Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Italian Connection comes under scrutiny

eels81236

Hey, I have an idea....let's makes jokes about it.

Let's hope they don't turn out to be unwitting Trojan horses.

I love this Club and my major concern with the Board is that tax avoiding cheats aren't involved. If (and I mean if) this turns out to have credence I will be greatly chagrined, not just by the fact we were initially duped but also because there are people around that still expect us to dismiss any possible negativity relating to these "great blokes".

I obviously don't have enough information to form an opinion either way. However, any attitude even closely resembling the thought that we shouldn't be extremely worried about this, let alone that we should just dismiss it, is ridiculous.

This is serious. Not only do I wanna know what's going on with Spags, but I honestly think that - if this turns out to have credence - anyone associated with the whole "business" side of 3P should be thoroughly researched to make sure that were weren't conned further.

Like I've already posted elsewhere - Col ended up breaking from 3P, Bob Gare made way for other people to run and I'm starting to think maybe the 80s players were used as Trojan horses. I don't feel good about this, even though I am still reserving my judgement until the NRL and ATO produce their findings. It just seems that there is too much fishy stuff accumulating around 3P and the figures that have hidden behind our legends - Kenny, Grothe and Price.

:clap::clap::clap:

fish eel

Hey, I have an idea....let's makes jokes about it.

Let's hope they don't turn out to be unwitting Trojan horses.

I love this Club and my major concern with the Board is that tax avoiding cheats aren't involved. If (and I mean if) this turns out to have credence I will be greatly chagrined, not just by the fact we were initially duped but also because there are people around that still expect us to dismiss any possible negativity relating to these "great blokes".

I obviously don't have enough information to form an opinion either way. However, any attitude even closely resembling the thought that we shouldn't be extremely worried about this, let alone that we should just dismiss it, is ridiculous.

This is serious. Not only do I wanna know what's going on with Spags, but I honestly think that - if this turns out to have credence - anyone associated with the whole "business" side of 3P should be thoroughly researched to make sure that were weren't conned further.

Like I've already posted elsewhere - Col ended up breaking from 3P, Bob Gare made way for other people to run and I'm starting to think maybe the 80s players were used as Trojan horses. I don't feel good about this, even though I am still reserving my judgement until the NRL and ATO produce their findings. It just seems that there is too much fishy stuff accumulating around 3P and the figures that have hidden behind our legends - Kenny, Grothe and Price.

My attitude is that we should let the board get on with their job which includes co-operating with ay NRL investigation, if Spagnolo has a genuine tax issue to deal with then that bridge gets crossed if that happens, and all the other stuff such as what was in the paper today about who might know who by association be treated with the contempt it deserves.

of course they get on with it - what are they gonna stop cos a bunch of nuffies on a forum are having an arguement over it? :lol:

and all the other stuff such as what was in the paper today about who might know who by association be treated with the contempt it deserves.

I agree with that. Spags lives on the same street as Vella blah blah blah. I'm sure they shared a coffee together before gunning down an old lady for her pension.

Idiots.

What I'm talking about is tax evasion and salary cap rorting, both revolving around the guy who is Chairman.

I agree with that. Spags lives on the same street as Vella blah blah blah. I'm sure they shared a coffee together before gunning down an old lady for her pension.

Idiots.

What I'm talking about is tax evasion and salary cap rorting, both revolving around the guy who is Chairman.

well John don't you think the best response for the club would be release a statement saying that they'll co operate with anything the NRL throws at them, instead of having our Chairman stand down pending an investigation which to the average punter would almost concede guilt? as fish says we need bunker down and get on with the job, infact we probably should of appointed Ossie to the job today to take the sting off the SMH stories.

I'm getting a little fed up with the petty moronic reporting by wonder woman and Lara Croft who are obviously dirty that they no longer have a contact at the club to give them exclusives.

fish eel

Idiots.

Yeah, I agree those are the issues. Thats why I've said that on the cap matter, the club should be openly seen to cooperate with any NRL investigations. Nobody has denied the property deals were done, the question is whether it is a breach of the cap. Spagnolo says it wasnt. I'm happy to sit that out and see what the NRL determine.

