Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lu penrith panthers all time 17 - nominations for fullback.

Blade23

I guess that is your interpretation of what picking a team of legends means. I choose to pick the best players, as long as they actually did play in a position for the club. Fittler played for NSW and Australia while playing for Penrith and played at 5/8th, lock and centre from memory. Fittler and Girdler at centre would be awesome. Mind you, you could argue that Jennings is a better centre than Fittler was. Jennings and Girdler at centre, Fittler at 5/8th and Brandy at half. My God, Jennings would have RSI from all the gaps Brandy put him through and tries he scored as a result. How much would you love to have seen that!!!!

Thats true you could argue Jennings was a better centre than Fittler was.

franklin2323

Really depends on the criteria. Filter only ever filled in at 5/8 for us when Freeman, Carter or Brandy were not available. He played Centre or lock 90% of the time with us. Those were the positions he represented in while he was with us also and the positions that made him one of the best players in the game. If he had retired in 95 rather than going to Easts this wouldn't be a conversation. I think it would be the same as putting Sing on the wing even though he mostly played Centre for us and achieved greatness as a winger elsewhere.

But he did play 5/8th for though. That in itself puts him in the 6 in my team

Blade23

He only played 20 games for us as 5/8. I have gone through the yearbooks and counted 20 games out 119.
2 at fullback and heaps at centre and lock and 15 games off the bench.
In my mind and my memory of the times that is not enough to be considered Penrith's best 5/8th.

Other people will say 'oh he played 5/8 for NSW while he was with us'.
They should pull out some old tapes and re look to see where he actually played.
From 1990 - 1995 his time at Penrith he played 15 games for NSW.
9 games at centre
2 at Lock
2 at 5/8
and 2 on the bench.
When I pick my best Panther side I never look at rep football its solely what the player did in Penrith colours.
I think some people on here are remember the magic from his days as a Rooster at 5/8 rather than a Panther at Centre.
Thats my opinion if you don't agree with fine, but I find it hard to pick a player in a position for so little time.

The Roth

Lol Penrith fans fighting over Fittler.
He walked out on you guys. If super league hadn't happened he would have left anyway at the end of 1996. Remember Uncle Phil left Penrith before super league broke out. It would have been a matter of time.
Fittler was a very good player at Penrith but he turned into a great player at the chooks.

betcats

He walked out on you guys. If super league hadn't happened he would have left anyway at the end of 1996. Remember Uncle Phil left Penrith before super league broke out. It would have been a matter of time.
Fittler was a very good player at Penrith but he turned into a great player at the chooks.

Lol @ you getting jealous over him.

Hes got as many premierships at Penrith as he does at the Roosters and made his rep debut as a panther and made multiple appearences for the Kangaroos as a Panther.

soc123_au

He became Australian captain while still at Penrith. That qualifies him as a great while still in a Panthers jersey.

Blues Riff

Gus and Freddie have received their punishment. Clean slate.
Lol@you.

TheFrog

Lol @ you getting jealous over him.

Hes got as many premierships at Penrith as he does at the Roosters and made his rep debut as a panther and made multiple appearences for the Kangaroos as a Panther.

His premiership at the Roosters had an asterisk against it, whereas the one at Penrith was fair dinkum.

soc123_au

I don't remember anyone that played with more heart then Carter but as for skill level a few are above him. Freddie is the greatest 5/8th NSW has produced. Surely he gets in the best side in a club which he played 2/3 GF they have made?

He was that good he actually played in all 3. Its just a shame one of them was against us.:x

maple_69

Pretty sure he was the highest paid player in the world by his last season with us so yeah he is a Penrith legend just as much as an Easts legend. Moreso given the depth of stars that have been at Easts over the years.

soc123_au

Is the asterisk because the Dogs got kicked out that year or because they were cheating the cap?

Officially because the Dogs were kicked out after being the clearly dominant team all year. But a bit of column B for flavour.

Pomoz

He only played 20 games for us as 5/8....
In my mind and my memory of the times that is not enough to be considered Penrith's best 5/8th......

When I pick my best Panther side I never look at rep football its solely what the player did in Penrith colours....
I think some people on here are remember the magic from his days as a Rooster at 5/8 rather than a Panther at Centre.
Thats my opinion if you don't agree with fine, but I find it hard to pick a player in a position for so little time.
Blade, I think you just have to accept we all are going to use slightly different criteria. I think we will have a better team with Fittler at 5/8th and Jennings at centre. I would back them to give any team over the last 40 years a run for their money. You disagree and that's OK.

As for Freddie, I can assure you I do not remember a single moment of Fittler in a Roosters jersey. I was gutted when he left us and wished him well but would not watch the Roosters if I could avoid it. I watched him at 16 years of age play reserve grade like he was the big islander kid playing under 12's making it look so easy it was embarrassing. I watched him step through a gun Broncos side and then around a 6'5" Paul Hoff (Broncos fullback) like he wasn't there. He was 17. I remember him getting smashed by a massive Paul Sironen in just about the first tackle he ever received in first grade and then get up and play the ball like it was nothing. He was barely 17. I remember him cutting down a rampaging Mal Meaning in the 91 grand final. he was 18. I remember him getting his cheekbone broken by a nasty Pommy hooker early on in a test against GB and continue to play the rest of the match, putting Renouf away for a try. His toughness was understated.

Roosters? He had been there and done that by the time they got him. Highlights with them? Nah.

soc123_au

His game went to a higher level at the Roosters. I don't think many would disagree with that.

He was outstanding for the Roosters & without him they wouldnt have made so many GF's while he was there. But I question how many games you watched him play for Penrith. He matured as a footballer as most do as their careers progress & they get older, but the bloke was a superstar and an absolute pleasure to watch play from day 1.

These threads are discussing greatest Panthers players & their merits in certain positions. There are players in discussions in various positions that didnt have near the talent Freddy did or play as many games for Penrith. So what is your point exactly, cause I cant really see one. If we were talking about making a team of the greatest Bondi poached players then yeah, your input may be relevant. Maybe you should start the discussion in the Roosters forum.

What's your point mate? Should we erase the man from our history?

I think that's the big issue certain Roosters supporters fans have regarding Fittler and his time with Penrith.

These certain individuals still find it hard to accept that the player that literally turned around their team's fortunes from the mid-90's onwards was a chain-smoking westie from the Riff.

I might also add that these individuals are the same people who continuously bag out the Super League Era. Yet they can't comprehend that had Super League not proceeded, Fittler would most likely have remained at Penrith.

GongPanther

His game went to a higher level at the Roosters. I don't think many would disagree with that.

By the time Adolf had left the West,his playing level had leveled out.

I'd seen him play many times live for the Panthers and many more when he came to the big smoke.

There is a syndrome that happens to fans when an already established great player goes to their side.

Its described as being in awe.

It's a euphoric realisation when a legend is playing for another club,and then he is wearing your club colours,he is now even better.

Happens to everyone to think along those lines...you are not alone.

And remember,just like Jennings,Freddy was,and will always be,a Penrith boy.

Panther Pete

And remember,just like Jennings,Freddy was,and will always be,a Penrith boy.

I'm not so sure about that. I remember sitting behind the posts at Penrith park one day when we were playing the roosters and Fittler (playing for them ) scored under the sticks then ran up to the fence, gave the crowd the finger and told them to f&@k off. I understand the crowd had been giving it to him but it was at that point in my mind he stopped being a Penrith boy.