Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

Canard

The 'only boo Goodes because he took a stand' argument is so bad.

Dozens of sports stars have taken a stand against racism. None of them have been boo'd.

Dozens of indigenous stars in the AFL haven't made as public a stand as he has.

Because they have been conditioned to only support tokenism at best.

DiegoNT

The 'only boo Goodes because he took a stand' argument is so bad.

Dozens of sports stars have taken a stand against racism. None of them have been boo'd.

The culture of racism in the afl is bad and so far behind the times that this Goodes issue is almost unique in this modern age.
Times have changed so much that they rarely have to make these kind of stands anymore , and when they do they usually have the support of the fans and people in general ( LA Clippers racism scandal is an example).

The issue at the root of this is much bigger than a petty code rivalry. Good on JT and GI standing up in support for what is right.

The booing of Goodes started when he pointed out a racist fan in the crowd during a game in 2013. Racists have obviously been making a lot of excuses about why their hatred of him is about anything other than race. Anyone with common sense can see racial issues are at the heart of it.

The booing started after the war dance, it has not been going on for two and a half years. Racist merkins have been sighting the 13 year old girl incident as well as his playing style as build up to what the situation has escalated to.

God-King Dean

Please name them. In the U.S. Mohamed Ali took a massive stand against racism and was hated viciously by a lot of whites as a result. Similar arguments were used against him - "we aren't racist, we just don't like him."

Do you have an explanation as to why it's only started after he took a stand?

You want me to list all minority's players who have spoken against racism who haven't been boo'd? Don't feign ignorance to try win an argument.

Ali's was different because 60's USA was extremely racist. Nobody would argue otherwise.

You asking why it only happened when he took a stand, is against, feigning ignorance. The entire thread is dedicated to the subject, and it's been repeated a thousand times. But I'll humour you - it's how he went about it.

The NRL equivalent to this would be the Tahu/ Johns incident in 2011 (though Tahu wasn't actually boo'd as such). Tahu spoke out against racism, but at the end of it everyone thought he was a wanker. Why? How he went about it.

The booing started after the war dance, it has not been going on for two and a half years. Racist merkins have been sighting the 13 year old girl incident as well as his playing style as build up to what the situation has escalated to.

Calling Australia a racist country after winning Australian of the Year didn't help either.

STORM.99/07

The media have said the booing against adam goods is racial. the fans boo him cos they think he is a tosser. adam Goodes has made it racial cos he can`t face knowing he is a tosser.
nrl fans booed mundane not cos he was aborigine but cos he was a tosser.
I think GI and JT should just mind their own business and just play footy.

The media have said the booing against adam goods is racial. the fans boo him cos they think he is a tosser. adam Goodes has made it racial cos he can`t face knowing he is a tosser.
nrl fans booed mundane not cos he was aborigine but cos he was a tosser.
I think GI and JT should just mind their own business and just play footy.

All those tossers didn't get booed anywhere near as much as Goodes. Mundine was mainly booed because we don't like our Abbos showing lip.

Headless Chook

Well the way I read it is that gallen doesn't get booed to the same level that Goodes does, and if he does get booed at a goodes level that it only happens in Queensland not nationwide. Im sure that's how Canard intended it and how most others interpreted it

The key difference is Gal actually enjoys and thrives off all the jeers and abuse that gets thrown at him from go to woe at Suncorp. Goodes does not.

BunniesMan

It has been going for almost every away game over the last 2 years, I know, I've watched most of them. But it has gotten worse with time.

Yes they've called him a bully for pointing her out when a) he didn't know her age, b) it doesn't justify calling him an ape, and c) he accepted her apology and called on people to educate her instead of hating her.

And yes another red herring is they say he is an umpires pet when he has only been given 11 free kicks all season, which places him at about 200th in the AFL.

Being awarded Australian of the Year made it worse. And he was given that because of his indigenous work. So that is another racial issue.

The BigFooty thread on Goodes has gotten to 8621 posts and it is basically all arguing whether this is or isn't racism (there is a poll in that thread and 68.8% of people think it isn't racism, 68.8% of people on BigFooty are either ignorant at best or racist at worst).

STORM.99/07

I think it was in poor taste when goodsy did the war dance.of course he was going to get a reaction from the crowd. if he gives it then he has to man up and take it like a man.

some11

The NRL equivalent to this would be the Tahu/ Johns incident in 2011 (though Tahu wasn't actually boo'd as such). Tahu spoke out against racism, but at the end of it everyone thought he was a wanker. Why? How he went about it.

Johns called Inglis a 'black cunt' (don't delete this mods, it's verified and verbatim)

How else was Tahu meant to react, himself being indigenous?

BunniesMan

I think it was in poor taste when goodsy did the war dance.of course he was going to get a reaction from the crowd. if he gives it then he has to man up and take it like a man.

The dance didn't cause the booing. The booing, coming first, caused the dance.

Getting a reaction is fine as a one off, though. Anyway, I didn't find what he did offensive so no reason for the constant booing. Isn't the Haka a war dance anyway, yet that's celebrated.

Maybe he should expand his repitoire to include the dance of the stolen children, the dance of the poisoned well or the dance of the institutionalised poverty?