Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney

spacer.gif
floater :
has stuart confirmed this is last s of o
fb_share2.png

Wednesday June 20, 2012 12:54

No, but I do know Ricky wants to return to the NRL...
fb_share2.png

Wednesday June 20, 2012 12:55

Joshuatheeel

I reckon the board has no idea what to do, some may want to replace Kearney but don't have numbers and these board members may be feeding the papers some info to put pressure on the remaining members . Some one needs to take control and show some leadership because our 2013 could also be stuffed before it starts. Hate to think what potential recruits are thinking.

Wise Old Eel

I reckon the board has no idea what to do, some may want to replace Kearney but don't have numbers and these board members may be feeding the papers some info to put pressure on the remaining members . Some one needs to take control and show some leadership because our 2013 could also be stuffed before it starts. Hate to think what potential recruits are thinking.

Good post, mate.

That quote someone else posted basically saying if the Eels finish last then Kearney will be sacked worries me (if there is any truth to it). Does that mean his KPI's have been changed again. As long as we run 15th or better, he keeps his job?

It is now at that messy stage where it is hard to distinguish what is on (or close to) the money and what is a misleading rumour. Life as an Eels supporter, I guess. I haven't seen an official press release from the Eels administration backing Kearney of late. Not sure what is to be read into that.

As much as I want Kearney gone, I hope the club to takes their time choosing a replacement. If an "official" decision cannot be made until the end of the year, so be it. As previously stated (by the Colonel, I think), we need to get out of this perpetual transitional stage. That will only happen by hiring the right kind of coach.

WOE

whall15

That's what I have been thinking.

lingard

It's great coaching. SK was covering his backside by having SO MANY props in the squad that he can't be accused of not having any out there.

Well he got one thing right. At this rate we might win a game again by the end of the year, but I'm not getting my hopes up.

Fair enough.

lingard

The only thing surer is that a few people who are also blinded by the desire to blame Kearney for anything wrong with the pdrlfc or their own lives and are convinced that sacking him will cure everything will also blindly ignore the facts that omc has presented which directly contradict bartmans assertions.

Those people will probably all join Bart in attacking omc for his bullying tactics.

Nup. All we blame Kearney for is 30 losses in 38 games and demoralising the players. That`s all. And that Old Man Cranky is such a bully! How can you defend him? :sarcasm:

Stop playing the man and play the argument bart.
Hmm, that's what I've been trying to do from the start - just returning serve where it's warranted.

BUT don't pretend we had NO props on the field. We had 2.
I never did. If you look at my original post in this thread, I clearly mention "recognised" and "first choice" props, meaning four. I was aware Hindy and Tautai were being used as props (when there were no others on the field), but that wasn't what I was posting about.

I'm simply stating the inconvenient truth.

Whether or not you think it was a good idea having TT and Hindy as props is one thing. If that's a point you want to argue let's debate it (I'd say bad idea).
That truth is not inconvenient, it was already taken into account.

My post in this thread wasn't about whether using 2 players as extra props was a good idea (and I agree with you that it was a bad one). My post was drawing attention to the fact that for a period of time none of our four recognised, first choice props were on the field for a period of time (which you now seem to be agreeing with, after initially calling it a lie?).

So now it seems likely the Parramatta board will make a decision to cut ties with Kearney.

Kearney takes the fall for very poor results which comes with the job. But what about the boards decision to appoint Paul Osborne to run the footy club, and Steve Kearney to coach the footy club. Both of those have proven to be very poor decisions which most voting members will have fresh in their memory i'm sure.

The next coach that comes to Parramatta needs to be experienced in how to turn around a basketcase of a club. Not someone with no first grade experience.

barney gumble

The next coach that comes to Parramatta needs to be experienced in how to turn around a basketcase of a club. Not someone with no first grade experience.

I note that you don't actually name a coach which proves that criticism is much easier than actions, I'm not saying your wrong though. The Sharks, however, are one example of a rookie coach who has managed to turn around a basket case of a club, the Broncos have gone alright too and Souths have also improved under a rookie NRL coach.

Parra

Sacking the coach is an action. Finding a replacement is a separate action.

Normally I'd agree with you - a replacement should be identified before making a move, but in this case things cannot get any worse. The club has already used Hindy & Burt up, let's squeeze the last from them and name a captain coach.

I note that you don't actually name a coach which proves that criticism is much easier than actions, I'm not saying your wrong though. The Sharks, however, are one example of a rookie coach who has managed to turn around a basket case of a club, the Broncos have gone alright too and Souths have also improved under a rookie NRL coach.

Shane Flanagan had at least a 10 year resume coaching lower grades and being an assistant coach at 3 different clubs including ours. Mcguire won a premiership in the UK as head coach and the broncos coach had come through the grades working there and knew the players credientials and knew what he was working with as soon as he took the job. A rookie coach can work if he has the right credientials and in the right circumstances. That's not the case with kearney though.

Utey

Shane Flanagan had at least a 10 year resume coaching lower grades and being an assistant coach at 3 different clubs including ours. Mcguire won a premiership in the UK as head coach and the broncos coach had come through the grades working there and knew the players credientials and knew what he was working with as soon as he took the job. A rookie coach can work if he has the right credientials and in the right circumstances. That's not the case with kearney though.

Ahhh hindsight.

JoeyJoJo83

You have hit the nail on the head here, SK has the right plan with regards to our local jrs and the future. But what we are seeing is his inexperience in coaching on a day to day basis and getting the best out of his players.

Coaching a national team is one thing, having to deal with a basket case case of a club on daily basis is another. Kearney should have taken the offer of assistance when it was tabled to him. Instead he has let his pride get in the way and for this reason he will fall on his sword.

I have no doubt that Kearney will become a good NRL coach, he just needs more time coaching on a daily basis and learn his craft.

I don't believe he will get that opportunity. Once Parramatta cut ties with him, he will be virtually unemployable as a first grade coach. There are several with better resume's who never got another gig after being punted.

Mind you Kearney was highly regarded by many as a coaching prospect before joining Parramatta, however such is the risk in taking on such a difficult assignment.

I feel bad for the guy, but its obvious he's out of answers. His performance in press conferences and interviews indicates he's totally lost for answers.

Delboy

SK was possiblyu the most sought after asst coach when we signed him, disappointing that what appeared to be potential never worked out.

In hindsight, Jack Gibson once said a fairly true statement, -I would never look for a player with potential, because that tells me it will be difficult for him to reach it-.

lingard

Flanagan had at least coached reserve grade; Brisbane`s coach (whose name, for some reason, I can`t remember) was also a reserve grade coach; and McGuire has coached succesfully in the U.K. (first grade level). Kearney, on the other hand, was an absolute novice as a football coach. I agree with Overweight Moron - in hindsight (wonderful thing) it was a very risky appointment.

I think you are thinking of Ivan Henjak. Soon Kearney will join him in the abyss.

Nah he's referring to their current coach Anthony Griffin. I couldn't remember his name either when I responded to the same post. 3 blokes on here who can't remember his name. The forgotten coach in the NRL.

griffin was apparently a great NYC coach - which probably helps with all the young guys they have coming on now