The tax issue.We really dont know enough about that. If the ATO investigate, and IF they find there was a deliberate rort, then obviously thats an issue. Cross that bridge if and when we come to it.

Some people in this thread have already called for Spagnolo to resign. We need stability, not a chairman quitting to placate one media outlet and hand them the scalp they want.

fish eel

well John don't you think the best response for the club would be release a statement saying that they'll co operate with anything the NRL throws at them, instead of having our Chairman stand down pending an investigation which to the average punter would almost concede guilt? as fish says we need bunker down and get on with the job, infact we probably should of appointed Ossie to the job today to take the sting off the SMH stories.

I'm getting a little fed up with the petty moronic reporting by wonder woman and Lara Croft who are obviously dirty that they no longer have a contact at the club to give them exclusives.

Yesterday morning, I was thinking the same, do the announcement but when I thought about it - I wouldnt.

It's a significant announcement - Fitzy's replacement and needs to be done at a press conference - it's just wasted sending out a media release.

So you've got a press conference, which the Chairman would need to be involved with because the Board have made the appointment - who would get the questions - Ossie or Spagnolo?

So perhaps you do the presser minus Spagnolo? Then the risk is Ossie gets grilled about joining a club in crisis and why the chairman is hiding.

Either way the good news announcement is turned on it's head. I'd do it when Roy is NOT news. If it's tomorrow, Thursday, or next week so be it.

Parra Future

Parra Future,

Are these the sort of dealings that drove you from the 3p camp? You had mentioned your distrust of certain individuals in the group. Are these the alterior motives you were wary of?

Any 3p member,

Is this why you virtually told us "jack sh*t" about the individuals involved in your group pre election. Those standing for election and the puppet masters were virtually unknown.

I know DF's spud carting businesses hadn't failed 8 times.

Df complained re the pokie tax daily but he still paid it. *edit, speculation*

Interseting times indeed.

Eels81236,

Hello again. I'll keep this quick, I had surgery earlier today on my hand and it is bloody hard to type. I can't really answer the above because it's really a loaded question when you think about it. I wanted change at the club and change occurred. I witnessed a lot of friendships disintegrate during the period that I was involved and some of those friendships may never mend. The club is a great thing and something I feel very strongly about. I wish things would not have finished the way they did but I still do not regret any actions that I took. What I do regret is some of the friendships that I lost personally both during the 3P days and after it. If I could mend some of those bridges, I'd probably be alot more content with how everything panned out. It is interesting times for the club and I think the wisest thing for me to do right now is do what I have been doing for a couple of months now and that is too shut my mouth, stay out of it and keep looking forward to each week when the Eels run onto the field to play footy. I'll be brutally honest with all of you, I am not walking away and I still do desire to assist the club in a greater capacity than what is currently possible. I am more than confident that the club will thrive and prosper for many many years to come.

Take care all.

Regards,

Col.

Josh to the rescue !

