Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Katich cut from contract list

yappy

Probably been building for a while, eg getting dumped after scoring about 200 runs for the match against India then tour century, for Andrew symonds of all people, regularly being the fall guy for a side. And really, probably never feeling secure in the side despite how good his form had been, justified by a few bad tests when carrying serious injuries and thats it, career over, whilst Hussey, pre ashes, was averaging something like 34 over his previous 35 tests (including a ton in a match the opposition threw), Pontings been in woeful form for some time, his replacement averaged just 16 in the tests after Kats injury.

Not to mention the Watson vs Hughes scenario of 09 Ashes. where was Hilditch's case for building a long term opening partnership then, when they did drop Hughes as quick as they could for Watson. In this case it paid off, however it shows the double standards evident.

Legal Action seems a bit silly, wont change much, but I can understand frustration build up over a long period of time boiling over and, lets face it, CA deserve any serve they get at the moment.

Yeah no doubt. Kat has copped a few shockers over the years and you've highlighted a few of the decisions that stand out as glaring black marks against the selectors. It's pretty obvious they have their pets (yes Mitchell Johnson (amongst many) I'm talking about you - sure you were always going to be rested for Adelaide!), but that happens everywhere. Every football team you can look at players and think 'what do you have over the coach'? That's professional sport and always will be. So yeah he has a right to be a bit miffed, and lets face it, he's about to take a pretty big pay cut, but I just can't see how having a public hissy about it does anything more than make him look like a sook. Even when we're all nodding our heads in furious agreement with what he's saying.

deadweight0

if you watch the interview he says that he considered it and legal action "isn't his style". i hardly see this as sour grapes. he's a senior and respected figure in australian cricket and he is calling out a manifestly flawed and widely acknowledged diabolical administration and their modus operandi. it's worthy to note his appreciation for others who have befallen the same fate he has. there'll no doubt be repercussions but i found his statement largely refreshing. the politics in australian cricket is terrible at times. it's like the f**king labour party. ugh. and some people wonder why clarke is disliked.

(not necessarily directed at you yappy, a general comment.)

Sudhir

Hmmm. If these events were being played out in the England team, I dare say people here would call the sacked cricketer a "Whinging Pom"

Yet when it's an Australian having a sook, he's a national hero :lol:

yappy

if you watch the interview he says that he considered it and legal action "isn't his style". i hardly see this as sour grapes. he's a senior and respected figure in australian cricket and he is calling out a manifestly flawed and widely acknowledged diabolical administration and their modus operandi. it's worthy to note his appreciation for others who have befallen the same fate he has. there'll no doubt be repercussions but i found his statement largely refreshing. the politics in australian cricket is terrible at times. it's like the f**king labour party. ugh. and some people wonder why clarke is disliked.

(not necessarily directed at you yappy, a general comment.)

ha, no probs deadweight. I just reckon he shouldn't have even considered it, and even if he did admit it publicly. Not helpful.

But to play devil's advocate if today is what was needed to get us rid of the current system and particularly the incumbents then good.

Red Bear

Hmmm. If these events were being played out in the England team, I dare say people here would call the sacked cricketer a "Whinging Pom"

Most even-minded cricketing judges would probably support the cricketer if he was dumped having scored nearly 300 runs in the past 3 years, especially when the reasons given are, well, horseshit, when you look at others being awarded contracts and their performances of late.

Of course effigy burning or using your sway to get umpires replaced might be the more honourable Indian way to go about things?

yappy

If whinging was an olympic sport we'd be looking at silver minimum I reckon. We've got it better than almost anywhere else in the world, but frog don't we want everyone to know how tough we're doing it...

HevyDevy

Actually I applaud Kat for his comments. I have no doubt that plenty of players feel the same way about the selection panel but don't want to say anything for obvious reasons. Kat has used this as an opportunity to express what they're thinking.

And there is no way it reeks of sour grapes. If the decision was generally warranted then yes, it would be sour grapes, but when 99% of the population knows what a farce CA is then no, it doesn't come across as sour grapes at all.

Hallatia

No, just saying that he considered it. Frankly it's a frogging joke. Can you imagine the can of worms that would be opened up if any professional sportsperson could sue the selectors, coach, club, association etc for wrongful dismissal? Ludicrous. You think our selectors are stuffed now, just imagine what it would be like if they had to worry about going to court every time they changed the team. Tuesday afternoon footy selections could become real interesting. Thankfully no court would touch it, so even coming out and saying it just makes you like a tool.

Sorry Kat, we all agree Hilditch and his band of fools are damaging the game, but you haven't done yourself any favours coming out and holding a presser to say it.
I don't think legal actions would be about selections but the termination of his contract, which is fair thing to dispute. I am glad he won't be disputing them though.

