Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Prior (Spoiler)

How many weeks will Prior get?

• 5 weeks

Votes: 20 14.9%
  • 6 weeks

Votes: 26 19.4%
  • 7 weeks

Votes: 7 5.2%
  • 8 weeks

Votes: 31 23.1%
  • 9 weeks

Votes: 6 4.5%
  • 10 weeks

Votes: 18 13.4%
  • 11 weeks

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • 12 weeks

Votes: 6 4.5%
  • 12+ weeks

Votes: 19 14.2%

saintania

Just saw it, I'd like to never see it again.

I hate crap like that and am embarrassed it was from one of my players. I'm pleased he was sent off and will be thrilled to see him sit on the sidelines for the maximum amount of time possible. This may also give him some time to get over his grief and work on his ball handling skills.

Glad Thurston is ok.

Slackboy72

I suspect if Thurston gets named next week he'll get 6-8.
I wouldn't complain if he got 10. The disappointing thing is he is a young player who just hasn't shown any grubbiness or niggle even up until that shot. He really is the last person on the squad you would expect it from. He possibly has one more contract extension in him so this will really put a dent in his career.

I suspect he will need to take some time off and get his head around his brother before thinking about football again let alone what he's done.

Charlie124

I suspect if Thurston gets named next week he'll get 6-8.
I wouldn't complain if he got 10. The disappointing thing is he is a young player who just hasn't shown any grubbiness or niggle even up until that shot. He really is the last person on the squad you would expect it from. He possibly has one more contract extension in him so this will really put a dent in his career.

I suspect he will need to take some time off and get his head around his brother before thinking about football again let alone what he's done.

Thurston didnt seem to be too bad when he came back from the sheds, i doubt he will miss any footy over it, not that that should influence Priors suspension.

Slackboy72

It was really bad, but there've been worse. You can't excuse it but i couldnt see him getting more than 8 weeks for it.

I've seen a hell of a lot worse in 33 years and I've also seen a lot of that let go. There just seem to be some thugs that lead a charmed existence.

Slackboy72

Thurston didnt seem to be too bad when he came back from the sheds, i doubt he will miss any footy over it, not that that should influence Priors suspension.

It shouldn't but it will. Some players are just protected species rightly or wrongly and some are just punching bags.

Big Sam

It reminded me a lot of Ross' late hit on Cronk from 2008. He led with the elbow and followed through.

Anyone remember what Ross got because Prior's suspension should be similar I reckon?

It reminded me a lot of Ross' late hit on Cronk from 2008. He led with the elbow and followed through.

Anyone remember what Ross got because Prior's suspension should be similar I reckon?

ross was just allowed to kiss and makeup wasn't he?

tumblr_lqxpndjBeB1qdvi2go1_500.jpg

only fair if prior gets the same..

Didgi

i thought this was the most well refereed game i've seen this year. Very free flowing and they made the right call with sending him off

Definitely not the best. Were some poor calls at the start and a few times I thought though the right result was reached, it was reached in completely the wrong way. The Tate no try, prominently.

Disgusting hit and should get 12 weeks. Was undoubtedly intentional. Knowing the judiciary though he'll probably cop 4, behind the pathetic "it's not his go" line.

Deacon

Taking his record into account and the fact Thurston wasn't seriously injured, Id say 6-7 weeks, its a shame the Judiciary looks at cases based on the outcome to the victim, otherwise god only know what Prior would get

Slackboy72

Definitely not the best. Were some poor calls at the start and a few times I thought though the right result was reached, it was reached in completely the wrong way. The Tate no try, prominently.

I think you can say that about half the games since Harrigan became the refs boss.

jonno_knights

Newton got 12 weeks for his hit on Ashton Sims back in the day.

That was a worse hit, caused a severe injury. However it wasnt late like Priors.

I say 6-8 weeks for Prior, maybe 10 cause its thurston.

lockyno1

It is about the same, both basically knocked the bloke out, I would say 10 weeks as it is slightly better than Newton, but not much.

2010Dragons

Prior is a dumb shit player but he is not a dirty player.
I"m sure he has a clean record and might only get a few weeks. It"s not netball shit happens.
I would be happy if the Dragons sack him or he gets 26 weeks but he won"t so stop your bitching and sooking you big girls.

Bretto

I'd never seen that Newton one before. That is f**king disgraceful. See the size of the gash on Sims chin.

7 weeks.

IMO it's a 4 week ban. Can't believe how bad everyone has made it all sound, I was expecting a Hoppa type challenge. I suppose it's different that it's on a playmaker and star of the game. Not to say the challenge isn't bad, but if someone elbows Jaiman Lowe in the head I don't think many people would blink

Game is getting too soft. I remember Willie f**king Mason belting Sean Long in the head in a very similar tackle, albeit with more power behind his elbow, and I don't even remember a thread about it, or any sort of media reaction to it. 1:45

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXiRJVITsCU

And that was after he knocked Fielden unconscious in an earlier brawl

Willie Mason got a 1 game ban for the two incidents combined if I remember right :roll:

Bretto

Here's another oldie. Morley getting headhunted

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SqBZa1HLvQ8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TN6wcCiG_Q

1:27 ^ on the video above is as bad as any too. Barrie Mc and his 1 f**king eye :lol:

Man alive. The first one, well, Morley was the dirtiest player in NRL history IMO just ahead of Mark Geyer, so you could almost say that's karma. That second one was just as bad. Nowhere near the damage done as the Newton one on Sims though.