Former Parramatta boss Denis Fitzgerald knew about property deals offered to players
FORMER Parramatta boss Denis Fitzgerald was last night in the crosshairs of an embarrassing memory lapse after being forced to admit he knew about Queensland property deals that were offered to Eels players and staff. Fitzgerald originally labelled claims he was told about the investments "absolute rubbish", but The Daily Telegraph can reveal he actually lauded the real estate credentials of the two men behind the project - current Eels chairman Roy Spagnolo and developer Vince Lombardo - in writing last year.
The Daily Telegraph has obtained a letter Fitzgerald sent to Spagnolo, dated June 11, 2008, welcoming the accountant and his colleagues to be "officially recognised by our Club" as a Business Mentoring Group (BMG).
Spagnolo duly nominated four other Eels supporters - Lombardo, George Gaitanos, Roy Mittiga and Chris Crawley - to form the BMG. All five men have this week been named in negative reports surrounding their business history, while Fitzgerald has lodged a police complaint against Spagnolo over an alleged threat during an argument at CUA Stadium last Sunday.
The correspondence, signed by Fitzgerald alone and typed on a Parramatta letterhead, makes specific mention of the group's help with "real estate and property advice" to Eels players.
"The Parramatta NRL Club wishes to recognise you and your colleagues, who assist the Club and its players in so many ways, with an official title as the Business Mentoring Group," Fitzgerald wrote. "The assistance the BMG gives to the Club in attracting Corporate Partners is invaluable. We are also grateful for the assistance you give the players in terms of advice to assist their after-football careers, financial advice and real estate and property advice.
"Could you please supply the names of your business colleagues, so that they may be officially recognised by our Club."
Fitzgerald then invited Spagnolo and his colleagues to discuss "pertinent Rugby League issues" at an all-expenses paid dinner the following Monday night at classy Parramatta restaurant Inside Out.
Spagnolo yesterday said most of the BMG attended the dinner, where they met the-then Eels board that paid for their meals and drinks.
Nine months later, however, Spagnolo headed up a successful boardroom coup by rebel ticket 3P. He is now chairman and will meet with NRL salary cap auditor Ian Schubert this morning to discuss property investments that were offered to players and staff in 2003. The Daily Telegraph yesterday revealed lots in Raceview Estate near Ipswich were purchased by two players - John Morris and Luke Burt.
Spagnolo also revealed he met with Fitzgerald in the Eels' boardroom about the investments, a claim the veteran administrator furiously denied on Monday night. But less than 24 hours later, Fitzgerald's memory backflipped spectacularly. Yesterday afternoon he rang The Daily Telegraph to admit the meeting had taken place.
"I said yesterday I didn't recall any meeting but after reading The Daily Telegraph and seeing the name of the project (Raceview) I now do remember them coming in for a very brief meeting. It jogged my memory," he said.
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,25750014-5006066,00.html

Is this about Parra or is this really SMH vs Telecrap ?

The porn king and I

July 08, 2009 12:00am

NOW-NOTORIOUS sex shop owner Con Ange last night revealed his one-time links with Parramatta, claiming that former CEO Denis Fitzgerald authorised him to ride on the team bus and mingle in the dressing rooms.
Ange also alleged the pair shared a taxi from Auckland airport in 2007, which he claimed Fitzgerald paid for.
Ange has come under fire in recent months for his involvement with Cronulla, with disputed reports alleging he distributed sex toys to Sharks players. But The Daily Telegraph can reveal Ange's allegiance was initially tied to Parramatta while Fitzgerald ran the Eels between 2004 and 2007.
Although not an official sponsor, Ange shouted the Eels players dinner at his Brisbane pub - St Pauls Tavern - following away matches against the Broncos. Ange part owns the hotel with property developer Vince Lombardo, a long-time friend and associate of Parramatta chairman Roy Spagnolo.
He was also an avid Eels fan. Not only was his eldest son Anthony a ball boy, but Ange also travelled to numerous games - including Parramatta's round one encounter against the Warriors in 2007.
By that stage he and Fitzgerald knew each other. According to Ange, the pair spoke in the Qantas Club at Sydney airport before their Auckland-bound flight and then crossing the Tasman together in business class.
"When we arrived in Auckland, I offered to give Denis a lift in my hire car," Ange recalled. "But for some reason it was cancelled.
"Denis didn't mind, though. He hired a cab and paid for it with a card. I'll never forget the trip because the driver was pulled over and fined with speeding. My son Anthony was in the cab with Denis. They sat together in the back seat."
Once in Auckland, Ange said he and Anthony stayed at the Parramatta team hotel - the Crowne Plaza. They watched Parramatta lose at Mt Smart Stadium, before travelling back to the city with the players and Fitzgerald in the Eels' team bus.
"That was something he'd let me do from time to time," Ange said.
"I'd also visit the dressing room. There was never a problem. If I'm such an undesirable, then why would the CEO himself allow me such access and shout me a cab ride?"
Ange said he stopped supporting the Eels after good friend Tony Zappia moved to Cronulla to become Sharks CEO at the end of 2007. Zappia has since been forced to resign from his new post amid a scandal-plagued season in the Shire.
Fitzgerald's mobile went straight to voicemail last night when contacted for a response.
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25750162-5001023,00.html

Get Tracey Grimshaw on the line !

