Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Melbourne Cup

veggiepatch1959

Good cup trial by Dear Demi as well.

I backed Dear Demi EW in the Caulfield Cup but kept away from her today.

I can't work out why people overlook her as a classy mare.

So far I have Fiorente, Dear Demi and Verema as my first choices in the Cup.

Verema has decent form from 2800m upwards with a few wins and placings but no Aussie form. Maybe a dark horse??

Horrie Is God

The barrier draw has been done..

http://www.racenet.com.au/news/94826/2013-Melbourne-Cup-%E2%80%93-The-field-and-barrier-draw

2013 Melbourne Cup – The field and barrier draw..

Clinton Payne - 2/11/2013

The field has been declared and the barriers drawn for the 153rd edition of the $6 million Group I Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) to be run at Flemington on Tuesday.

This is the Melbourne Cup field of 24 runners that will chase Australian racing's richest prize.

It will be the first time since 2006 that the ‘Cups King’ Bart Cummings won’t have a runner in the Melbourne Cup after Precedence came up short, 25th in the order of entry, when final acceptances were taken.

This is the field and barrier draw for the 2013 Melbourne Cup.

DUNADEN (FR) 1

GREEN MOON (IRE) 10

RED CADEAUX (GB) 23

SEA MOON (GB) 7

BROWN PANTHER (GB) 6

FIORENTE (IRE) 5

FORETELLER (GB) 15

DANDINO (GB) 4

ETHIOPIA 14

FAWKNER 8

MOURAYAN (IRE) 19

SEVILLE (GER) 9

SUPER COOL 13

MASKED MARVEL (GB) 2

MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) 22

ROYAL EMPIRE (IRE) 11

VOLEUSE DE COEURS (IRE) 21

HAWKSPUR 18

SIMENON (IRE) 12

IBICENCO (GER) 17

VEREMA (FR) 3

DEAR DEMI 16

TRES BLUE (IRE) 20

RUSCELLO (IRE) 24

I backed Dear Demi EW in the Caulfield Cup but kept away from her today.

I can't work out why people overlook her as a classy mare.

So far I have Fiorente, Dear Demi and Verema as my first choices in the Cup.

Verema has decent form from 2800m upwards with a few wins and placings but no Aussie form. Maybe a dark horse??
Dear Demi is a classy mare, i have a mate who works at Darley and they had the biggest rap on Zydeco who she beat last yr in the Oaks. The 4 yr olds have won everything this year after they were the best crop of 3 yr olds in a long long time.

She loves flemington and will get the trip being out of a zabeel mare. Not sure why people continue to pot her, definitely one of the few local hopes and a good chance for a top 5 finish.

Horrie Is God

The people who loaded up on Mt Athos before the barrier draw would be feeling a bit ordinary ATM..

The soccer guy who owns Brown Panther looked like he'd won the race already when he drew 6..

Eddie Cassar looked stoked with 2 for Masked Marvel which leads me to believe they'll go forward on him..

Sea Moon gets it's chance with 7..if he can find his Pommy form he just wins this..

The barrier draw, as usual, has turned the betting on it's head..

The people who loaded up on Mt Athos before the barrier draw would be feeling a bit ordinary ATM..

The soccer guy who owns Brown Panther looked like he'd won the race already when he drew 6..

Eddie Cassar looked stoked with 2 for Masked Marvel which leads me to believe they'll go forward on him..

Sea Moon gets it's chance with 7..if he can find his Pommy form he just wins this..

The barrier draw, as usual, has turned the betting on it's head..
Can't have Sea Moon at all, he looks like he has lost a leg out here. He fell in last start in an average race. Seville has to be Williams top chance and is ridden by the gun Hugh Bowman. The two overseas mares will be hard to beat, Mount Atho's is weighted to win but the barrier makes it hard. Thinking of having a bit on the Shielks horse he is the forgotten horse in the race. Gee this is a tough race.

Horrie Is God

Can't have Sea Moon at all, he looks like he has lost a leg out here. He fell in last start in an average race. Seville has to be Williams top chance and is ridden by the gun Hugh Bowman. The two overseas mares will be hard to beat, Mount Atho's is weighted to win but the barrier makes it hard. Thinking of having a bit on the Shielks horse he is the forgotten horse in the race. Gee this is a tough race.

I thought Sea Moon's last run was a ripper..Lloyd has got him peaking at the right time IMO..he went dead straight last time, & looks a real Flemington horse..and on his Pommy form he's got a couple of lengths on these & he's well weighted i reckon..I'm having something on him..It's going to have a pace maker in Masked Marvel too..

Agree about Royal Empire..he has the right form for this, & you know they'll win a Cup eventually..

21 has turned me off backing Voleuse De Coeurs, but i'll have it in the multiples, as it's St Ledger run was so good..

But yeah, it's a tough race..

We'll have to agree to disagree Horrie, as i said Seville is their best hope IMO. He should have beat Green Moon in the Turnbull last year and he went on to win the cup. Side Glance wins the Mackinnon and Seville didn't finish to far behind him. Verema will be hard to beat drawn well and her form stacks up well.

Horrie Is God

One of the things i love abut the Cup is the discussion that takes place after the barrier draw..

Everyone's got an opinion..

WaznTheGreat

Best Melb Cup i have seen in a long while,normally each year there are only a few realistic winning chances,there's a thousand winning chances this year

lockyno1

Get the feeling Foreteller is in for a sneaky big run

Who knows, querry over distance but they all do. That said ran a great 4th in the CC, and should run well. Still think Waller was pushed into running the horse though.

WaznTheGreat

Watched the Cox Plate replay,blood hell Foreteller was MASSIVE,a better run then Fiorente,Side Glance came out of the Cox Plate and won a group one today,Shamus Award had beaten Polanski who won the Derby today,form around the race looks nice.

One thing i know is that Foreteller's 4th was a better run than Green Moons' Cox Plate effort last year,Foreteller never ran over the distance but i do like that he settles out the back well and does have a turn of foot,some of these overseas horses have the turn of foot of a snail when they race out here,some of them prefer the Euro tracks where they plod up mountains in the final furlong

Foreteller is my main pick at this stage

WaznTheGreat

Who knows, querry over distance but they all do. That said ran a great 4th in the CC, and should run well. Still think Waller was pushed into running the horse though.

Im gonna take the risk on Foreteller,its an underrated horse

WaznTheGreat

Foreteller = multiple group one winner who flashed home off a slow pace in the Cox Plate and was the run off the race= 26/1

Fiorente = Never won a group one race and almost got passed by Foreteller in the Cox Plate after having a cosy run outside the leader = 7/1

No thanks Fiorente

lockyno1

Im gonna take the risk on Foreteller,its an underrated horse

Every horse is a risk- Fioente has got the dream barrier so it is her Cup to lose, that said I like your thinking with Foreteller. Going to have a bit on Falkner and Seville.

Fingerbang

Every time I go through the form, I keep coming up with Hawkspur. Preparation and form so much like Green Moon last year, and definitely well off at the weights.

Others I am boxing for the trifecta, Fiorente, Dandino, Royal Empire and Dear Demi.

And maybe take a percentage trifecta boxing them 5 for 1st and 2nd, and take field for 3rd.

lockyno1

Hawkspur did draw the world's worst gate but in my view a barrier is only a barrier in a long race. It is more of an issue in a Derby or an Oaks where it is shorter.