Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne buggers off from NFL

You hit the big, hot, red button man, of course the flaming crosses were gonna come out..

If you want to, come at me. but really, if I offended you, and you're a christian, then forgive me. That's what you're supposed to do.

(BTW, I can't believe you guys went two pages hammering a guy cause he wants people to take credit for the effort they put in to achieving great things. You lot are truly funny. like reddit level funny..)

Not quite true.
I was wondering why Korny couldn't just let Jarryd be himself. He was the one questioning someone.

I agree, mate.

Religion is not for me, but it's kind of admirable that people believe and can do the most amazing things because of it.

And I don't even believe that, but I'm stoked for people that do believe it, and Jarryd just appears to be just one of those.

I grew up in the bible belt (ie the Hills - like many on here I assume) - and I had heaps of friends who were/are still heavily into religion - hell I was even a member of the god squad for a period (hey, there were good chicks there) .... I have no problem with anyone who wants to believe in something and revolve their life around it - up to them - as long as they don't look down on me if I don't

Kornstar

Strange post, because you questioned Jarryd's version of why he thinks the way he does? Yet all he has said is he thanks his faith in God.
Not quite sure where you're coming from any more.

Suity.

Once again, I was making a comment in general. Did you not read it? I said it was a shame that people don't credit themselves.

My interpretation was that he credited god completely, just the way I see it.

Having someone have your back is completely different to crediting them for something. I'm not sure where you're coming from.

Not quite true.
I was wondering why Korny couldn't just let Jarryd be himself. He was the one questioning someone.

I didn't question Jarryd specifically, just questioned why people (generalisation) always seem to thank god. It truly is fascinating to me.

Once again, I was making a comment in general. Did you not read it? I said it was a shame that people don't credit themselves.

My interpretation was that he credited god completely, just the way I see it.

Having someone have your back is completely different to crediting them for something. I'm not sure where you're coming from.

I didn't question Jarryd specifically, just questioned why people (generalisation) always seem to thank god. It truly is fascinating to me.

Ok then. No worries.
I've explained that that's just Jarryd and I didn't know where you were coming from.

ash411

Not quite true.

Yeah, what Korny said. He never mentioned Jarryd, his tweet prompted his question, but he was asking about people in general.

Kornstar

Ok then. No worries.
I've explained that that's just Jarryd and I didn't know where you were coming from.

And I am unbelievably happy for him, he has accomplished what seemed impossible.

Can I make another observation? The Australian media tugging themselves how wonderful we are and how anyone can do it now that Hayne has.

Funniest stuff I have heard. Sure there are players with some of his skills but I would question how many have his overall skill, his will and confidence and most of all, balls.

RTS, yep footwork and speed for sure but he would get destroyed by 300+ pound monsters if he tried RB.

Our media seem to think that players like RTS will be automatically signed without trialling and then on top of that just to be a punt/kick returner. There is a reason Jarryd was given a go with multiple tasks, he needed to have more than 1 string to his bow.

Haynzy

I find that when people question other people's faith, or lack thereof, they are really only questioning their own version of what they think faith is.

I believe in God, but I bet I don't believe in the God that you don't believe in.

yy_cheng

I'm not religious, I've yet to be convinced on any religion at the moment. I understand how helpful and the many benefits of the support structure that they provide though. I have experienced Christian ones and Buddhist ones and they are great for people in need

My parents are Roman Catholics and they go to church every week. I even work for a catholic mob.

However they have yet to convince me of their beliefs.

many times when they try to explain it to me, there are no answers except you just have to believe and have faith

I have no issues with people believing in whatever they like but I detest it when they try to convert me and day things like they are in a better position than me because they have this faith

My wife has a friend that tries to convert me all the time. She even sendd me bibles and books like there is a god. I just give them to Vinnie's

I even have 30 minute debates with door knockers trying to convince me to join their congregation. I just ask them questions which they can't answer besides you have to have faith.

I find religion interesting and I do try and learn more about them but just haven't been convinced yet

Parra

I've never had a door knocker who wasn't polite and that took more than 15 seconds to politely leave the door step.

I call bullshit on 30 minutes. Not worth their time or yours.

yy_cheng

This friend of my wife doesn't save for the future. They spend what they have. They take holidays etc instead of saving

Her daughter is worried about their retirement and tries to help them save. But they just keep spending

I ask them what about when you need money in the future? Their answer is, don't need to worry about that, god will provide for us when we are in need

yy_cheng

I've never had a door knocker who wasn't polite and that took more than 15 seconds to politely leave the door step.

I call bullshit on 30 minutes. Not worth their time or yours.

No bs. I ask them what their belief is about. They explain. They say the bible says this and this. I ask which version of the bible do you read from? They say king James bible. I ask them do you know how king James bible was put together. They say it is gods words. Etc etc

You can ask my neighbours because they think I am crazy spending so much time talking to them.

I only chat to the young arrogant ones. To throw doubt in their beliefs

The nuns and older people I just say i am Buddhist and they leave

Anyway .......

Preseason Star Jarryd Hayne Earns Spot on 49ers Roster; Now Real Work Begins

bfef6c987f78eab7cafee9836197227d_crop_north.jpg

Jarryd Hayne is a professional football player.

First a rugby player, then an oddity, then a wonder, Hayne has reportedly made the San Francisco 49ers' initial 53-man active roster, according to Matt Maiocco of CSN Bay Area. As happens far too rarely, one of the most interesting, exciting stories of the NFL preseason gets a storybook ending.

There's no room on an NFL roster for a gimmick or a sideshow—especially not this roster.

After the 49ers suffered the most horrifying talent exodus in recent NFL history, they desperately need contributions from every player on the squad. Gone are the days of general manager Trent Baalke stashing raw and injured prospects on the bottom of the squad while the two-deeps wreaked havoc on the NFC. New head coach Jim Tomsula simply can't afford to keep a guy around if he isn't helping the team win.

Hayne earned his spot by doing just that in the preseason, over and over again.

The 27-year-old Australian announced his intention to leave the National Rugby League last October, possibly inspired by American rugby international Carlin Isles joining the Detroit Lions' practice squad some months before.

"It's going to be really hard for [Hayne]," Isles told ESPN.com's Michael Rothstein back in March. "It depends on his dedication. I think if he's dedicated, he could speed up the process. But for him, who never played football and to understand the defensive schemes, to understand the holes, the footwork, things like that, it's going to take some time."

Dedication is exactly what Hayne showed—not to mention jaw-dropping open-field ability and fast adaptation to the assignments and responsibilities of running in an NFL offense.

It started early: Tyler Emerick of the team's official site praised Hayne's first-ever padded practice, complimenting the obvious effort Hayne put into pass blocking and pad level. Days later, the 49ers posted video of Hayne excelling in goal-line work, blasting through three hard hits on his way to paydirt.

Once the 49ers reached the preseason, Hayne's speed, balance, power and return ability were impossible to miss:

VIDEO -->http://nfl.cpl.delvenetworks.com/pl...stId&mediaId=ac13029a6ba74117bf7f00423ceaaa50

The 53-yard run and 33-yard kickoff return against the Houston Texans were just a taste of what Hayne could do.

Against the Dallas Cowboys, Hayne led the 49ers in rushing with 54 yards on just eight carries, including another long run from scrimmage (34 yards). He also returned three punts—but he didn't just return them. On one, he caught the punt over his shoulder, on the fly, before turning around and rolling upfield for 27 yards:

VIDEO -->http://nfl.cpl.delvenetworks.com/pl...stId&mediaId=00c4ee7db6c3415d80adfdb0c8bbcb66

n the third preseason game, the so-called dress rehearsal where starters typically play into the second half, Hayne's impact was limited to just one 18-yard catch and one 12-yard punt return, as well as two fruitless carries.

If this was a sneak preview of what to expect from Hayne in the regular season, 30 all-purpose yards on four touches is still an impressive, worthwhile contribution.

In the fourth preseason game, we got a look at what Hayne could someday be: one of the primary ways the 49ers advance the ball. With a big diet of 10 carries, he averaged a healthy 5.8 yards; he also caught two passes for 17 yards and returned three punts for an average of 14 yards each (and a long of 28).

Hayne likely sealed his place on the roster that night. When Hayne went on social media to rejoice in his making the team, fellow 49ers tailback Mike Davis laughed at him for acting like it was a surprise:

IG MikeDavisRB @MikeDavisRB
Jerrod you knew you was making the team lol https://twitter.com/jarrydhayne_1/status/640258620244951040 …
6:23 AM - 6 Sep 2015

Of course, Hayne's spot on the roster isn't sealed at all.

Like any other undrafted free-agent rookie, Hayne is a member of an endangered species. Their typical career is nasty, brutish and short. Every week he stays on the roster will be another victory; every opportunity he doesn't maximize—backward run, muffed punt, lost fumble—could be his last on the 49ers roster.

Starter Carlos Hyde and change-of-pace back Reggie Bush have those two roles locked down. Hayne led all 49ers backs (and came in second in the NFL) with 175 rushing yards this preseason, but he can't be considered clearly ahead of Davis, a fourth-round rookie who piled up 113 yards of his own. If fifth-year veteran Kendall Hunter weren't going to injured reserve, Hayne's spot may not have been open at all.

Even in the return game, Hayne has a lot of bodies ahead of him. Bush can return both kicks and punts, 2014 fourth-round pick Bruce Ellington was last year's primary returner, and fellow free-agent rookie DeAndrew White made a splash on returns too—and he, like Hayne, posted to social media that he made the team.

If Hayne really wants to make it as a professional football player, this is the first step of the journey, not the last—and the real work has just begun.
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/...rns-spot-on-49ers-roster-now-real-work-begins

yeah we have some mob nearby that regularly come knocking .... I think they might be 7th Day Adventists .... they are perfectly nice when you say you are not interested

yy_cheng

Do you reckon that hayne is putting more effort in for NFL than he ever did for NRL?

Or it's just s media blowup?

If so imagine if He applied the same effort in league?