Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly, Penrith throw big money at Todd Carney (& NOW DOGS AS WELL)

i hope he stays with the raiders and he should be staying with the raiders for atleast one season on a pay cut after they stood by him. loyalty should be a two way street and he shouldn't even be thinking twice about extending his contract with canberra

in saying that i don't think he will play origin at canberra, for what ever reason raiders players just don't seem to be in the mix and i think he knows if he went to either penrith or manly he would play rep footy

Garts

The Mighty Panther said:
Take him Manly

Not for $400k I hope.

I would love for him to come to Manly at the right price, $300k I guess but I would feel for the Raiders fans if he did. He should do the right thing and stay there but I guess he wants to win a premiership and might not see that being possible in Canberra. His decision wont be based soley on money!!!!

Garts said:
Not for $400k I hope.

I would love for him to come to Manly at the right price, $300k I guess but I would feel for the Raiders fans if he did. He should do the right thing and stay there but I guess he wants to win a premiership and might not see that being possible in Canberra. His decision wont be based soley on money!!!!

Word

Raiders need him more than either of our clubs.

Rohan

If we lost Carney and somehow ended up with Finch and/or Henjak I would fair dinkum kill myself!

the boys in HQ arent stupid enough to chase finch
we'd lynch the prick from lauries bronze nose before round 1

We've tabled 350k at him, thats paying overs as it is, if that isnt good enough to earn us his signiture, then good riddence. Life will go on without Todd Carney. And after 2 years in sydney the bloke will f**k up and be on the NRL scrap heap looking for hand out from the raiders.

We, the canberra raiders organisation and the fans who stood by him, deserve better from Todd Carney

OVP

Brian Preacher Smith said:
How can Manly have that sort of money under the cap??

He aint worth it anyway!

It surprises me that the Roosters didn't offer him $400,000 too. They are presently after Folau, offered Sutton a deal, why not Carney too.

what a joke this cap is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Roosters get associated with every single player off contract, even though we only go after the players we need. Your post proves how truly stupid 90% of the population is. People like you, believe every little thing thats written in the paper or overheard in a bar conversation between a couple of yobs. Go and flush your head down the toilet, idiot.

Whats more surprising is that Riolo (Carneys manager) hasnt floated the roosters to the media as a potential home. Thats usually Card 1 in the players manager deck... though i guess with manly's resurgence, they've rightfully assumed the mercenary/cheque book stigma

mxlegend99

Here's hoping the Raiders latest counter offer is good enough to keep him happy.

There's nothing worse then seeing good players go to teams like Manly or the Roosters.

super_coach

The chooks have junior junior he will be a gun in a year or two but as for manly I can understand why they are throwing the kitchen sink at Carney, Matt Orford has been the dud of the century and Parra's favourite son Jammie Lyons hasnt been much better. Seems like the place where you take money and kick back and relax.

and get SMASHED but melbourne... I know this will probably sound like sour grapes, but i dont think id handle a GF lose to well at all, id much rather not make it then make it and lose... gutting stuff tbh, really felt for manly fans, it was over by halftime imo

CANBERRA chief executive Don Furner says the Raiders have "as good a chance as any" NRL club of signing their keenly-sought playmaker Todd Carney on a long-term deal.

The Raiders put in a counter bid to keep the 22-year-old after rivals Manly and Penrith tabled lucrative offers this week, reportedly worth $1.6 million over four years from 2009.

"We put another offer through. I'm not commenting on money," Furner said.

"Am I confident? We're as good a chance as any. I was always aware that they were trying to get him."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23296922-23214,00.html

If we were originally offering around 350k, then you'd have to think the revised deal would have to be near the 400k mark offered by Penrith and Manly.

I don't even think he's worth 400k, and this coming from one of his biggest fans.

If he walks away from the Raiders, after all they've stood by him, and given him an exceptionally fair market deal ... well, I'll leave my negative comments about him if/when that happens.

BPS

OVP

"We're only after the players we need"

What a f**ken joke. You guys need an entire team!!! You have to plan for this year and then next years team and then the team you will buy in 10

Yea, I believe everything I hear. AND one of those things is that be careful every NRL team because the Roosters NEED YOUR BEST PLAYERS..............eventually!

MSIH

Raider_69 said:
and get SMASHED but melbourne... I know this will probably sound like sour grapes, but i dont think id handle a GF lose to well at all, id much rather not make it then make it and lose... gutting stuff tbh, really felt for manly fans, it was over by halftime imo

I got over it, I'm sure you would as well. Grand Final week was awesome, and the week after was sh*t.

On the other hand, if we made it again this year and copped another beat down, then yeah, I'd rather not make it at all. That would be f**ken lame.

wittyfan

Raider_69 said:

It was all over after about 20 minutes. Very embarrassing and lopsided.