I watched the whole thing again and I got the distinct impression that he did voice similar sentiments at his review interview and I didn't think there was anything there he would regret saying in public. He was highly critical of Cricket Australia but not a word of it was unwarranted or anything which we and even parts of the media haven't been saying for a while.

HevyDevy

Oh and by the way, I guess that this is the result of the sweeping review of Australian cricket? No casualties at board, management or selection level but Katich gets dropped. Problem solved!

Idiots.

If he were Indian I'm sure there'd be thousands burning effigies and stoning his house and eventually he'd blamed the racist ICC

NrlCoach

Full, unedited footage
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qM5zmBb7CvU&feature=player_embedded

1233928590_citizen%20kane%20clapping.gif

Hallatia

Actually I applaud Kat for his comments. I have no doubt that plenty of players feel the same way about the selection panel but don't want to say anything for obvious reasons. Kat has used this as an opportunity to express what they're thinking.

And there is no way it reeks of sour grapes. If the decision was generally warranted then yes, it would be sour grapes, but when 99% of the population knows what a farce CA is then no, it doesn't come across as sour grapes at all.
This.

I don't think it would go down well at all if a contracted player were to say this (I do recognise that Kat is still contracted to June 30), it would be difficult to see them having the avenue to do that. Imagine a current player calling a press conference to criticise Cricket Australia's practices. If the public caught onto one doing it in private they would be forced to apologise.

Hallatia

Oh and by the way, I guess that this is the result of the sweeping review of Australian cricket? No casualties at board, management or selection level but Katich gets dropped. Problem solved!

Idiots.
Isn't the review still ongoing?

Hopefully this puts pressure on it to actually make some correct and worthwhile changes.

Sudhir

Most even-minded cricketing judges would probably support the cricketer if he was dumped having scored nearly 300 runs in the past 3 years, especially when the reasons given are, well, horseshit, when you look at others being awarded contracts and their performances of late.
231 runs in his last Test 10 Test innings

Katich was a very good Test opener, provided he was facing NZ or West Indian bowlers.

Did nothing in his last two Test series, against the two best sides in the world, India and England

He has himself to blame. Next time he has a sook it should be in front of a mirror

yappy

I don't think legal actions would be about selections but the termination of his contract, which is fair thing to dispute. I am glad he won't be disputing them though.

His contract hasn't been terminated he just hasn't been offered a new one after the current one expires. And in the end it amounts to the same thing as challenging the selection. He wasn't offered a new contract because the selectors have decided they won't be selecting him in future. I don't think it's a fair thing to dispute at all. By it's nature professional sport is entirely different to working in an office or shop. No one goes into it unaware of this and the role selectors play. That is the downside that is compensated by the fame, big contracts and commercial opportunities outside the game as well as just getting to do what most of us would give our left ones for a crack at.

If someone in the media asked him if he considered legal action the right answer would have been, "look I'm disappointed, but there's no way I'd ever consider that". To even bring up the possibility himself was a huge mistake.

Hallatia

I'm not holding my breath.
Wasn't the point of the review to at least pretend to be doing something about the embarrassment the Australian cricket team has suffered (primarily at Cricket Australia's hands) to appease the public?

Currently, all they have done is sack Kat which is not going down well and was a geniused decision. Mind you the Australian cricket team has been on a steady decline over the last few years and those in charge seem to be happy that they are getting attention and not concerned with doing anything to fix it.

HevyDevy

Wasn't the point of the review to at least pretend to be doing something about the embarrassment the Australian cricket team has suffered (primarily at Cricket Australia's hands) to appease the public?

Currently, all they have done is sack Kat which is not going down well and was a geniused decision. Mind you the Australian cricket team has been on a steady decline over the last few years and those in charge seem to be happy that they are getting attention and not concerned with doing anything to fix it.

It's laughable really. The one strong point of the Aussie team in recent times have been Kat and Watto setting a good platform (and the middle order ruining it). To be honest, of all the moronic things the selection panel has done over the years, this has to be close to the worst.

Evenflow

LOL was thinking exactly the same thing myself :lol: I'm a big fan of Kat and as i mentioned earlier in this thread he's been an excellent servant of Australian cricket but geez IMO he's having a a real sook in this instance. I mean a designated presser just for someone who didn't get a contract?

Yeah yeah i realise the media want a headline or a sound bite but FFS he's not the first player (or the best) player not to be offered a new contract and he sure as shit won't be the last so it hardly warrants this type of attention. While i actually think he should've got and deserved a contract before Hughes it didn't happen so best he and everyone else got over it and move on. Though if you want to continue the whingeing then go right ahead it still won't change a thing.......