Players defend property deal profit

Article from:
By Josh Massoud
July 08, 2009 12:00am

TWO players at the centre of a salary cap investigation into property investments offered to Parramatta stars six years ago last night broke their silence to declare the deals "above board".
Luke Burt and John Morris (now at Wests Tigers) both purchased "off-the-plan" blocks in Raceview Estate near Ipswich in September 2003.
The project was run by Caboultre Property Investments, a company owned by Eels supporter Vince Lombardo.
Lombardo is a long-time friend of current Parramatta chairman Roy Spagnolo, who offered around half a dozen Eels players the chance to invest in Raceview. At the time, Spagnolo had no official role with the club as either a sponsor or official.
Burt and Morris were the only players to buy into the project, paying $23,000 and $30,000 for their blocks respectively.
Both built houses using loan arrangements they made privately. Burt has since sold to buy a home in Sydney while Morris continues to rent his Raceview property.
"It was like the advice every player gets," Burt said.
"Roy has been really good with helping the players to invest their money wisely and that's what I decided to do. I can't see the big deal. It's all above board."
Morris added: "It's really disappointing we've been dragged into it and Roy's name has been dragged through the mud.
"He did nothing more than advise us of a good investment."
Two other Eels players - Fuifui Moimoi and Dean Widders - also bought units in a Fairfield complex known as Garden Court several years later on advice from Spagnolo, who was not linked to the Eels in any official capacity at the time.
Spagnolo will today meet NRL salary cap auditor Ian Schubert to discuss the deals.
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25750163-5001023,00.html

No Gronk I am the equal of everyone on this forum and everyone has their right to put that forward, mine is no more valid than anyone else.

Zap let himself down, but there is more to that story than the on sided agenda. Our chairman bleeds blue and gold, and his business interests will hold their own.

Yes mate, it was Pauline Hanson, hair colour was a bit different back then, and she was much more leggy than expected. Carried herself well, but a bit moody.

No mate I dream, and then I act to realise that dream, so why dont you send me a private message, and I will send you my number, so you can get off your salmon and become part of something I am setting up. You can actually be objective and constructive and physically be involved in decisions, giving our supporters a voice.

You think you can drag that sarcastic salmon of that seat and make a difference, or is it too much fun taking sh*t pots from a distance. If you cant get out to Parramatta from the Eastern Suburbs, I come and meet you once a month so you can voice your opinion and make a difference.

Come on Gronk, lunch at The Charing Cross or the Clovelly once a month. You are quick to assess people who put themselves out there for what they believe, let see if you have that same commitment. Come on mate, come on board and have a crack.

Sevens.

My use of sarcasm elevated Terry when you treated the very serious claims that our club are facing with a trivial attitude and cracked jokes. That coming from someone within the "inner sanctum" is disappointing.

Your Chairman may very well bleed blue and gold, however I am sure the general concern of all supporters is that if he is involved in Phoenix Schemes then he is not of the appropriate character to head our Club. I hope that we don't learn an expensive lesson in due diligence because of this.

Please stop this obsession with where I live mate. It is totally irrelevant to the subject matter. No doubt we will have a chat sometime down the track.

Look out, they've played the racism card. :roll:

'Mediterranean Descendant bashing' lives on, claim Eels
Ray Gatt | July 08, 2009

Article from: The Australian
A FRIEND of under fire Parramatta Rugby League and Football Club chairman Roy Spagnolo says "Mediterranean Descendant bashing and racism" are alive and kicking in Australia after he featured in a front-page newspaper expose along with Spagnolo and other Italian businessmen.
Former Soccer Australia chairman, Tony Labbozzetta, said he was sickened to see the people in the photo "put up as though we were criminals" as pressure continued to mount on Spagnolo over his business dealings, possible salary cap breaches at the Eels and an alleged confrontation with former Parramatta chief executive Denis Fitzgerald -- the man he helped depose as the long-time head of Parramatta Leagues Club.
Five men were pictured and named at a gathering at Spagnolo's Fairfield home in Sydney on Monday. They were:
* Spagnolo, who is reportedly under scrutiny from the Australian Taxation Office over several property developments that collapsed, owing the ATO $1million;
* His brother-in-law Domenic Sergi, whose brother Pat was named in the Woodward royal commission on drug trafficking;
* George Gaitanos, property developer and business partner of Spagnolo;
* Labbozzetta and Vince Lombardo, who is a business associate of Spagnolo and Gaitanos. Gaitanos owns a pub with porn king Con Ange.
Spagnolo said he had legal advice not to comment yesterday when contacted by The Australian, but Labbozzetta was not afraid to speak out in defence of his friend and the Italian community.
Labbozzetta, former president of the Club Marconi licensed club, said he was sick and tired of the continued slurs and sinister undertones "when it comes to anything to do with Italians. It seems if your name ends in an i, e, o, or a, then you must be a criminal," an outraged Labbozzetta said. "It is wrong. Australia has gone back to being a third world country, full of hate and racism.
"What is happening is disgusting, offensive, almost criminal. It is Mediterranean Descendant bashing, simple as that. We are back to the bad old days when people looked down on Italians in this country, called us awful names. The people who have orchestrated this whole campaign should be exposed for what they are."
Eels insiders feel the club is an easy target because of the strong Italian connection there while other clubs have escaped similar scrutiny despite strong rumours about salary cap breaches constantly circling them.
Labbozzetta said the people in the photo are good citizens who have made huge contributions to the community.
"It is offensive that a group of friends can't gather in the backyard of a mate for a coffee and to give him some support as well as organising a charity golf day for the Spastic Centre of NSW without some scumbag hiding in a tree 200 metres away taking photos as if we are criminals," Labbozzetta said. "This was a clear invasion of privacy. It was an act of cowardice.
"Why didn't they have the decency to knock on the door and simply ask if they could take a photo? You know why, because it would have been a nothing photo for them. But, by getting a sneaky photo it makes for a good front page and makes us look bad." Labbozzetta asked why there had been no focus on what Spagnolo, and "many others" had done in helping raise millions of dollars for various charities, including the Spastic Centre of NSW, through the Italian Affair Committee.
"I guess it is not front page-news when you raise $20million in 21 years for charity, is it?" he said.
"Things like that don't happen without the hard work and dedication of people like Roy Spagnolo and Pat Sergi."Labbozzetta, who the newspaper report claimed had lobbied to prevent alleged mafia figure Francesco Madafferi from being deported, said he has nothing to hide over the matter.
"I did nothing wrong," he said. "That matter was raised because a family was involved ... a wife and four kids who were all born in Australia. That's why representations were made to Philip Ruddock (then minister for Immigration) first then Amanda Vanstone, who eventually ruled in favour of him staying in the country. It was a government decision."
Labbozzetta said he wanted people to leave Spagnolo "and the rest of us alone". "Some people with an axe to grind are driving an agenda here because of what happened at Parramatta and this Mediterranean Descendant bashing, this smear campaign has got to stop," he said. "Let Parramatta sort out its problems at the right level and just leave us alone."
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25748597-2722,00.html

And thats my point exactly, back then our players were getting financial advice from people who in no way were linked to the club. the NRL encourages this. The players are free to do whatever they want as long as it does not involve the club.

Their is no rort and completely above board. The SMH as a paper have lost a heap of respect in my eyes. I hope Parra look at any legal action they can take against them on all fronts.

Wonder if the people at the SMH are feeling like a bunch of charlies atm.....

And thats my point exactly, back then our players were getting financial advice from people who in no way were linked to the club. the NRL encourages this. The players are free to do whatever they want as long as it does not involve the club.

Their is no rort and completely above board. The SMH as a paper have lost a heap of respect in my eyes. I hope Parra look at any legal action they can take against them on all fronts.

Wonder if the people at the SMH are feeling like a bunch of charlies atm.....

So now Josh Massoud should be trusted over SMH ? How times have changed. :lol: