walked two moons in his moccasins". Unless you have lived with a lifetime of people looking at you differently and passing comments based purely on the tone of your skin then shut the frick up!
Me too. More so than you would believe. But im not about to go on a "high and mighty" crusade and explain to anyone here why im as excepting of people of other races as most people...

But that didn't stop me calling Setamata Sa and Iosia Soliola "useless coconuts" when they pushed a thousand stupid passes last year!

Ultimately i think people just take it abit too serious. Because whilst serious cases of racism - which results in violence, housing/job discrimination etc - should be fought to the death; i think "off the cuff" black merkin remarks in this situation should be dealt with by two adults manning up - one by apologising and the other by accepting the apology and moving on.

We'll never live in a world devoid of all racist comments. So rather than going on month long witch hunts and trying to paint Joey as Heinrich Himmler for calling someone a "black merkin" in a social setting; perhaps we should be expending all this energy on fighting real racism.

bluey

You're just a wanker. Plain and simple.

I find racist jokes funny. Sexist jokes too. And fat jokes. hell even the occasional gay joke. Have I ever actually discriminated against anyone in any meaningful way? No. I'm not a racist or a sexist, get off your giant politically correct high horse.

Nailed it the world has gone mad.Soon you will only be able to laugh in your own house, or be held to some bloody P/C renson.

again easy to say when you haven;t had a gut full of it all your life. I'm pretty sure John's wasn't using the colour as a descriptor but as a put down, that is racist and makes him a racist. Words are not the problem, it is the intent and connotation they are used in. When you say "look at them lebanese" you aren;t saying look at those kids from a Lebanese background, it is usually a term to describe a group that you see ass different, inferior, negatively stereotyped etc from yourself. I don;t know whats so hard about not using words that others find offensive, as said its called respect for each other and the world would be a better place for it.

Minds much greater than mine have written some very good stuff about racism and what it does to a culture/nation. i suggest those who think its ok to use race as a put down go off and read some of it.

Johns Magic

When you say "look at them lebanese" you aren;t saying look at those kids from a Lebanese background, it is usually a term to describe a group that you see ass different, inferior, negatively stereotyped etc from yourself.

And they probably say "look at them skips" when they see a bunch of white blokes walking down the street but it doesn't bother me.

Tommy Smith

again easy to say when you haven;t had a gut full of it all your life. I'm pretty sure John's wasn't using the colour as a descriptor but as a put down, that is racist and makes him a racist. Words are not the problem, it is the intent and connotation they are used in. When you say "look at them lebanese" you aren;t saying look at those kids from a Lebanese background, it is usually a term to describe a group that you see ass different, inferior, negatively stereotyped etc from yourself. I don;t know whats so hard about not using words that others find offensive, as said its called respect for each other and the world would be a better place for it.

Minds much greater than mine have written some very good stuff about racism and what it does to a culture/nation. i suggest those who think its ok to use race as a put down go off and read some of it.
Ive lost count of the amount of times ive been called a 'Dirty Pom'. But because its rarely if ever meant with any serious animosty i just cop it on the chin and laugh.

Ive also never felt the need to segregate myself from society.

All the great minds in the world can hypothesise all they like on the effects of racism; but that will never change the fact that human beings always have been and always will be deeply flawed.

So sometimes the best way to deal with abit of name calling is a stiff chin and a good sense of humour. And it works fine with me and my black friends as i suspect it does alot of others.

Didgi

:lol: Many lols in this thread. Because of a violent misconduct in the past he shouldn't be allowed to make a stand about racism or support Women in League?

And suddenly Johns is being inferred as the good guy, because he never hit a girl? Never mind using recreational drugs throughout his career and being arrested for posessing drugs.

How does Inglis being a hypocrit have any effect on this argument? He infringed on someone else's rights, he will be punished, Johns infringed on Inglis' rights, Johns should be punished, and has been through sackings etc.

But I forgot, this isn't about rational argument, it's about neanderthal debate over two neanderthals. God I hope I've spelt them correctly or I'm going to look like a high horse tool.

Johns Magic

How does Inglis being a hypocrit have any effect on this argument? He infringed on someone else's rights, he will be punished, Johns infringed on Inglis' rights, Johns should be punished, and has been through sackings etc.

How much punishment did Inglis go through?

Miss two games or something and have to pay some court fees and make a token appearance or two at some counselling/women's conventions?

Would anyone but real league fans still remember it even happened?

Oh sorry, I forgot he had to sell a pair of pink footy boots.

The point is, what Inglis did was worse than Johns but you didn't see anyone calling for Inglis to be kicked out of the game. Or is that because women-bashers are more acceptable in the NRL than people who say black merkin(and for the pedants, yes I am aware he allegedly said it more than once)?

Didgi

How much punishment did Inglis go through?

Miss two games or something and have to pay some court fees and make a token appearance or two at some counselling/women's conventions?

Would anyone but real league fans still remember it even happened?

Oh sorry, I forgot he had to sell a pair of pink footy boots.

The point is, what Inglis did was worse than Johns but you didn't see anyone calling for Inglis to be kicked out of the game. Or is that because women-bashers are more acceptable in the NRL than people who say black merkin(and for the pedants, yes I am aware he allegedly said it more than once)?

Didn't the girlfriend drop the charges though? (<- IIRC) His girlfriend chose not to take a stand, however Inglis and Tahu are choosing to take a stand. Perhaps Inglis didn't serve his time, perhaps it didn't affect the girl as much as these players are affected by and want to stamp out racism.

It's all hypotheticals, but I say if someone wants to take a stand over a personal issue he feels is innapropriate and unacceptable, we should not be judging him by what is behind him.

Here's my extreme example: Should a murderer be raped?

Chook Herron

I think people need to get off their politcal high horses. I myself have used racial descriptions but it doesn't mean I'm racist. I mean how many people have come across a bunch of 'Middle Eastern looking males' sporting mullets, fanny packs, thick chains and carrying on like good sorts?

Don't forget the Adidas tuxedos...

Mark Rudd

Inglis, like Tahu, needs to drink a glass of harden the f**k up.

Exactly when did Andrew Johns cease being Andrew Johns and become Joseph Goebbels instead?

He said "black merkin", but hey, what white bloke hasn't at some point in their life? And conversely what Aboriginal bloke hasn't made a derogatory comment towards white people - not withstanding the fact that they're "allowed to"?

Either way it's hardly the crime of the century and Rugby League needs to stop making mini-series melodramas out of minor incidents. And in this instance it should have been avoided with Joey apologising and as stated Tahu and Inglis drinking a nice big glass of harden the f**k up!

You are a moron.

Johns Magic

Didn't the girlfriend drop the charges though? (<- IIRC) His girlfriend chose not to take a stand, however Inglis and Tahu are choosing to take a stand.

So how bad a crime is depends on how much someone decides to take exception to it?

Are you saying if Tahu hadn't been in the room to hear what Johns said it would have been alright to say?

Who witnessed it doesn't change the severity of what either of them did.

Perhaps Inglis didn't serve his time, perhaps it didn't affect the girl as much as these players are affected by and want to stamp out racism.

Greg Inglis physically belted his girlfriend. Johns called someone a black merkin behind their back.

Just because Inglis is more upset about being called a black merkin by someone in a different state than his girlfriend was about being bashed in the face doesn't mean he's any better.

It's all hypotheticals, but I say if someone wants to take a stand over a personal issue he feels is innapropriate and unacceptable, we should not be judging him by what is behind him.

Here's my extreme example: Should a murderer be raped?

What the?

No one is saying Johns was fine to say what he said. Many think it's been blown out of proportion, but not that it was right to say.

I don't think you see what people are saying. Here's a more appropriate ridiculous analogy extending from yours:

If a rapist walked free because the victim dropped the charges, would anyone take the rapist seriously if he then said there was no place for shoplifters in society?

on a scale of 1 - 10, Johns scores about 112 in the "merkin" stakes

on a scale of 1 - 10, Tahu scores about 204450 in the "soft c**k, quitter" stakes

I don;t know whats so hard about not using words that others find offensive, as said its called respect for each other and the world would be a better place for it.

Well that would defeat the purpose of insulting someone, wouldn't it

thenry

My grandparents weren't allowed to vote for a good part of their lives, based on them having black coloured skin. My grandparents weren't treated as equal human beings for a good part of their lives, so yes, there is a little bit of hurt when someone calls me black and it is impossible to just 'harden the f*ck up' at times.

I fully support Timana's stance though I think that Inglis is being a bit precious saying that Johns shouldn't have anything more to do with League. Johns is just a very good footballer who has been put up onto a pedestal by the media. Geez, between him and Gidley, maybe they might think twice before they anoint their next golden child.