Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights V Roosters Match Thread

Karmawave

I havent read back through the thread, but feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but sh*t was thrown at a guy that didnt even play this week, not the other way around.

I actually edited taking that out so as not to spark more debate, but yes, there was reference here in previous pages to Mullen still really being a 6 and us needing a 7.

I mean for gods sake, we just carved up a team by 32 points.

When did we win by that many before?

What will it take to suggest to people that the halves we have tonight are the best we have.

keeney

Because I know where this is heading, we've seen it so many times before. We retain him at twice actual value, losing players more crucial to the make-up of our current, successful, squad, or we lose him. My point is he isn't that important to keep, at least nowhere near as much as his manager seems to think he is.

I wanted him retained so badly prior because I thought Vuna lacked heart and was only incidentally good with almost as many kinks in his game as Uate without the speed. What I have seen and recall now is he has all the promise of Uate (minus speed, plus size) with additional habitualised skills. I thought we'd be replacing Uate with his poor man's version, now I see that isn't entirely true, and the weakening (perhaps) of one position is likely to be beneficial for the team.

Serc

Ok, back to the footy - I thought that parts of Gidleys game tonight reminded me of the Panthers game last year as well, and the overall game plan reminded me of the 'running' game plan we saw against the Roosters last year too, another brilliant Smithy plan comes off again, 10 points to him!

keeney

I actually edited taking that out so as not to spark more debate, but yes, there was reference here in previous pages to Mullen still really being a 6 and us needing a 7.

I mean for gods sake, we just carved up a team by 32 points.

When did we win by that many before?

What will it take to suggest to people that the halves we have tonight are the best we have.

Just leave it. Those of us (Team Scott) with eyes in our head can see that Rogers was a big part of our best and biggest win in quite sometime. The rest aren't worth bothering about, and neither are those who need to rub in an obvious point. Let's use current and continuing performance to argue this point for us, it's been done to death. And simply, this topic stopped being about our halves ages ago, rather respective c**k sizes between two factions that got caught up in heated debate.

Big Tim

Because I know where this is heading, we've seen it so many times before. We retain him at twice actual value, losing players more crucial to the make-up of our current, successful, squad, or we lose him. My point is he isn't that important to keep, at least nowhere near as much as his manager seems to think he is.

I wanted him retained so badly prior because I thought Vuna lacked heart and was only incidentally good with almost as many kinks in his game as Uate without the speed. What I have seen and recall now is he has all the promise of Uate (minus speed, plus size) with additional habitualised skills. I thought we'd be replacing Uate with his poor man's version, now I see that isn't entirely true, and the weakening (perhaps) of one position is likely to be beneficial for the team.

Most unusual comment I have heard concerning Cooper..... through to the keeper.

I think we all agree with the comment about needing a different 7, or another half partner for Mullen infact, so then rubbishing a guy that didnt play is a waste.

/discussion about halves.

Alex28

Alex - Just went back a few pages and I have an apology to make, went off a bit half cocked...but all the same I'm pretty sure you were up to tricks last week :p
I merely pointed out how good Rogers was going. I did not mention anything about Macquarie's new halfback :)

Serc

Bah, back we go again...the damage has been done now Karma, the edit button can't save the fact that the edge has been taken off our most comprehensive win in a long time!

Big Tim

Bah, back we go again...the damage has been done now Karma, the edit button can't save the fact that the edge has been taken off our most comprehensive win in a long time!

Nah Serc, if we can just leave it to these few pages all will be good..... or we could just start a new thread for this discusion :sarcasm:

Pumba! Cut and paste buddy!!! :D

Karmawave

Well for gods sake, lets drop the Dureau v Rogers factions on here - seriously.

One thing I am always prepared to do is give Dureau credit when it was due - and have done many times.

A few anti Rogers fans might want to try doing the same thing.

In the meantime, I'm going to sit back and enjoy watching a Knights team beat an opposition by 32 points, because I am pretty sure I can safely say that hasn't happened since Andrew Johns played in the 7.

Forget the factions, just enjoy our team and realise the halves as they stand are playing fantastic - please!

keeney

Most unusual comment I have heard concerning Cooper..... through to the keeper.

I think we all agree with the comment about needing a different 7, or another half partner for Mullen infact, so then rubbishing a guy that didnt play is a waste.

/discussion about halves.

For heart read more as mongrel and drive while on the field. I don't mean he isn't dedicated, just his impact was often lacking, and inconsistent (can't make a call on that yet).

Serc

There's more than enough threads for it to be dumped into Tim!

Yes I am very excited actually :D haven't felt this feeling after a game for a very long time (2006 i presume and some of the grand victories in that year)

Big Tim

For heart read more as mongrel and drive while on the field. I don't mean he isn't dedicated, just his impact was often lacking, and inconsistent (can't make a call on that yet).

No worries mate, thats the problem with forums, it is hard to elaborate sometimes.

I would put Cooper's positives as:
1. Football brain
2. Athletic ability
3. Club man
4. Size
5. Defense

Being a good club man means alot in Newcastle.

Karmawave

On your list, I'd put his number 1 attribute as club man - and it definitely goes a long way in any team, especially Newcastle.

He has impressed me just as much for his efforts for the club off the field in the first 2 months of this season as anything he did on the park tonight.

keeney

It certainly does, and what I know of him, that is perhaps his greatest asset. The whole being the club's ambassador while injured spoke volumes for his genuine qualities and love of the club. And this is not taking away from his ability.

He certainly has huge amounts of ability/untapped potential. My problem was/is his crab-man tendencies and inability to get up a head of steam and smash into the line as he can do so effectively, again and again.

Big Tim

On your list, I'd put his number 1 attribute as club man - and it definitely goes a long way in any team, especially Newcastle.

He has impressed me just as much for his efforts for the club off the field in the first 2 months of this season as anything he did on the park tonight.

True.

But I like my players to be Footy players, not just athletic robots. Coops is a great club man, and I saw all the boys went over to greet the Crusade after the game. Part of our new club culture me thinks.

Karmawave

I saw all the boys went over to greet the Crusade after the game.

Speaking of which, our resident media s**t , Macca , was seen beating his drum on live TV again tonight.

Good stuff.

Which could lead me to 1000 drummer jokes... but no.

Big Tim

Speaking of which, our resident media s**t , Macca , was seen beating his drum on live TV again tonight.

Good stuff.

Which could lead me to 1000 drummer jokes... but no.
I've heard its not the only thing he beats..... Just ask Pika!!!
Tell 'em.

Honestly, he is lucky he bought a new drum this year. My Fiancee was going to rip up the last one.

Apey

2 Missed tackles

I think it's important we see it in picture form from nrl.com! :lol:

knightsmissed.png

And hope to god they aren't lying to us!

macavity

I saw you too Mac, nice neckbeard. :p.

you telling me i should have a shave before games, just in case huh.... :shock:

awesome game, and I reckon we definately outsung, and maybe outnumbered, the rooters fans - who were blaming the ref (and bagging our town) all the way out.... :lol: