No chance Bert is making a comeback though (is there, I mean we do need a centre if Hoppa goes to FB).
He'd be a gun.
:sarcasm:
No chance Bert is making a comeback though (is there, I mean we do need a centre if Hoppa goes to FB).
Anyone who says anything negative about Brett Kenny is not an Eels fan and has never been one.
Same goes for Hayne.
Same goes for Ray Price, Mick Cronin & Peter Sterling
I have a question (and it is from genuine curiosity):
Hayne carried this team for years and did it all for us, and that seemingly entitles him to do what he likes (and I'm not having a go).
But then people seem happy to give Brett Kenny shit about anything he says or does.
Now, granted - he mostly gives negative feedback these days, but he won us Premierships and is an all-time great of the code and the club.
So why is the same respect not afforded to Kenny? Surely he's earned the right to be a cranky merkin, given what he did for the Eels?
Well, that's what I think.
If you love this club, then Brett Kenny is like a deity for you.
Some pretty fair questions there, mate.
Hard to answer I guess...Kenny was my hero growing up, and he played in an era where players didn't get paid so well...just how it was. I sort of understand the pain that underlies most of what he has to say, but shit I don't really know.
I suspect the fairest comparison will be to see what people think 10-15 years after Hayne retires.
Hope both of them are deservedly revered. Don't know whether that will be the case.
Sio was never staying.
They wanted him to take a $70k paycut
Dogs and Souths came in too late after he agreed to go to Super League.
I think I recall the last time this place got stuck into past champions, it was okay to bag them out if you hadn't seen them play cause like, you can only go on someone else's opinion that they were really that good and that didn't count for heaps of posters who hadn't seen the greats of the '80s in action.
I never saw them play live, but I have pretty much every game from our golden era on VHS, and I studied them religiously when I first started developing an interest in the code.
As far as I am concerned, Brett Kenny was a natural - his anticipation and feel for the game were second to none.
I never saw them play live, but I have pretty much every game from our golden era on VHS, and I studied them religiously when I first started developing an interest in the code.
As far as I am concerned, Brett Kenny was a natural - his anticipation and feel for the game were second to none.
I am one of the lucky ones then cause i lived through the golden era... From about 10 years of age I used to sit on the hill (or the roof of the old dunny block) in the late 70's and early 80's and watch them all play.
Spent the years getting bus and train to Belmore. Queued up outside the old Grace Bros. entrance in Argyle St for days to get into Ticketek when GF tickets went on sale. Slept for 2 nights out the back of the SCG (the Moore Park Rd Entrance) to get best GA seats for the 81, 82 and 83 GF's.
Loved the skill of Cronin, Ella, Sterlo, Kenny, etc. but my favourite was the sheer effort for a little bloke who played well above his weight in Paul Taylor.
Yep, to me he was a bit like some high class soccer players...he'd just drop his shoulder slightly and he was gone.
Not many will remember that the club had to let him and Sterlo play the off season and 6 weeks of the regular season in the UK to keep them
Which is less than a tenth of what Hayne was on. It's hard to be sure either way if they would have retained Sio but their is no doubt recruitment and retention decisions across the board would have been vastly different if Hayne had the decency to give reasonable notice.
Yep, to me he was a bit like some high class soccer players...he'd just drop his shoulder slightly and he was gone.
Not many will remember that the club had to let him and Sterlo play the off season and 6 weeks of the regular season in the UK to keep them
Paul Taylor! Mighty Mouse! Loved the little bloke!
I didn't know that! Or maybe I did and I forgot!
I love watching those old tapes - Cronin, Ella, Price, Kenny, Sterling, O'Reilly...
Where do you draw the line though?
What defines who is okay to bag out and who isn't - premiership winners are sacrosanct but other aren't?
Hayne doesn't have decency now? f**k off and support some other club. Taint something else. I've heard soccer likes bongo drums - go bang them there.
So by telling the truth about your boyfriend WHO LEFT OUR CLUB - I'm not supporting our club? How about I go and follow an NFL team? Oh and GO THE WANDERERS and CHELSEA!
I think the same people who bag Kenny and Price are the same ones bagging Hayne. Likewise the ones for whom Bert, Pricey and Jayne can do no wrong.
Personally I try to be objective. Hayne's the best player I've seen but I'm glad he's gone. And if he ever comes back (to Parra) I hope we have a strong leadership group in place and the NRL pays half his salary. If he comes back and plays for someone else I hope they pay full price and never win anything.