Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luke Lewis Reported To Leave... Again

Doomednow

I've got a feeling we are freeing up cash to sign a couple of quality established players, promising juniors from other clubs and retain our best juniors.

From my understanding letting Lewis go didn't really free up much cash.

The OX

From my understanding letting Lewis go didn't really free up much cash.

It freed up plenty.

Gus is making the hard decisions and is setting the club up for a big future.

Cleaning up the crap that muppet Leary caused.

One more overpaid player to be punted and we are clear to do what has been needed for years.

Buy a set of halves!!!!

franklin2323

We had $800k of legal off the books payments missed this season. That would get us any half in the comp. Footy knowledge Gus is one of the best. Before this position he had as much footy admin experience as any of us on this forum. It's a bit rich for him to bag out prior admin when he's a learner himself. The fans have swallowed his crap and are under his spell.

murraymob

lewis going did not free up much cap space as he qualifed for the ten year exemption which is 200k i think .Only thing it freed up is the cash paid to lewis

franklin2323

lewis going did not free up much cap space as he qualifed for the ten year exemption which is 200k i think .Only thing it freed up is the cash paid to lewis

He qualified. We didn't claim it. You need to apply. The tigers tried to claim Farah & Gibbs it was knocked back a few years ago.

We had $800k of legal off the books payments missed this season. That would get us any half in the comp. Footy knowledge Gus is one of the best. Before this position he had as much footy admin experience as any of us on this forum. It's a bit rich for him to bag out prior admin when he's a learner himself. The fans have swallowed his crap and are under his spell.

You don't think coaching 3 clubs , coaching NSW and being the coaching director of the roosters he would have picked up a thing or two about footy admin?

The bloke has been around the game post football for 25 years ffs.

franklin2323

What!!! So, who was the idiot who made that decision - Leary?

Gus. when you lodge the contract. You lodge exemptions as well. Usually around Feb each year. So this year is Gus. Prior was Leary. Say we have Lewis for $425k. We could have him on the books for $225k.

$300k marquee player wasn't used. Or $300K of 3rd party payments. That could be used to bring Coote, Grant, McKendry to a reasonable level. Jennings would still be high but not as bad.

We have never used them. $800k worth of talent we are missing out on for each of the last 2 years. The rule goes back atleast 5 years. So it explains why we struggle.

franklin2323

You don't think coaching 3 clubs , coaching NSW and being the coaching director of the roosters he would have picked up a thing or two about footy admin?

How long was Leary around footy? Or Steve Mortimer or Osbourne? all struggled as CEO.

Now look elsewhere. Greenberg, Doust, Richardson, Humphries, Irvine, Noyce, Melbourne's CEO.

Not 1 ex player or coach. All have Experience running businesses. Not saying he can't just he's still learning.

How long was Leary around footy? Or Steve Mortimer or Osbourne? all struggled as CEO.

Now look elsewhere. Greenberg, Doust, Richardson, Humphries, Irvine, Noyce, Melbourne's CEO.

Not 1 ex player or coach. All have Experience running businesses. Not saying he can't just he's still learning.

Steve Mortimer had years of experience running a business before becoming a CEO. Infact he hadnt been around football for some time.

Osbourne also has a fair bit of business experience.

Gould has been directly involved in the game for 25 years since his bulldogs coaching days , I'm sure he's picked up plenty along the way.

darkbloom

Steve Mortimer had years of experience running a business before becoming a CEO. Infact he hadnt been around football for some time.

Osbourne also has a fair bit of business experience.

Gould has been directly involved in the game for 25 years since his bulldogs coaching days , I'm sure he's picked up plenty along the way.

Gould coached football teams. That is what he is good at. He is good at reading the game of football.

Managing a business? All the evidence of his past experiences with management at clubs could be an example of his suitability to be a general manager.

For us time will tell.

Some people say these internal upheavals are what is needed to build a future. Others would argue that the methods used for change have been poor and are likely to do more damage. I suggest that if you know anything about change management and about managing people, you would probably agree with the latter.

