Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

cleary89

Serious answer: New Zealand.

Yothu Yindi sang of an Australian treaty which was broken. We have a real treaty in NZ (although controversial to some).

When in napier for the saints game on the weekend i saw "maori wardens" on the walking route to the game. Like more of them the cops. I asked my maori mate wtf is that anf he saif that maoris wouldnt listen to a white fella policeman so they have them for maori crowd control. I didnt believe him but he swore by it.

Some people use the case of that 13 year old girl as a reason for the hate, leaving aside that it never would've happened if she had better parents that raised her properly. Facts are, nobody booed him for the rest of 2013 or even 2014 like they do now. It seems the booing started after his war dance.

Waleed Aly sums up the situation best.

"There is no mystery about this at all". "And it's not as simple as it being about race, it's about something else. It's about the fact that Australia is generally a very tolerant society until its minorities demonstrate that they don't know their place. And at that moment, the minute someone in a minority position acts as though they're not a mere supplicant, then we lose our minds. And we say, 'No, no, you've got to get back in your box here'."

RoosTah

people don't boo goodes because he's aborigine, people boo him cause they think he's a wanker. the same way gallen gets booed in qld, the pm gets booed anywhere. but they're white so there's no chance of invoking a racial inference to cover the fact everyone thinks you're a dickhead.

Mate, with respect that's bullshit. There's no equivalent in Rugby League. Gal gets booed in Qld during Origin, but he doesn't get booed EVERY f**kING TIME HE TOUCHES THE BALL in every game every week does he? No he doesn't. I mean FFS Gal doesn't even get booed when the Sharks play the Broncos or Cowboys up in Qld with anything like the consistency Goodes gets booed in bogan Melbourne or West Australia, or pretty well anywhere outside of Sydney now.

Seriously, there's no moral equivalence here mate.

wests1

Seriously people - it's not that hard.
He wasn't booed before he took a stand on the issue of race. After he did he began being targeted and then systematically booed after he performed a tribal dance.
DoigeNT well-bloody-done mate. Despite the fact you have made it clear over and over again what the issue we are talking about is people still come out with the same stupid regurgitation and you haven't gone berserk.
People aren't saying that he is being booed because of his race - but to say it's not because he took a stand and acted as a leader on the issue flies in the face of all the evidence.
'We like him as long as he doesn't speak up about his race' 'stop sooking and get on with it' despite the fact that there is a wealth of evidence that he has copped pretty outrageous abuse etc are examples that this clearly is a racial issue. If that makes you uncomfortable - well sorry.

rabbitohs95

Seriously people - it's not that hard.
He wasn't booed before he took a stand on the issue of race. After he did he began being targeted and then systematically booed after he performed a tribal dance.
DoigeNT well-bloody-done mate. Despite the fact you have made it clear over and over again what the issue we are talking about is people still come out with the same stupid regurgitation and you haven't gone berserk.
People aren't saying that he is being booed because of his race - but to say it's not because he took a stand and acted as a leader on the issue flies in the face of all the evidence.
'We like him as long as he doesn't speak up about his race' 'stop sooking and get on with it' despite the fact that there is a wealth of evidence that he has copped pretty outrageous abuse etc are examples that this clearly is a racial issue. If that makes you uncomfortable - well sorry.

Which goes to show how f*cked some people are.

Why are you having a cry about someone standing up against racism?

Some of the comments bigots like Steve Price (the wanker on the project) and Alan Jones have made just go to show how stupid some people are.

RoosTah

Some of the comments bigots like Steve Price (the wanker on the project) and Alan Jones have made just go to show how stupid some people are.

The dumbest c#nt out there has to be that Dermont Brereton - heard him losing his shit at Kelli Underwood yesterday because she ACCURATELY repeated his argument that Adam Goodes needed to "look within" over this.

The f**ktard then went on to say "I chose my words carefully - I didn't say whether the result of that inward search was good or bad" - as though people would read that and think "Yeah, Dermnont is clearly suggesting Goodes should look inward because he's clearly in the right"

f**king dog whistling racism at its worst.

Shorty

Omg I could not believe that crap, but that guy is a f**ktard of the highest order.
The very best example of middle aged privileged white guy, but look at all of the ones that have spoken out against Adam Goodes...they're all the same type.

rabbitohs95

omg i could not believe that crap, but that guy is a f**ktard of the highest order.
The very best example of middle aged privileged white guy, but look at all of the ones that have spoken out against adam goodes...they're all the same type.

white male aged 18-49.jpg

Great comparison
They've had roughly the same career length.
Hodges has been booed almost his entire career, it didn't take long for people to dislike him for his arrogant swagger and his grubby play. As much as he is disliked he isn't actually booed every time he touches the ball
Goodes was actually respected for the majority of his career, he won best and fairest awards and was considered a role model in the game. In the last few years his become hated for being a dirty player, a flog, a wanker. He gets booed every time he touches the ball gets called ape and told to go back to the zoo.
Hodges boos have been constant throughout his career
Goodes boos started in 2013
This argument makes no sense.

Are you saying it took people years to realise Goodes was aboriginal and when they found out he was they just started spontaneously booing? That's f**king geniused.

BunniesMan

The issue at the root of this is much bigger than a petty code rivalry. Good on JT and GI standing up in support for what is right.

The booing of Goodes started when he pointed out a racist fan in the crowd during a game in 2013. Racists have obviously been making a lot of excuses about why their hatred of him is about anything other than race. Anyone with common sense can see racial issues are at the heart of it.

RoosTah

Are you saying it took people years to realise Goodes was aboriginal and when they found out he was they just started spontaneously booing? That's f**king geniused.

Not only that, but Hodges - whilst hated by a lot of fans because of his dirty play - doesn't get booed at EVERY GAME every time he touches the f##king ball.

Again, people who keep looking for an equivalent case in Rugby League, here's a hint: there isn't one!

The closest thing we have is the Kiwis hatred of Quade Cooper in Union - and he gave them good reason with his cocky and disrespectful treatment of their patron saint, Richie McCaw. But even they don't boo Cooper at every game in Super Rugby level.

DiegoNT

Ok I'll go through this yet again
People claim they only boo Goodes because he's a jerk, they say it's comparable to people in the nrl booing Hodges because he's a jerk.
Where that argument falls apart is that Hodges has been booed his whole career for being a jerk. Goodes was actually cheered and respected as a player for the majority of his career. It wasn't until after he made his stand against racism did people start thinking of him as a jerk. It wasn't until after his stand against racism that suddenly he is a dirty player, and that hr dives for penalties (despite him receiving 11 penalties this year ranking him something like 160th In penalties received).
Goodes is booed because his black, like someone said there are 70 other indigenous afl players who don't recieve this treatment , but because he only started receiving this treatment after making this stand makes it racial issue

RoosTah

Ok I'll go through this yet again
People claim they only boo Goodes because he's a jerk, they say it's comparable to people in the nrl booing Hodges because he's a jerk.
Where that argument falls apart is that Hodges has been booed his whole career for being a jerk. Goodes was actually cheered and respected as a player for the majority of his career. It wasn't until after he made his stand against racism did people start thinking of him as a jerk. It wasn't until after his stand against racism that suddenly he is a dirty player, and that hr dives for penalties (despite him receiving 11 penalties this year ranking him something like 160th In penalties received).
Goodes is booed because his black, like someone said there are 70 other indigenous afl players who don't recieve this treatment , but because he only started receiving this treatment after making this stand makes it racial issue

You're 100% on this post, but I don't get why Hodges is even being brought up; it isn't equivalent at all. Since when was he booed every time he touched the ball at every game?

DiegoNT

You're 100% on this post, but I don't get why Hodges is even being brought up; it isn't equivalent at all. Since when was he booed every time he touched the ball at every game?

Thats exactly right. They keep trying to find an nrl equivalent but they can't, we haven't had a player go through what Goodes has had to and make a stand like Goodes has had to for a very long time

God-King Dean

The 'only boo Goodes because he took a stand' argument is so bad.

Dozens of sports stars have taken a stand against racism. None of them have been boo'd.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/ad...s-race-relations/story-fndujljl-1227462944613

Adam Goodes racism: Johnathan Thurston says NRL crowds more progressive than AFL crowds on indigenous race relations

THE NRL has backed Indigenous superstars Johnathan Thurston and Greg Inglis for supporting embattled Swans star Adam Goodes.

Thurston and Inglis are planning on performing a traditional Aboriginal war dance if they score a try on the weekend in a show of solidarity.

On Thursday, NRL CEO Dave Smith took to social media to support the stance the players were taking against racism.

So proud of GI and JT for supporting @adamroy37 Inclusiveness is crucial to our success as a game and our standing as a nation
— Dave Smith (@DaveSmithNRL) July 30, 2015

Thurston spoke out on Thursday as the booing controversy surrounding AFL great Adam Goodes reaches fever pitch, dividing opinion among commentators and the Australian public.

Thurston says NRL crowds are far more progressive than AFL crowds when it comes to indigenous race relations.

“For many years the NRL has looked towards the AFL as the leader in sport in the country and I think on this issue the NRL is far beyond the AFL on this,” Thurston told the Triple M Grill Team.

“GI (Greg Inglis) asked all the boys if they score a try to do a war dance to show solidarity and stamp out this racism that’s starting to steamroller sport in Australia.

“It’s very appalling that in this day and age, racism is still a part of sport and society.”

Thurston said that while he’d been booed before, he didn’t believe the boos were racially charged.

“I can’t say I’ve personally been racially taunted on the field by opposition fans,” he said.

“I’ve played at grounds where I’ve been booed, but in no way have I felt that they’ve racially booed me.”

Thurston, who is planning to perform an indigenous war dance if he scores for North Queensland as a show of solidarity with Goodes, is most concerned about Goodes’ mental wellbeing.

“We’ve got to remember this is starting to effect him mentally now and this is where we need to be supportive of him and stand for his mental welfare at the moment,” he said.

“He feels as though the boos are racially (motivated) towards him, that’s the difference ... if he was going down there for a free kick or trying to milk a penalty ... people boo and I still think there’s room for that in the game.

“(But) Goodes thinks that these boos are racially towards him.”

“Paul Gallen, every time he plays in Queensland he gets heavily booed ... if he came out and said that he feels that that is racially booing him, I’d urge our fans to stop that.”

RoosTah

The 'only boo Goodes because he took a stand' argument is so bad.

Dozens of sports stars have taken a stand against racism. None of them have been boo'd.

Please name them. In the U.S. Mohamed Ali took a massive stand against racism and was hated viciously by a lot of whites as a result. Similar arguments were used against him - "we aren't racist, we just don't like him."

Do you have an explanation as to why it's only started after he took a stand?