Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

Haynzy

I can't understand some of the hate in this thread.
Hayne is a professional athelete, just like any of us who are professionals in our own chosen careers. He has chosen to test himself on his strengths in his profession, with the ultimate reward being success. Who amongst us wouldn't want to do that? Oh, that's right - the weak and feeble.

He has stated that this is not a financial decision. I believe him. He was a young kid bought up in Minto that has achieved incredible success and undoubtedly, a good deal of wealth beyond his dreams already. I don't think money is his motivation.

For those "claiming" that the timing is poor - when would the timing have been better? It's just 6 weeks after our last game and it appears he was still mulling over the decision during those 6 weeks, with the trip to Seattle.
What would you have preferred? Christmas Day? Just before next season starts? Half way through next season and risk destabilising the team? Fair dinkum. The timing couldn't have been better tbh.

I have the utmost respect and support for what he is doing. It would have been a f**king tough decision but just like the risks he took as a player, he is taking the same risks in making this decision. He has no contract and no big pay day yet. It is a gamble.

As I said in a previous post, I'm saddened. I'm shocked. I'm disappointed.
But I don't hate. I wish him the best.

Totally agree Suity.

Letting Tanginoa go wasn't about freeing cap space (it would have freed little more than minimum salary) but about freeing a top 25 spot for another forward.

Hayne leaving won't necessarily free a spot because he was top 17 - therefore we need to replace him. But it will free up heaps of cash, especially if Hopoate moves to fullback (rather than signing a new expensive fullback).

Noise

Freed up cash on next years salary cap is only useful if we use it to buy some quality players for next year. I fail to see where they are going to come from.

Crooks, Reece Plodman and McPherson aren't quality players????

Not quite. Another option is to front load some extensions of players we want to keep.....e.g. Hoppa, whoever else can run and pass at the same time. Or, indeed to to reduce the alleged backloading in Watmough's contract to allow us more flexibility in 2016 etc

Plenty of clubs have players they are willing to offload, especially when those players are pissing and moaning about the money or opportunity on offer elsewhere. Or they're just pissed off where they are.

Some clubs need to free up money under the cap (e.g. Dragons) while others have too many fullbacks (e.g. Broncos). Then there are blokes playing in England or in other sports.

Finally, free cap space can be used to front load contract extensions.

Noise

If we don't sign any quality and front load a bunch of merkins I'm guessing 2015 is a write off.

Delboy

Hayne has been upfront with the club since he started seriously considering it 12 months ago.
He gave the club more than 24 hours notice i can tell you that.

Joely, I just heard Tim Mannah on 2 UE , said he was called by Jaryd on Tuesday morning and asked if he would go to coffee. Tim said he was busy, Jarry said I've got some news, Tim said what you have resigned . Jarryd told Tim that he made his mind up the previous evening that he would try NFL

I am still surprised that you seem certain that the club knew, maybe you can tell us this weeks Powerball numbers.

I spoke again to the people at the club today, and no,one knew, not even Wayne Beavis knew until Monday night, care to enlighten us all how you knew?

IFR33K

If delboy says parramattas coaching staff didn't know, it would take a stupid man to suggest otherwise.

Also joely, didn't u tell us RS wasn't leaving the eels last year. You were pretty adamant about that back then too.

Just saying.

Hayne leaving could pan out either way. It has left a bad taste in my mouth thou.

I’m old enough to be Hayne’s father and if he came to me for advice and said “Dad I’ve had a secret training session in the US and had some skill tests and went really well. I’m going to tell you something. You know I always have loved gridiron and now I want to chase my dreams. I also love it so much more than FIFA. I always get highest score on PlayStation and I have seen plenty of YouTube Videos. I Know I'm 26 but I'm a fast learner, I’m gonna quit and play NFL.”

Me: ”Son, you are the best player in the NRL. The Eels have just offered you $7 Million over 5 years. Why take such a gamble? You are about to become the highest paid player in the NRL. This took many months of negotiation with sponsors and decisions were made on overall recruitment to get to this point. The Eels want you for life. They respect you. The fans adore you. They have improved out of sight under Arthur. You still have unfinished business. I think you will win a premiership with them before you retire. They are relying on you and the timing isn’t right for you to leave, you will leave them in the lurch for 2015 and they will probably go backwards and have to rebuild again. Choc wants to come because you are there. Others will also follow. The team revolves around you, you are also the Captain. Son, you are also actually under contract which is like a promise, a little like the one that you keep saying you have made with God. It works both ways you know.”

Hayne: “But dad I want to chase my dreams. I’m the man, I’m spent with League, I’ve done everything in the game, winning the comp isn’t everything. It’s all about the journey.”

[FONT=&quot]Me: “I know son, it’s always been about you and it pains me to realise this now.”[/FONT]

I don't understand how Hayne can say it's always been his dream to play in the NFL, but he waits until he's 26 to make a fist of it...

Logically his leaving is good, because we have cap space now.

But emotionally...well, I loved watching him play, and he's pretty much f**ked our 2015 season without a ball being kicked in anger.

I'm feeling a little flat tbh.

IFR33K

I don't understand how Hayne can say it's always been his dream to play in the NFL, but he waits until he's 26 to make a fist of it...

Logically his leaving is good, because we have cap space now.

But emotionally...well, I loved watching him play, and he's pretty much f**ked our 2015 season without a ball being kicked in anger.

I'm feeling a little flat tbh.

I hear u brother!!!!

I would of thought his dream would be to captain his team to a gf victory.

Call me selfish and irrational, but hasn't hayne just belittled his club, team mates, sponsors and fans.

I hear u brother!!!!

I would of thought his dream would be to captain his team to a gf victory.

Call me selfish and irrational, but hasn't hayne just belittled his club, team mates, sponsors and fans.

Yeah - hasn't been a great couple of days tbh.

Tony Bongo

I think Jarryd will come back to the eels, he has said himself many times that he doesn't want to play with anyone in League apart from Parra, he will be an eel again, just know it

No doubt that is why the club let him off the hook so easily but then again how often does a club force a player to keep his word these days?

If Hayne left to play with another NRL side I would hate him for life, much like Lyon who to this day am still fuming those coins didnt hit the turd.

But why cant hayne do what he wants to in another sport? why should he do what the fans tell him to do, does that seem fair? you only live once mate, you have to make the most of it.

Don Lane show was sick.

What's the difference? It would be better for us if he did go to another NRL club. That way over a million dollars worth of players would be available to fill the void he's left by walking out on us.

Lol at those who actually believe Hayne only gave the club 24hrs also.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...the-nfl-for-league-stars-20141015-116ivk.html

That there quote says it all folks... selfish to the extreme, and couldn't give a rats about the contract he's welching on, or the state he's leaving his teammates and the club in.

I wouldn't be that harsh but he does seem to be justifying his lack of integrity with the catch phrases of 'live your dreams' and 'follow your heart etc'. In my world the most honourable thing is to be a man of your word and finish the job. In my profession saying that "I'm not finishing the job because I have realised that it's not challenging enough" doesn't cut it.

So why didn't we block his move?

Why didn't we take legal action for breaking his contract?

Because IF he does return to the NRL we want him back - hence the 'contract for life' mantra we are being fed.

Joely, I just heard Tim Mannah on 2 UE , said he was called by Jaryd on Tuesday morning and asked if he would go to coffee. Tim said he was busy, Jarry said I've got some news, Tim said what you have resigned . Jarryd told Tim that he made his mind up the previous evening that he would try NFL

I am still surprised that you seem certain that the club knew, maybe you can tell us this weeks Powerball numbers.

I spoke again to the people at the club today, and no,one knew, not even Wayne Beavis knew until Monday night, care to enlighten us all how you knew?

yup

Jodeci and Joely were both in the know yet never told anyone until after Hayne announced it

they just can't handle the fact that Hayne left us in lurch and instead want to blame the club

Delboy

On reflection this was a selfish action by someone who only considered one person, himself

Burgess for instance gave the club time to recruit and use his salary cap space, JH could have left at th end of his contract or advised at the beginning of the season that he would go once it finished. That is what a real team player wold have done

He has jeopardised the club and his only legacy by his action

Quite a sad ending for someone who was so admired and a fan favourite

It has left a very hollow feeling for most of us, he earns millions and wasn't prepared to do the right thing :(