I guess we have to wait another 3-4 years to find out if he is capable.

franklin2323

No doubt he has picked up stuff. Not many CEO's would be better at what's required for junior development, player retention, talent indentification. That's a part we have lacked for a long time.

Things like cap concessions, balancing to books etc are just as important. These are where Business nous comes into it. We can't continue to not use these concessions and compete with Bulldogs, Broncos etc.

The people saying it's Gould it will be better are crazy. Yes it should be. Recruitment already %1000 better. There is a chance he will fail as well.

Big Mick

No. No person would do that. Bt there were decisions made by both that were based on their personal dislike for each other rather than for the benefit of the club.

I assume your response is meant it to be dismissive - it is the response of simpleton from someone who is not a simpleton.

What I said was that they were at war with each other. Not joined at the hip. Their war with each other was severely damaging for the club. Had they been joined at the hip things might have been different.

You reckon they were joined at the hip but they were not. They were a long way from that. I can't see why you can't accept that. You may accuse Leary of a lot of things but being attached to Elliot is not one of them.

Perhaps joined at the hip was the wrong terminology.

The point was that as far as decision making it wasn't just Leary, and it wasn't just Elliot. They are both as guilty as each other.

I'm not suggesting they were best mates at all. Just that they were both guilty of the decisions of the time, not just one person.

Bob

No doubt he has picked up stuff. Not many CEO's would be better at what's required for junior development, player retention, talent indentification. That's a part we have lacked for a long time.

Things like cap concessions, balancing to books etc are just as important. These are where Business nous comes into it. We can't continue to not use these concessions and compete with Bulldogs, Broncos etc.

The people saying it's Gould it will be better are crazy. Yes it should be. Recruitment already %1000 better. There is a chance he will fail as well.
I think this is where Phil Moss comes into the picture

Panfas

Gus. when you lodge the contract. You lodge exemptions as well. Usually around Feb each year. So this year is Gus. Prior was Leary. Say we have Lewis for $425k. We could have him on the books for $225k.

$300k marquee player wasn't used. Or $300K of 3rd party payments. That could be used to bring Coote, Grant, McKendry to a reasonable level. Jennings would still be high but not as bad.

We have never used them. $800k worth of talent we are missing out on for each of the last 2 years. The rule goes back atleast 5 years. So it explains why we struggle.

This is just plain wrong. Gus said in the press conference about LL that infact him leaving we will be worse off, as $200K was paid with the veteran player allowance. He has also come out and said the marquee player allowance was not being used in the past, and I believe it is now or is in the pipeline. Apparently some of Mick Gordons contract offer included marquee player allowance

Panther_Daz

Exactly!

Too many of you are forgetting the role he plays!!! He does all the ground work and organising around the place.

Gus is there as the head figure and is great in negotiating any deals due to his awesome communication skills. He does heaps of meetings with corporate partners,player managers etc.

Exactly!

Too many of you are forgetting the role he plays!!! He does all the ground work and organising around the place.

Gus is there as the head figure and is great in negotiating any deals due to his awesome communication skills. He does heaps of meetings with corporate partners,player managers etc.

Which explains why he isn't our 'CEO' as such.

Having Gould there is a huge advantage to our club , he opens doors others would never get in.

franklin2323

This is just plain wrong. Gus said in the press conference about LL that infact him leaving we will be worse off, as $200K was paid with the veteran player allowance. He has also come out and said the marquee player allowance was not being used in the past, and I believe it is now or is in the pipeline. Apparently some of Mick Gordons contract offer included marquee player allowance

we will use it next year. We didn't use it this year. Could of got 3 extra quality players. Certainly could of helped.

darkbloom

Perhaps. But in every, EVERY, interview I have heard with Gus he has said that he is not there to look after the football side of things but the BUSINESS side of things. He has repeatedly said he is not spending time on football because the business is far more pressing.